jump to navigation

New Music Tuesday – March 10th, 2009 Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Lots of goodies coming out today, folks. This is a pretty damn good month, no?

Now, normally I’d have gone with Kelly here. Or any of the others. But DeLuca seems to be one of the few with an available good quality embed available. Even if it’s not from the new album. Let’s talk about what’s coming out today after the jump, shall we?

Kelly Clarkson – All I Ever Wanted
Truthfully, I have a hard time believing that this is all Kelly ever wanted. But she’s a pop star again, and that’s for the greater good. You win again, Clive. We wear our love for Miss Clarkson on our sleeves here and I’ll be heading down to Borders at lunch to pick this up. You’ve surely heard the rather successful lead single by now, “My Life Would Suck Since You Been Gone” and are enjoying it like we are. Early reviews have been positive, so here’s to renewed commercial success. Even though I did kinda like My December.

Chris Cornell – Scream
This…this is probably going to be awful. And I might get suckered into it out of curiosity (prove me wrong promo guy – send us a copy and have us fall in love with it) but the Cornell/Timbaland combination seems awkward and the lead single “Scream” has been around for about 7 or 8 months and never made any traction with radio. Probably because it’s not very good. Perhaps the final product will prove otherwise, but maybe this just helps lead us to an eventual Soundgarden reunion.

Rocco DeLuca and The Burden – Mercy
This is Jack Bauer’s favorite band and that should be good enough for you. I liked the last album (“Colorful” and “Gravitate” were good tunes) and I can be convinced to check this one out as well. It helps that I’m a sucker for a well-played slide guitar.

Speaking of Idol artists, Taylor Hicks is giving it another go today as well with the release of The Distance. Good luck with that, Hicks. Also, much to my surprise, New Found Glory are still around and they’ve got a new one out today as well if you are into that whole nasal pop-punk thing that the kids today like so much.Nickelback are putting out a live album today, for those of you who have no desire to experience good music in person ever in the course of your existance. RAWK.

Comments»

1. JB* - Tuesday, March 10, 2009

And somewhere, Justin Guarini stocks all these new releases on the shelf of his local Wal-Mart.

I do not apologize for it – I thought “My December” was solid.

2. Rockabye - Tuesday, March 10, 2009

For the record, you had the YouTube both hyperlinked and embedded. I cleaned it up.

I’m on the Kelly Clarkson/Clive Davis team; though My December was decent, this is a really good pop album. “I Do Not Hook Up” might actually be better than the lead single, depending on your tastes (bigger hook, and a more timely sort of anthemic than the summer-in-winter “My Life”).

Also, Confection Corner’s back tomorrow.

3. DougOLis - Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Kelly Clarkson!

4. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, March 10, 2009

weird that it hyperlinked – I blame using a PC last night.

5. Rockabye - Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Yeah, I dunno why it would. But it did.

6. Greek McPapadopoulos - Wednesday, March 11, 2009

If you’re into the whole Wolf Parade thing, the Dan-part side-project, Handsome Furs, also has a new album out today. I imagine it sounds a lot like the Dan songs from Wolf Parade, kind of like their previous effort.

7. Kathy - Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Love new found glory. Check out their video for “Listen To Your Friends” over at mtv – http://www.mtv.com/videos/new-found-glory/349132/listen-to-your-friends.jhtml#artist=1011154


Leave a Reply

