jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – October 30th, 2007 Tuesday, October 30, 2007

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

It’s an interesting week in the world of new music releases…

Ah, historic music video. Nothing quite like it, eh? Anyhoo – the soundtrack to Todd Haynes’ Dylan bio-pic I’m Not There is out today. And, uh, so are a few other things that’ll make you think it’s 1999. JUMP!

Britney Spears – Blackout
There are no jokes for me to make that haven’t been made 20 times already elsewhere. It’s kinda sad, sorta pathetic, and hard to turn your eyes away from. They were playing random tracks off of this throughout the weekend on various XM stations – I’ve never heard vocals sound more detached from a song. How is this going to sell? My guess is poorly as there hasn’t been a big single and the “check out the trainwreck” factor rarely equals the spending of dollars. However, it will still likely outsell…

Backstreet Boys – Unbreakable
A comeback? Really? Is anybody listening? I’m sure they have some kind of fanbase still waiting for this, but don’t those people have cats to tend to?

Avenged Sevenfold – Avenged Sevenfold
Some actual rock to break up the pop here. They had a bit of  an unexpected hit with “Bat Country” last go around and now they’ve got themselves a major label. Bang your heads motherfuckers.

I’m Not There – Original Soundtrack
Indie rockers cover Dylan. Been there and done that by now haven’t we? The movie, on the other hand, looks rather interesting.

Blues Traveler – Cover Yourself
Told you it was the 90’s redux this week. They appear to, uh, cover their own songs on this one. That’s always a good idea. Not a greatest hits mind you – but redone versions of songs they already wrote and performed. WTF.

Blue Rodeo – Small Miracles
It’s good to see these guys around again. One of Canada’s finest roots rock/alt-country bands. Makes me feel like I’m in college and making random trips over to Ontario again. In fact, let’s take a listen to the first single from this, “C’mon”…

That’s what I’ve got for you this week – what do you have for me? Let’s talk in the comments.

Comments»

1. mingusmonk - Tuesday, October 30, 2007

As a fan of Blues Traveler, let me just say, Blues Traveler sucks. There. I said it. I kept holding out that there was hope that they would return from Bobby Sheehan’s death eventually. But it’s not going to happen. Cover Yourself is beyond lame. The concept is sketchy and the execution is awful.

Speaking of coming back from the dead, Levon Helm has finally put out the spectacular solo release that he and his fans have deserved.

http://www.dirtfarmermusic.com/

Re-issue side note: Wounded Bird has re-pressed a lot of Wynton Marsalis early 80’s work. As a jazzer that came to know jazz through the 80’s young-lion era, it’s much appreciated.

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, October 30, 2007

It’s Britney bitch. In all fairness, Gimme More has actually been doing pretty well and women seem to like dancing to it.

I fucking hate Avenged Sevenfold.

Another new big release is Maynard James Keenan’s awesomely named sideproject Puscifer and their album V if for Vagina.

3. DougOLis - Tuesday, October 30, 2007

I know Dylan covers have been done before but I’ve really liked the tracks I’ve heard. And they put together a quite impressive Indie collective to get it done.

4. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, October 30, 2007

I’m interested in hearing some of the Dylan covers – I’m a big fan of most of the artists on there.

I was thisclose to listing Puscifer – had I remembered it was Maynard I would have

5. Camp Tiger Claw - Tuesday, October 30, 2007

The Tweedy cover of Simple Twist of Fate is really good. I’m going to pick this up after work today.

http://myspace.com/imnottheresoundtrack

6. babaoje - Tuesday, October 30, 2007

*cough*neweaglesalbum*cough*

7. mingusmonk - Wednesday, October 31, 2007

I just assumed that Jerkwheat is with The Dude when it comes to the Eagles. Which is OK by me. I had a rough night and I hate the fuckin’ Eagles too.

8. rocker - Wednesday, October 31, 2007

good video. rock forever!

9. Jerkwheat - Wednesday, October 31, 2007

I shant discuss Wal-Mart exclusive album releases

Sorry for no rock today – was at Ryan Adams last night and got in late.

10. Camp Tiger Claw - Wednesday, October 31, 2007

How was the show?

11. Jerkwheat - Wednesday, October 31, 2007

Ryan sounded great vocally…when his volume was right. The Cardinals were tight and sounded great as well. However, the crowd was relatively dickish (ohhhh, it’s sooo cool to yell out “SUMMER OF 69!!!”) and that led to a couple of pretty great rants (and also sent him into a pissy mood). I hate the seats at DAR Constitution Hall and combining that with the crowd, we ended up leaving after the first set. However, our hour of music was probably about as much as most crowds get when Ryan’s in a mood.

Which is always, right?

12. DougOLis - Wednesday, October 31, 2007

Why didn’t they just license Jimi’s version of “All Along the Watchtower?” It’s just as famous (or even moreso) than Dylan’s original, and no cover will ever exceed it.

13. Camp Tiger Claw - Wednesday, October 31, 2007

Couple of my friends went to the Mobile, AL show and said it was great. Did about 2 1/2, hours took from the whole catalog, etc. But you’re right, I think one hour of solid stuff is more the norm for him.

I have yet to understand antagonistic crowds. People used to do this whenever I’d see Brian Jonestown Massacre. Call me crazy, but I’d rather hear some songs than have the performer validate my existence by yelling at me.

Also, sucks to hear a negative review of DAR Constitution. Heading down to DC in a couple weeks and seeing Bright Eyes there.

14. Jerkwheat - Wednesday, October 31, 2007

The seats are just realllllly tiny and uncomfortable. The sound is good and it’s a nice old building, but it’s not high on my list.

15. DougOLis - Wednesday, October 31, 2007

I’ve never been able to catch Ryan and I’ve wanted too for a long time. He doesn’t venture out West too often and rarely to San Diego in particular. Even when I was in the Bay Area he always was on tour when I was out of town. I’m sure I’ll eventually be able to see him but it’s been frustrating so far.

16. My Ghillie » Comment on Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday - October 30th … - Wednesday, October 31, 2007

[…] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptI’ve never been able to catch Ryan and I’ve wanted too for a long time. He doesn’t venture out West too often and rarely to San Diego in particular. Even when I was in the Bay Area he always was on tour when I was out of town. … […]

17. Jerkwheat - Wednesday, October 31, 2007

A review of the performance last night is up at DCist

http://dcist.com/2007/10/31/ryan_adams_dar.php

Pretty much sums it up.


Leave a comment