jump to navigation

New Music Tuesday – March 24th, 2009 Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Today is YOUUUUGE!!! Seriously, there is so much good stuff coming out today that I’m not sure that your little minds are capable of handling it all. Let’s get it started off with this…

Sarah Borges & the Broken Singles lead us off this week with that fantastic cut from their new album. Hit the jump to get this week’s run down…

The Decemberists – The Hazards of Love
Colin Meloy and crew return with an epic concept album. My copy arrived last night (on vinyl because I am uber-nerd) and I plan on spending some quality time with it over the course of the next few days. Early reviews are kinda iffy, but I’m going to stay positive (WHOOOA OOOH OOH) on this one and give it the proper listening time it deserves. Also, lesson learned from delivery of this album – Meloy has an enormous signature.

Mastodon – Crack The Skye
RAAAAWWRRRRR!! METAL SMASH YES RAWWWWK!!! BECOME ONE WITH THE DARK LORD!! Ok, now that’s out of my system and we can celebrate the fact that Mastodon has returned to rock our freaking faces off. Frankly, I’m afraid that if I listen to this during my morning commute that I might accidentally set the Beltway ablaze and cause several passersbys to incinerate upon listening. In other words, bring the metal, boys.

Sarah Borges and the Broken Singles – The Stars Are Out
If we’ve established anything here over the past two years, it’s probably this: We love the twangy rock and we love the talented twangy ladies even more. You know that new Neko Case record you’ve been loving the past few weeks? Well, I think we’ve got some competition for you right here. Did you dig the lead single up there? Do you like the rock and roll? I’ve gotten the chance to spend some time with this over the past week and I give it the Wheat Seal of Approval. Check it out, gang.

Pearl Jam – Ten
I can’t imagine that most of you don’t already have this one sitting on the shelf. However, today bring us a remastering with new tracks and a whole bunch of different collector’s editions to choose from. I, for one, would love the big ol $120 plus special edition, but I think I’ll settle for the cheaper basic remastering. My copy is close to 20 years old at this point after all…

This week also brings us a new album from Blue October, Keri Hilson’s record finally sees the light of day, and lots of other goodies that I’m surely over looking. The point is, we’ve got a loaded week here. Enjoy it. Let’s talk in the comments.

Comments»

1. Matt_T - Tuesday, March 24, 2009

I’ve listened to the stream of the Mastodon a few times, and I feel comfortable saying its their best yet. There’s a song with BANJO! METAL BANJO Y’ALL!

I think I’m the only person my age (27) who isn’t a fan of Pearl Jam.

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, March 24, 2009

You missed the big one (for me) this week: Metacritic’s album of 2008, Welcome to Mali from Amadou & Mariam, is finally being released here. Check out the lead single, Sabali, and enjoy.

Other stuff this week that I may or may not checkout: Dan Deacon (probably will get), Pete Doherty (might get), Martina McBride, Papa Roach (!?!?!)

3. Matt_T - Tuesday, March 24, 2009

I saw Papa Roach open for 311 a few years ago, and it was surprisingly good and very entertaining.

4. Rockabye - Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Keri Hilson album: Excellent. More on this later.


Leave a Reply

