jump to navigation

New Music Tuesday – January 6th, 2009 Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

It’s the first New Music Tuesday of Ought Nine(r), and we’re actually getting off to a pretty decent start this week. Heck, January might wind up giving us some real goodies afterall.

I’m pretty sure the Station Formerly Known As Ethel played this approximately 90 times during the roughly 30-35 hours I spent in the car while driving from DC to MI and back (along with the other assorted drives in between). It’s also featured in a Zune commercial or Rhapsody commercial, one of those. Anyway, the point is that Alt Nation sucks and I want Ethel back. Oh, and this album is coming out today. TO THE JUMP!

Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavillion
Whatever you do, do not look it in the eye!!! I suppose I should finally give these guys a serious listen one of these days, so one of you give me a compelling reason. Looking at you, Doug…. (also, this seems to be only a specific format release today as 1/20 is also listed as a release date – wacky indie kids!)

Glasvegas – Self-Titled
I’m assuming these young Glaswegians are already big abroad, so here comes the annual monthly weekly “UK BAND THATS GONNA MAKE IT BIG”!!ONE111!!!! “Geraldine” seems like a pretty solid single, and I’d probably be more excited if I hadn’t had it forced on me by THE AWFULNESS THAT IS ALT NATION NOW THAT ETHEL IS GONE.

The Gourds – Haymaker!
You know the Gourds – they’re the band that did the hillbilly cover of “Gin And Juice” that every file sharing service ever had attributed to Phish. Oh, yeah! THAT’S THEM! Anyhoo, they are actually a lot of fun and if you like the ol’ alt-country-ish skronk, then you should look into this one.

So, there ya go. Not a bad start to the new year at all.

Comments»

1. Matt_T - Tuesday, January 6, 2009
2. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Well, shit. I suppose I’ll hate it then.

3. Rockabye - Tuesday, January 6, 2009

That’s apparently the highest rating the Fork’s given anything since Funeral.

Yeah, I think we may need some recurring Screw the Fork stuff. Jerkwheat/Matt, would you guys want to figure out a way to jointly live-listen to this CD and log reactions?

4. DougOLis - Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Merriweather Post Pavilion isn’t available yet on iTunes or Rhapsody so it looks like I’m waiting for now, but I certainly have high hopes from one of my favorite bands.

I’m holding off on reading the Pitchfork review until I can listen and make my own first impression, but I actually have (mostly) agreed with quite a few of their reviews in the last year. Sometimes the numbers aren’t great when looking at an absolute scale for comparison but their commentary is usually accurate and the scores are fairly representative within a band’s catalog. I’m still not sure how Source Tags & Codes got a 10 from them a few years back; it’s damned good album from …And You Will Know Us By The Trail of Dead (and I feel like The Walkmen are often trying to rip it off) but I’m not sure it’s been the best album of the past decade. What else have they given 10s to? I think OK Computer, YHF, I See A Darkness and the recent Otis Redding Sings The Blues but I don’t recall any others.

5. DougOLis - Tuesday, January 6, 2009

oh fuck, close your tags idiot

6. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, January 6, 2009

didn’t Save Ferris’ It Means Everything get a 10 back in the day too? I mean, there isn’t much I wouldn’t do for the lovely Monique Powell, but still…

At Matt’s behest, I think I’ll d/l the AC record off of Pitchfork and try to formulate some kind of opinion on it.

And P-fork has been pretty decent lately, they did love The ’59 Sound afterall. Plus Ditchspoon wrote a good review for my band in Rock Band 2.

7. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Or I misunderstood Mr. Underscore T earlier and M.Post.Pav. is not up on eMusic right now either…


Leave a Reply

