jump to navigation

My Jerks and My Last Words Finally Brought Scrubs Back On The Air Wednesday, January 7, 2009

Posted by Shakarean Hutchinson in Posts that should have more humor, Reasons why I am single, SA, Scrubs.
trackback

Hooray, Scrubs is back! Last night was the big debut for my our favorite tortured (well, as much as being on prime time television is torture) show and they came back with a big name and two new episodes. I gotta be honest, I had no idea if I was going to do recaps this half year/season. Not because I wasn’t asked to, more like I didn’t know if I wanted to. The last season (especially its season finale which was aired out of order) really left a sour taste in my mouth. But whatevs now. If we get a ninth then who knows. But for now why not?

And with a two episode season premeire there is a lot to talk about. So let’s get this party started, shall we?

I’m going to start with episode 8.1, “My Jerks.” If you recall, Dr. Kelso was pushed out/retired towards the end of season seven and Dr. Cox became the interim Chief of Medicine. Well, Sacred Heart replaced Kelso with a new CoM, Dr. Maddox, played by Courtney Cox. Okay, so I never watched Friends. Never saw one episode. Never had any desire to. So I have no idea if Courtney Cox would be good for the role. However, I gotta say I really like her as the nice soul less bitch. She pulls it off pretty damn well. Anyway, she basically came in and we got to see that she’s nice but a money grubbing jerk (kinda like Kelso in the beginning of the series, minus the nice). Dr. Cox had a bad feeling she was a jerk (because he rationalized that you have to be to take on that job) and he was right. And we saw a nice human side to him when he said to JD that he didn’t want to be the guy that fights the CoM anymore. Aww. But, typical Cox, at the end of the episode he was right back to dishing it out to with Maddox. JD had some new interns and they were pretty much jerks. To the point where he saw no point in dealing with them. Before I go on with this much too long little story (seriously, the more interesting ones were Cox not wanting to hate Maddox and Elliot which we’ll get to in a second) let me just say that Zach Braff should shave off that beard immediately if he still has it. For real man. You can NOT pull it off. And more importantly, the character of JD cannot pull it off. Anyway, eventually JD talks to Cox (the whole not wanting to be the fighter thing) and Cox tells him that a few years ago he had an intern who basically sucked and was a jerk. JD realized it was him and eventually went back to his interns. Can I just say how much I love two of the new interns, Denise and Ed? If they keep up this way I may just have to tune in to season nine staring them. Last story dealt with Elliot. Cox tells her a the beginning of the episode that she has been way too self-involved the past year, ever since she broke up her engagement to Keith. She disagrees and gets mad at him and then gets mad at Carla when she agrees with Cox. Carla tells her that she doesn’t even realize how much Keith is hurting, especially when she (Elliot) makes jokes about the engagement ending. But Elliot doesn’t see this because every time she sees Keith he’s acting happy. She has a talk with Ted (aww, poor Ted and his smiley face sticker and gun being in the briefcase) and he shows her that Keith isn’t over the break up. She talks with him and finally apologizes for what she did. Thank God Elliot finally did this and that Keith didn’t forgive her immediately after her apology. We got a bit of reality in this. I’m also very happy that Keith is still at Sacred Heart, although unless they give a reason for Elliot leaving Sacred Heart (you know, the whole season nine thing) I’m assuming Keith won’t be there for long. But I so hope I’m wrong cause I really like Keith. Anyway, those were the main stories. We got a tiny snippet of Maddox-Janitor where she fired him after she saw him tripping up JD in the hallway, obviously not knowing their dynamic. But I suspect he’ll be back. And really, how great is it that he made a key that opens everything? We also had a little Ted/Kelso interaction and bits of Turk and Carla. So in all, a full cast for the first episode. It was funny in parts, but not overly so. And let me just say the last minute or two of JD, Turk, and Elliot talking about how they shouldn’t mail it in and people rely on them week after week (ok, more like JD was telling Turk and Elliot) was so great. Made me forget that crap of a beard Braff is wearing. I love the meta stuff. Oh, and I can’t forget the high pitched intern who’s now a resident. Anytime she’s on I’m happy.

Second new episode, “My Last Words,” was charming and sad. And Scrubs can do charming and sad oh so well. George, or as I like to call him the Colonel from A Different World, was an old man who was dying in a hospital. This all happened on JD and Turk’s steakhouse night. I forgot what anniversary they were celebrating but they do it every year. Anyway, after finding out that he had no family from Ted (yay for lots of Ted ths week!) Turk and JD spent their entire evening with the man until he died. I actually had more of this written up, but honestly it seemed like overkill. With “My Jerks” there were a little story for a bunch of characters and definite plot points. With this episode it was mainly JD, Turk, and George. Yes, we got some Maddox/Jordan interaction (dear Bill Lawrence, if you know anything you’ll have a girls night out epi with Maddox, Jordan, Carla, and Elliot before CC’s time is up. Kisses, SA) and more Ted and crazy ass Denise, who I LOVE. And Ed starting a trends (seriously, I think I love Aziz Ansari). But for the most part it was those three and it worked. So very well. However, does anyone notice how Scrubs tends to have visiting doctors that can scope out everyone’s biggest insecurity? Maddox can do it. So did Molly Clock back in season four. And she did it while being a bit crazy, which made it that much better. Also, I miss Ted’s Band. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the harmony between Ted, Turk, and JD. But nothing compares to Ted’s Band.

So yeah, those were the episodes last night. I thought it was a really good start to the season. One more thing before I end this-ABC, in less than a year, has put in more time and effort into the Scrubs homepage then NBC did for seven plus years. Kudos ABC. The webisode they have up is funny and you should go watch it if you got some time. New epi next week. I heard that CC is signed for three episodes. So is next week her last episode? And if so what was the point in bringing her in for ONLY THREE EPISODES?! I really don’t understand this. Anyway, yay Scrubs is back!

Comments»

1. Rockabye - Wednesday, January 7, 2009

SA, I will make these paragraphs if you want…

2. JB - Wednesday, January 7, 2009

“One is for if I get sad… and the other is for if I get really sad.” was a seriously great laugh out loud line from Ted.

3. Rockabye - Wednesday, January 7, 2009

Reaction: Good return to form by both Scrubs and you, SA.

These two episodes were better in their small moments than in the big ones.

Bad: CC isn’t all that funny (she’s an ornament, unfortunately), and I’m guessing her arc is about getting Cox into the CoM seat. JD’s beard is stupid. Elliot/Carla need more time talking with JD/Turk, because that foursome is best when together. Janitor needs to be around, and if missing Kelso means more Ted, I’m not a huge fan of that. Denise isn’t an interesting character to me.

Good: Sharp meta stuff (that first scene of interns looked exactly like the residents’ first day; that speech at the end of My Jerks was spot-on). JD/Turk feels as fresh as ever, with Aziz Ansari (hysterical in both episodes) giving them a new dimension. I liked the story with the dying man, and that’s, as always, a fantastic song choice.

The jewels are still there, though I’m not sure how nice the necklace really is. Give it a few more weeks, and we’ll see if this season is an “end with a bang” thing, or a transition to Season Nine thing.

4. DougOLis - Wednesday, January 7, 2009

I thought there were some damn funny LOL moments in the first episode and it felt like it was getting back to its old self. I actually didn’t think they did the meta stuff too well at the end of the episode because it’s been done far better on Arrested Development, Family Guy, and Futurama.

The second episode was solid and sad without being overly sad; it doesn’t rank as one of the more powerful episodes because we didn’t have the time to build up a strong rapport with George as some other characters that have died.

Do you think Turk still makes JD play Steak?

5. SA - Wednesday, January 7, 2009

Heh, no I don’t want them as paragraphs Rockabye. I wrote this really fast after watching them early this morning. With two episodes I wasn’t going to do detailed recaps. And thanks. :)

I think CC did well, especially if this she’s only going to be on for three episodes and next week is her last. But like I said, this is the first time I have ever seen her act so maybe that’s why I liked her?

DougO-the meta stuff was good for Scrubs. I probably should have wrote that. And I totally thought about JD and Turk playing Steak again. It only seems right.

6. metschick - Friday, January 9, 2009

I loved the set of epis, great start to Season 8.

I liked the meta stuff. I’m usually tickled by that kind of stuff.

I liked the humor in the first epi, but of course it’s the heart in the second one that really got me. Damn that show is good at having me laughing one minute and crying the next.

I noticed that for the next couple of Tuesdays, ABC will be showing 2 epis back to back. Is it weird of me that I want them to ration it out, and not have Scrubs end too quickly? There’s only 18 episodes!

7. coffee fiend - Sunday, January 11, 2009

Courtney Cox will give Scrubs a big boost i suspect


Leave a Reply

