jump to navigation

I Spent Money on This? Sunday, January 4, 2009

Posted by JB* in albums, I Spent Money On This?, JB*, music.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Despite my spot on this cutting edge page of pop culture and witticism, it is true, I have not always been on the forefront.  I’ll pause for that to sink in, then tell the tale of the time I went eletronica-lite.

The Album
Play
The Year
Released in 1999, I purchased in 2001

The Story
Another example of a heavily radio-influenced purchased, this album calls to mind a lot of time spent at a client in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, where Moby had even infiltrated the bar scene there (even the strip club).  Given this was a golf-and-hunting area, that was somewhat surprising.  After having it pounded into my head for the month, I grabbed it at the local ShopKo.

The Good
The song I most think of off the CD is “South Side”, the duet with Gwen Stefani, which was probably what inundated me to the point of needing to purchase it.

The Bad
There really were not any overly “bad” tracks off this CD, it just got over played.  Every single track was licensed for commercial use, as Moby explained, as an effort to get the music out and heard.  It just slowly wore on listeners, to the point of backlash.

The Verdict
This was not a bad purchase, but it is one that now, as I flip through The Big Black Book of CDs (Rock/Pop edition), I wonder why.  I don’t think I listened to it for much more than a few months, and I doubt I have pulled it out in a couple of years.

Join me next week as I continue to tally the thousands of dollars spent on ill-fated purchases of music. And don’t tell my mother, lest she want me to pay her back.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

