jump to navigation

New Music Tuesday – May 19th, 2009 Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

This has long been one of my favorite posts to write every week. I’m a former record store employee so I have a strange nostalgia for the excitement that Tuesday used to bring. I suppose it’s not so exciting anymore in this day of online leaks and advance streaming, but I still tend to hold out and listen to the ones I really want to hear for the first time via the disc and not the computer. Once I found myself skipping this post with out much of an urge to get online and fix that mistake immediately, I realized that maybe we were heading down the path to blogclosure. So, with a fairly heavy keyboard heart, I give you one more round of New Music Tuesday.

Hit the jump and we’ll talk about the day one more time…

Iron and Wine – Around The Well
The keeper of the finest beard in all of the land provides us with another round of soothing acoustic quiet. And this is probably the only one I’m getting this week.

Tori Amos – Abnormally Attracted To Sin
Hey, look! Tori Amos is back. Again. I’m going to try to muster up the courage to care much.

Eminem – Relapse
Nope. Still can’t muster up the desire to give a flying fuck.

Jarvis Cocker – Further Complications
Ok, I’m starting to feel a bit of a fight in me again. We’ve got something that has stirred up interest back up.

Oak Ridge Boys – The Boys Are Back
OH HELLS YES!!! WOOO! Ok, so I’m just gonna download “7 Nation Army”, but it’s better than nothing right?

And so we go our separate ways…for New Music Tuesday on DeadOn. Let’s chat, if you care to.

Comments»

1. Matt_T - Tuesday, May 19, 2009

The new Passion Pit is out today and its only 2.99 on Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/b?ie=UTF8&node=163856011&tag=twiamamp3-20

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, May 19, 2009

So now you’re going to make me go out and figure out what albums come out each week on my own? What if I miss something I’ve never heard of before? Sad panda bear. And all a week before one of the best release weeks in a long long time (Phoenix & Grizzly Bear)?

I’ll definitely be picking up (ne downloading) Iron & Wine. Maybe I’ll check out Eminem but odds are I’ll be lazy, forget, and not care too much. The one you missed that interests me is John Vanderslice.

3. Matt_T - Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Doug-
The new Phoenix was released to iTunes last week. Which actually worked out well, I already had the EP, so I just downloaded the 6 songs that weren’t on the EP

4. DougOLis - Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Sweet!

5. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Cheer up, sad panda. It’s not like I’m too hard to find on the interwebbernets.

6. Matt_T - Tuesday, May 19, 2009

I didn’t know this until I just looked at emusic, but the Deerhunter EP came out yesterday:
http://www.emusic.com/album/Deerhunter-Rainwater-Cassette-Exchange-MP3-Download/11443250.html


Leave a Reply

