jump to navigation

My Finale-Was Pretty Good For A Last Show Thursday, May 7, 2009

Posted by Shakarean Hutchinson in finales, SA, Scrubs.
trackback

So maybe my bias is showing here. You know what? I don’t think I care. That was a good ending. I never really expected it to be that emotional or that funny since, well, pretty much no series finale is like that. What I thought we’d get was just a good Scrubs episode (only an hour long) and that’s what we got. So let’s get to this last Scrubs recap, shall we?

I was thinking for a couple of weeks now that I would do this recap a little differently. I don’t want to do a scene by scene write up of what happened like the previous recaps. Eventually those get old and quite frankly I don’t want to do that for an hour long episode. So I’ll just tell you all the big important things that happened. Or at least the big things that I remember.

  • I think the Elliot/Carla exaggerated hug and JD telling Turk and Cox what they smelled like when they hugged him were the only real funny moments of the show. And I’m wonder if Bill Lawrence designed it that way. No over the top funny moments for an emotional JD.
  • And speaking of Carla I loved her goodbye to JD. Simple and understated and just a believable goodbye between those two characters.
  • Kinda loved Turk and JD’s continuous goodbye to each other and eventually it getting tired for both of them.
  • Wished Kelso’s goodbye from Sacred Heart would have been later but I guess things goes like that sometimes.
  • For the first time I didn’t laugh at one of Ted’s gags. I don’t know what that is. He’s past being scared of Kelso and it wasn’t him that was upset at change in Tuesday’s episode so what was the whole not being able to move past one sentence thing about?
  • Janitor’s real name is Tony? Huh. Okay. I dunno, I think I was hoping for something just off the wall (and no, Glenn Matthews definitely isn’t off the wall) but on the other hand having a common name just seems right. And I loved how he still didn’t tell JD his real name.
  • I know Tom Cavanagh is on a new show now and is probably working, but I wanted more Dan. I don’t know how they could have worked him in, but that’s why they get paid to write television shows and not me. We got less than 10 seconds. Not cool.
  • Liked the hallway of former patients, nurses, and doctors (and girlfriends) seeing JD off in his fantasy. My three favorite were Laverne, Mrs. Tanner, and Mrs. Wilk. I you’ve forgotten who Mrs. Tanner was she’s the woman who had renal failure in the show’s fourth episode and decided to not go on dialysis. She was always one of my favorite patients.
  • Cox’s feelings about JD was done perfectly. Again, for the character that is. Wasn’t overly sappy yet it was said with feeling. Aww, Dr. Cox.
  • The little montage at the end of what could happen in JD’s future was done so well. And I’ll admit to getting a bit teary eyed. Yes, even to the JD and Elliot parts. One of my favorite parts of the show was when we saw JD and Turk finding out about (assumingly) Izzy and Sam’s engagement (sidebar-aren’t the actors that played the grown up Izzy and Sam a bit too young to be engaged?) and JD fainting with Turk saying “Yes!” over and over again. And loved the Christmas sequence we got with Cox and Jordan and their kids coming over to Turk and Carla’s with Elliot and JD and kids there already.
  • And last, but not least, was the end-with JD saying goodnight to a janitor and getting in his car and driving away. Seemed to hit home right there. Plus, I loved getting the little piece of the song “Superman” in acoustic. And the A Capella at the end with The Blanks over the little piece of the actors doing their last takes for the show.

And, well, that’s it. There are rumors going around that ABC will pick the show back up and focus on the new interns and if so good for them. But I honestly don’t know if I’d tune it for it. Besides, only JD and Kelso left Sacred Heart, so how are you going to write around the other characters? But again, I guess that’s why they get paid to write for TV and I don’t. In any case, that’s it for me. I highly doubt I’ll be doing anymore Scrubs recaps even if the show gets renewed. Let me say that I’ve highly enjoyed writing these recaps (when I actually did them) and am so glad that I got to meet other Scrubs fanatics.

So make sure you see the series finale. It’s worth the 45 minutes of your life. If you have seen it what was your favorite part?

Comments»

1. JB* - Thursday, May 7, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed it, for many of the same reasons above. Randomness:

– My Favorite Part was Cox’ comments to Sunny, revealing his real feelings, but a close second was the Big Book of Rants.
– The hallway was great for those long time fans of the shows, piecing together who was who and from what.
– Having Mrs. VanLandingham (who she will always be to me, no matter what else she was on), asking about the picnic, was a nice point, since she calls to mind her episode, which proved that hey – this wasn’t just a comedy show, occassionally it would jerk on your heart strings.
– Seeing TCW explain he never called provided closure for the fans who still complain about never having got it.
– It would have been nice to get a Ben Flashback/Fantasy Sequence.
– I think I could understand what JD meant when he said “Thanks to Dan, I knew the future…” but it felt a bit out of place after just seeing him in passing. Mrs.JB* was asking if they cut something from his scene that didn’t make sense with the final edit.

2. Metschick - Thursday, May 7, 2009

It was a good ending! I kinda wished that the BF hadn’t watched with me, because I was laughing at all the callbacks and he just looked at me like I was crazy.

I really liked the “flashforward” – esp when you think that it was another JD fantasy. Very cute to see his life play out that way. Izzy & Sam, OTP!

Need to see it again to fully absorb.

3. SA - Friday, May 8, 2009

JB I was wondering if they cut out something there as well re: “Thanks to Dan.” It didn’t make any sense. What did you think it meant because, well, I’m kinda lost. And having something on Ben would have made the hallway sequence even better. I never cared that much for TCW, but yeah, it was good to see her say that. Now what’s the reason why JD never called…?

And how did I forget the Big Book of Rants?

Metsy-I totally didn’t think it was a JD fantasy, but now that you said it I so want it to be. And as much as I like the over the top ones (and the realistic ones) I think that would have been my favorite fantasy of his.

I, too, definitely need to watch it again.

4. JB* - Friday, May 8, 2009

SA – I took it to mean that if you compare Dan in the early seasons to, say, Season 7 (responsible, successful, giving JD the car), he has developed into far more than anyone would have guessed.

Thus – the possibilities are wide open.

5. SA - Friday, May 8, 2009

I like that. I think I’m going to think of that comment in that way as well.

Thanks JB. :)

6. DHuSL - Saturday, May 9, 2009

I don’t think the janitors real name is Tony. He also told some people, he came from sweden. So he lies to everybody. His real name will keep a secret forever, I think.

7. Metschick - Sunday, May 10, 2009

Watching it again, and the hallway scene brought the tears.

Esp – My Old Lady! I LOVE her.

Re: the fantasy – it felt that way, because when the “janitor” (Bill Lawrence!) rips down the white sheet, the fantasy ends. And JD VOs: “And who’s to say this isn’t what happens? Who’s to say my fantasies won’t come true? Just this once…”

8. JB* - Sunday, May 10, 2009

Okay, getting way too deep in continuity thought here, but doesn’t the Janitor’s name HAVE to be Neil Flynn?

Remember, JD saw him in The Fugitive, and the janitor admitted as much to him, so by extension… he has to be Neil Flynn, Janitor.

I think. And I don’t know why I never thought to make that argument before.


Leave a Reply

