jump to navigation

I Spent Money on This? Sunday, November 2, 2008

Posted by JB* in I Spent Money On This?, JB*, music, Reasons why I was single.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Seeing all the horror movie commercials over the last few weeks, I saw a few for the 2006 remake of The Omen, starring Julia Stiles, which provided the inspiration over this week’s review.

The Album
Save the Last Dance (Soundtrack)
The Year
2001

The Story
The movie is a complete guilty pleasure. Any time it is on I have to watch it and there is no good reason why, except for Julia Stiles obscenely large forehead in this movie. Seriously – the next time you watch it, it will become a point of obsession.

With such a rhythmic dance track, and at a time where I was spending way too much time in clubs doing my overly white boy dance, I couldn’t help myself. The weekend after seeing the move with my ex (short story, but not worth repeating here), I bought the soundtrack.

The Good
There are three tracks which I listened to with regularity – back in the day before MP3, kids, we had to skip around on CDs. Now get off my lawn! – and a fourth notable for less-than-noble reasons.

First up, “Crazy” by KCi and JoJo – not Patsy Cline – the song which, without a shadow of a doubt, has held up the best off the soundtrack. Lyrically, it is a fine tribute to being driven out of your mind by someone you love. Musically, the brother duo can sing, though I never quite understood the break-up of Jodeci. Anyway, the video:

Second is “U Make Me Sick” by Pink. Likely the biggest song to hit the terrestrial radio waves at time off the disc, it was a passing blip in the music world. Not very often does one hear fans of Pink include the song in any debates over their favorite. Then again, you never hear Pink fans have that debate. Or hear of Pink fans. Hmmm.

Last is an anthem for every dance club and cheap titty bar I have been in over the years, guaranteed to be played twice a night in the former and more than that in the latter. Ice Cube (with Mack 10 and Ms. Toi) remind everyone that “You Can Do It” – if you put your ass in to it.

The Bad
The soundtrack features the only other known popular appearance of Montell Jordan (of “This is How We Do It”  fame), and the rest of the album was pretty much poo, as so many soundtracks are.

Even of the three memorable songs, one is strictly for booty-shaking (which may put it back above in the plus column), one has faded, and one is still solid – not a strong resume to post.

The Verdict
This holds a special double-whammy spot for me, as I own both the cd and the DVD, though not the Special Edition DVD re-release (yet – Christmas is coming up, you know). Plus, I am far too rhythmically-challenged to think I can do anything but the head bob Julia Stiles and Sean Patrick Thomas do (as seen in the trailer http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kXo6R8waYpk at the 1:20 mark, also, one of the most frequently remembered scenes in the movie). As an added bonus, the pick-up line “Let’s see some S-E-X in those H-I-P” is a classic.

Join me next week as I continue to tally the thousands of dollars spent on ill-fated purchases of music, probably with one a little more complex this open-and-shut case. And don’t tell my mother, lest she want me to pay her back.

Comments»

1. Rockabye - Monday, November 3, 2008

“Crazy” is still a massive song, and “U Make Me Sick” is overrated. (Not that I’m a Pink fan. Or anything.)


Leave a Reply

