jump to navigation

I Spent Money On This? Sunday, December 7, 2008

Posted by JB* in albums, I Spent Money On This?, JB*, music, Reasons why I was single.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

There seems to be a recurring theme here – single dominates the radio, I buy a CD, listen to the rest of it, bury it in the Big Black Book of CDs, and never ponder it again.

Rewind, repeat, with a mambo flair… after the jump.

The Album
A Little Bit of Mambo
The Time
August 1999

The Story
That damned song was everywhere.  EVERYWHERE.  And like it or not, you know you bobbed the head, tapped the toe, and sang quietly along.  That is the mark of a successful pop song – even if you may not like the song, you cannot help but get it ingrained in your head.

Oh, don’t act like you don’t know what song I mean.

The Good
One school of thought says that if a song gets stuck in your head, the solution is to listen to the whole thing.

I’d like to claim this was my plan upon purchase, but the fact is the song just had a hook, but was different then the other music popular in 1999 (on pace to be covered in the DeadOn Tied to the 90s Roundtable come March 2029).  It was hard to resist, and with an ear for a jazz sound, I picked it up.  I hoped more of the album would have a flow to it.

Oh, and Michael Scott likes it, as we saw in episode “The Dundies“.

The Bad
Where to start…

  • As I hoped, the album did have a flow to it, but either the songs were all basically the same (I Got A Girl):

    or really different and just bad:

    Side note – Everytime I think of this title, I think first of Run DMC’s “It’s Tricky”, and then am very disappointed.
  • No other song off the album broke the Top 50 in an English speaking countries
  • A 2007 poll done by Rolling Stone named Mambo No. 5 the sixth Most Annoying Song of All Time.
  • Lou Bega remade the song with Disney Characters (Mickey, Donald, Pluto…) instead of the girls (Angela, Pamela, Sandra, Rita…).  Oh, and candy store instead of liquor store.  Shameless whoring does no one (save the Jonas Brothers) any good.
  • A radio DJ remade the song as Matzah #5, playing of Jewish stereotypes.  That actually may be funny, but I have never heard it.
  • The Germans love the guy.  And while they may make good stuff, their taste in music is debatable:

The Verdict
Christina Aguilera’s debut cd, buoyed by “Genie in a Bottle”, was released the same day as Lou Bega.  I see this CD staring at me in the Big Black Book and I just wonder why.

Join me next week as I continue to tally the thousands of dollars spent on ill-fated purchases of music, probably with one a little more complex this open-and-shut case. And don’t tell my mother, lest she want me to pay her back.

Comments»

1. Rockabye - Sunday, December 7, 2008

Steps to Fame and Fortune, by Lou Bega:

1. Mambo backbeat.
2. Lyrics: “A little bit of (insert female name here) (insert prepositional phrase here)”
3. Adoption by Germany.
4. …
5. Profit!

2. JB* - Sunday, December 7, 2008

If only he had figured out step 4, it could have been repeatable.

3. DougOLis - Monday, December 8, 2008

Hearing it once every hour on the radio wasn’t enough for you? You also needed it on demand?

4. JB* - Monday, December 8, 2008

Sometimes, a boy just has to be able to dance at whim.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

