jump to navigation

New Music Tuesday – April 7th, 2009 Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Well, things didn’t work out for Sparty last night. As a graduate of a large public mid-Michigan university, this brings me much sadness. Such is life. The good news is that today is just loaded with good music awaiting you on the store shelves.

New Tragically Hip today! Hells yes! Can you tell I spent a lot of my formative years near the Canadian border? Is it obvious yet? But wait, there’s A LOT MORE!!!

The Tragically Hip – We Are The Same
I think The Hip are one of those bands that you have to have seen live at least once to really understand their appeal. Gord Downie is amongst the most charismatic frontmen I’ve ever had the pleasure of watching (at least) 12 times in person. Just a great rock and roll band and I’m excited even if it’s another Bob Rock production.

Bob Mould – Life And Times
I’m a fan of the lead single “I’m Sorry Baby, But You Can’t Stand In My Light Anymore” and Mould’s last few albums have been pretty freaking solid – even if he’s still a little too friendly with the auto-tune. Let your voice float free, Bob!

Vienna Teng – Inland Territory
I vividly recall watching Letterman one night in college around 2002 when he had an unknown musical guest on. She played some simply gorgeous piano ballads and Dave loved her so much she wound up being on the show the next night as well at his request. This was, of course, Vienna Teng. And while nothing of hers has matched up to Waking Hour thus far (to me at least, although they are still very good) I remain very much on the Teng bandwagon. She’s also an extremely nice lady and wonderful in concert. Seriously, just a super person.

The Hold Steady – A Positive Rage
Live album and dvd. You know exactly what to expect here. AWESOMENESS.

Doves – Kingdom of Rust
Has it really been four years since they last put out an album? Feels like out of sight, out of mind to me. I’ve always dug Doves when I’ve heard them, but I’ve never really found myself wrapped up in them. This is a shame, right?

Sara Watkins – Self-titled
Love, love, love Nickel Creek. And I have a major league crush on Sara Watkins. An amazing guest list on this one including Gillian Welch and David Rawlings, Benmont Tench, and the Nickel Creek gang. I have a feeling that this is going to be a quiet favorite of mine, much like the Watson Twins album from last year.

Seriously, THAT IS A HELLUVA WEEK. WOW. Let’s talk about it, shall we?

Comments»

1. JB* - Tuesday, April 7, 2009

You cannot crush on Sara Watkins, because I do!

This is a great week… I think I need a bigger Mp3 player to start trying to keep up.

2. Matt_T - Tuesday, April 7, 2009

My preorder of a Positive Rage better be in the mailbox today, or I will be having a negative rage at Insound.

3. DougOLis - Tuesday, April 7, 2009

The Thermals have a new album out this week and the documentary about Arcade Fire (Miroir Noir) finally comes out too.

4. Rockabye - Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Miroir Noir? Could they be any more pretentious?

5. davelawrence8 - Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Can’t wait to hear (and see!) the new Hip stuff. Now where’s that Westwind blowing from?

6. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Dave – I picked it up at lunch. Will be soundtracking my commute home tonight.

7. DougOLis - Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Rockabye – well, no, but that doesn’t mean it won’t be good. Think of them as the Indie Kanye. For the record, I’m not sure who came up with the title (the band or the filmmaker) but it is the French translation of one of the songs off Neon Bible.

8. Rockabye - Friday, April 10, 2009

I realize that, Doug. And I’ve written rhymes that reference Arcade Fire, and enjoyed Neon Bible, and the one listen I gave Funeral.

But, still, French is so cliche in that realm, no?


Leave a Reply

