jump to navigation

American Idol Roundtable – Top Seven Part II Performance Recap Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Posted by Matt_T in American Idol.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

After saving Timberlite last week, we have another week of 7 performers.  7 performers doing disco.  Was it the trainwreck we expected?  Join our motley crew (not crue) after the jump and find out.

JB*:

This may sound repetitive, but it is Disco Week – this should be a disaster.  What I cannot believe is they did not make a bigger deal about the whole “two people will be eliminated” thing.

Lil Rounds – “I’m Every Woman”
Looking bootylicious and dancing around the stage, past the judges, she spiced up her performance with playfulness.  She seemed to be overperformed by the background singers, though – she was just singing a lot of “woos” and parts of lyrics.  Fun and all, but not really a good performance.  Simon’s giving her the death knell may be enough to save her with a sympathy vote.

Kris Allen – “She Works Hard For the Money”
Disco Guitar Preacher Man gives us easily the performance of the year – having guys playing what appears to be a board and the giant bongo drums was this year’s version of David Cook making “Hello” his own.  Putting a soulful, Santan-esque sound to the song was pure, absolute brilliance.  But what the hell did Paula mean about men shopping in women’s sections?  I’ll set it up for Jerkwheat – Arkansas!WhatWhat?

Danny Gokey – “September”
I repeat what I said a few weeks ago – he is a younger, better haired version of Taylor Hicks.  He also may have fewer dance moves than me, and all I have is the “Lean Back”.  He, too, seemed overshadowed by the backup group, but he was solid vocally, just not spectacular in performing.  He just sort of shook, slightly better than Megan Joy, but not much.  And why did he have an entourage of hot women

Allison Iraheta – “Hot Stuff”
Let’s get this out of the way – ONLY Sixteen!  Instead of the “sitting on the floor” start, she gets the seldom seen “Sitting on the Billy Joel Stairs” start to open her No Doubt-Lite performance of Hot Stuff.  This was the week I think we all figured we would eventually get from her, when the smokey sound would become grating.  Of course, it appears the judges disagree with me.  Also, were there any other Disco Performers besides Donna Summers?  She’s the source for two of our four so far.

Adam Lambert – “If I Can’t Have You”
Hmmmm – all suited up Adam?  He’s doing this off the Saturday Night Fever soundtrack, and brought the John Travolta hair.  Is there a requirement that he much squeal at one point during every performance?  He does it all slow like and the judges fawn over him and this is just going to be repetitive so… let’s move on.

TimberLite – “Stayin’ Alive”
JAUNTY HAT!  I am sure this is supposed to be all “through the looking glass”, since he was saved, but I think he is trying to do either the robot or the pop-and-lock throughout the performance, but by law Michiganders are forbade from it.  He, too, tosses multiple self-indulgent high-pitched points for no good reason.  It is some random Justin Timberlake meets the Bee Gees meets Drunken Frat Boy sort of thing.  Simon calls him out as doing a performance that came across as “desperate”, which sums up what I tried to say in one word.

Anoop Desai – “Dim All the Lights”
Let’s slow it down, soften it up, and make the panties soaked with Anoooooooooooooop!  It was… it was what it was.  Little rough on the vocals, but he has the crowd loving him.  Three out of the four judges love him – guess who doesn’t?
Predictions
But not as bad as I expected it to be.  With it being the Top 7 and double elimination week, my guess is we do a Bottom Four, then pair them off to pare them down. 
Top 3 (performance) – Kris Allen, Danny Gokey, Allison Iraheta
Top 3 (Votes) – Kris Allen, Adam Lambert, Lil Rounds (sympathy)
Going Home – Timberlite and Anoooooooop

matt_T:

I was all set to blast the disco theme for not being modern and relevant but I actually was pleasantly surprised by most of the performers.  And they cut down on all the fluff, so we actually got performances and critique.  Which was a nice surprise too.
 
Lil – As far as performances, this was entertaining, it was fun, she was dancing around in some sort of cat suit (meow) but like Simon loves to say, its a singing competition.  So I agree with JB, she let the background singers lead, and didn’t do a lot of singing.  Oh and this song was a total ego pick.  Sorry Lil, but you aren’t Celine, or Whitney or Mariah or Chaka.
 
Kris – Fantastic job.  This is a prime example of taking a lame theme and making it work.  I would turn it up if it came on the radio.  Definitely his best performance of the season. 
 
Danny – Danny, you butchered one of my favorite jams, and for that I cannot forgive you.  And to defer to JB again, he nailed it, that was a Taylor Hicks performance.  Danny managed to sap all the groove out of the song, and he was outdone by the background singers too. 
 
Allison – Hands down my favorite performance of the night.  She made the song work for her too, and she nailed it.  She’s growing better as the weeks go by, I have a feeling she may sneak into the final 2. Even if she doesn’t win, I think she’s this year’s Daughtry, I could see her having a successful career. 
 
Adam – I never thought I’d say this, but I enjoyed Adam two weeks in a row.  Yeah the screeching was annoying, but overall, good job.  And far more restraint than I thought he’d show.  Simon gets bonus points for his “I would have bet $10,000 you’d sing Donna Summer” 
 
Timberlite – Oh how meta of him to sing Stayin’ Alive.  Too bad it was terrible.  I wanted this to be good, especially with the jaunty hat.  I don’t like the karaoke criticism, because that’s what the show is, but this was drunken karaoke at 2 am in some seedy bar.  Nice idea, just poor execution.
 
Anoop – I gotta be honest, I don’t remember anything about this performance, other than the facial hair and pink shirt.  I switched to the Braves game and missed most of it.  Whoops.
 
Tonight should be interesting since they are booting two.  My favorite 3 performances – Allison, Kris and Adam.  I think we’ll see Timberlite gone for good this time and even Vote for the Worst won’t be able to save Lil (as she was in the bottom 3 last week)
 
Even bigger news, DAVID ARCHULETTA TONITE.  OMG !!!

I was all set to blast the disco theme for not being modern and relevant but I actually was pleasantly surprised by most of the performers.  And they cut down on all the fluff, so we actually got performances and critique.  Which was a nice surprise too.
 
Lil – As far as performances, this was entertaining, it was fun, she was dancing around in some sort of cat suit (meow) but like Simon loves to say, its a singing competition.  So I agree with JB, she let the background singers lead, and didn’t do a lot of singing.  Oh and this song was a total ego pick.  Sorry Lil, but you aren’t Celine, or Whitney or Mariah or Chaka.
 
Kris – Fantastic job.  This is a prime example of taking a lame theme and making it work.  I would turn it up if it came on the radio.  Definitely his best performance of the season. 
 
Danny – Danny, you butchered one of my favorite jams, and for that I cannot forgive you.  And to defer to JB again, he nailed it, that was a Taylor Hicks performance.  Danny managed to sap all the groove out of the song, and he was outdone by the background singers too. 
 
Allison – Hands down my favorite performance of the night.  She made the song work for her too, and she nailed it.  She’s growing better as the weeks go by, I have a feeling she may sneak into the final 2. Even if she doesn’t win, I think she’s this year’s Daughtry, I could see her having a successful career. 
 
Adam – I never thought I’d say this, but I enjoyed Adam two weeks in a row.  Yeah the screeching was annoying, but overall, good job.  And far more restraint than I thought he’d show.  Simon gets bonus points for his “I would have bet $10,000 you’d sing Donna Summer” 
 
Timberlite – Oh how meta of him to sing Stayin’ Alive.  Too bad it was terrible.  I wanted this to be good, especially with the jaunty hat.  I don’t like the karaoke criticism, because that’s what the show is, but this was drunken karaoke at 2 am in some seedy bar.  Nice idea, just poor execution.
 
Anoop – I gotta be honest, I don’t remember anything about this performance, other than the facial hair and pink shirt.  I switched to the Braves game and missed most of it.  Whoops.
 
Tonight should be interesting since they are booting two.  My favorite 3 performances – Allison, Kris and Adam.  I think we’ll see Timberlite gone for good this time and even Vote for the Worst won’t be able to save Lil (as she was in the bottom 3 last week)
 
Even bigger news, DAVID ARCHULETTA TONITE.  OMG !!!

DougOlis:

Lil – Stuck in the 1st spot is not good for her. She seemed like she had a lot of fun and her performance was by far her best but her voice still isn’t great. It was fine throughout but the ending was pretty bad. She’s in trouble.
Kris – A little boring but I liked his cover. Nice job there.
Danny – Fine and his voice was pretty good but I didn’t really care for his highs. It was a bit karaokeish and I don’t think it’s a great thing that this may be his best style of music.  Need more shots of his sisters please. Thanks.
Allison – Her outfit is umm, I dunno (hot?) and I feel dirty for watching her. I like the arrangement she went with, but it did sound like she turned a 70s Ballad into an 80s Power Ballad. It was good and fun but the arrangement and style leaves me kind of worried.
Adam – Brandon Flowers look tonight? Slow week for him and I think it’s my favorite performance from him because he toned back the falsetto and wackiness. His voice was great and it was an excellent arrangement and soulful performance. Simon’s looks while Paula was speaking were classic.
Matt – I thought this week would be a trainwreck for him but it really wasn’t that bad. He made it kind of a modern Timberlakey disco thing and it was pretty good.
Anoop – Oh boy, rough start. Even the band doesn’t sound great. Boring and cheesy performance/arrangement and his voice was flat. I dig the suit and facial scrub though.
Kind of interesting that the weeks we think are going to be horrible are often good and the ones that should be good turn into trainwrecks. How is the bottom structure going to work this week? Are they going to have 2 sets of bottom 2 and eliminate 1 from each pair or will it remain bottom 3? My ranking this week (from best to worst): Adam, Kris, Allison, Matt, Danny, Lil, Anoop

Jerkwheat:

Lil – This has to be the end of Memphis Whut Whut. At long last. She’s
gotta wonder why she was even picked to be on the damn show if they
are just gonna yell at her for trying to do what they ask her to every
week. She does have the sassy mouth that all of our ladies are born
with in Memphis, so I love when she lets it run. Not as bad as the
judges say, but she’s gotta be gone by the end of the night.

Kris – My fellow Arkie has done me proud this year. I’m starting to
think he might have the legs to sneak up and finish in the top 2 or
3, depending on what happens to the Gokey-bot. I really liked the
arrangement and think he’s the winner of the night by far.

Danny – I’m just tired of seeing this dude. Get on with the CCM career
already and leave us be. He’s workmanlike in his performances – you
know its going to be decent, not spectacular, but the judges will fawn
none the less. He’s safe as always.

Allison – *Comment redacted for fear of Chris Hanson* Safe.

Adam – AAAAAAAAND there’s the screechy high note.

Matt – I enjoyed the tongue-in-cheek nature of picking “Staying Alive”
here, but it didn’t work at all for me. I think I tend to agree that
it was just a one-week reprisal for Timberlite. I hope Kris Allen gets
his collection of jaunty hats.

Anoop – I missed Anoop because one of my hounds demanded to go outside
and take a pee. Sorry, Noop.

I’m assuming we get one elimination taken care of early today, by
mid-show, and then we have a bottom 2.

They like to fuck with Lil, so she’ll be part of that Bottom 2. I
think Timberlite and Lil bid us farewell, while they make Allison join
her in the BATTLE OF WHICH LADY WILL SURVIVE?!?!

What’s next?

We seem to have a consensus that Lil is one of the two going home, and are split on if the other will be Timberlite or Anoop.  But that’s not really what’s important tonight.  You know what is?  ARCHULETTA IS BACK IN THE HOUSE.  OMG Y’ALL

Comments»

1. American Idol Roundtable - Top Seven Part II Performance Recap - Wednesday, April 22, 2009

[…] News Sources wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptAfter saving Timberlite last week, we have another week of 7 performers. 7 performers doing disco. Was it the trainwreck we expected? Join our motley crew (not crue) after the jump and find out. JB*: This may sound repetitive, but it is Disco Week – this should be a disaster. What I cannot believe is they did not make a bigger deal about the whole “two people will be eliminated” thing. Lil Rounds – “I’m Every Woman” Looking bootylicious and dancing around the stage, past the jud […]

2. JB - Wednesday, April 22, 2009

We’re a News Source now?

I can’t wait for the posts from Archie’s Angels, bringing up how Dreamboat should have won over EmoBoy.

Lastly, in retrospect, I wonder if they were always going to do Disco Week after they saved someone, since it would be the obvious way to cause (at least) two bad performances.

3. DougOLis - Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Legitimate!

4. Nomad - Saturday, April 25, 2009

eliminating Anoop was like tearing off a band-aid, hurts for a second, but we had to get it over with eventually


Leave a Reply

