jump to navigation

New Music Tuesday – October 28th, 2008 Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Giddy up, kids. You’ve got some spending to do.

It’s actually been like a year or so since we had a new Ryan Adams records. Where does the time go? But, Ryan is merely the tip of a great week of new releases that await you….

Ryan Adams – Cardinology
Perhaps you, like me, gave this a spin on iLike last week when it was up for a couple of days. If so, perhaps you, like me, rather enjoyed this little record. Adams has found a safe, comfortable place with the Cardinals as his band and while we may never get something as out-of-the-box as Rock N Roll from him with the Cards, at least you know you are going to get something consistent. It’s not exactly rocking, but it’s not too depressing either. More quality work from good Mr. Adams here.

Snow Patrol – A Hundred Million Suns
Ok, so here’s the truth. I really like Snow Patrol. I dug Final Straw and, taking the ubiquity of “Chasing Cars” into consideration, I thought Eyes Open was a very good adult alternative/mainstream rock/whateverthehellitis album. “Open Your Eyes” is a favorite of mine. So, yes, I’ll be picking this up. And if some shitty chick flick tv show decides to score an emotional scene or whatnot with another SP song, then so be it. I’ll be upstairs, being all non-hipstery and shit.

Kaiser Chiefs – Off With Their Heads
I’ve enjoyed the singles off of the last two Kaiser Chiefs albums, but I’ve never given much of a chance to the rest of their albums. Although I do recall having a brief fling with Employment a few years back. And once “Ruby” gets into my head, it’s hard to get it out. So, while I’m not rushing to pick this one up yet, I imagine once I hear the inevitable catchy single, I’ll be hooked in again.

The Cure – 4:13 Dream
Robert Smith is sad and the guitars will be all jangly and chimey and the sort. 

Bloc Party – Intimacy
So, this came out digitally via the Bloc Party web site a few weeks back. I had every intention of downloading it, but as so often happens, I kinda forgot and just reached a point where I decided to wait for the physical release. That day hath come.

So, yeah – we’ve got ourselves a winner of a release week. Let’s give ’em something to talk about in the comment if ya like. 

Comments»

1. Matt_T - Tuesday, October 28, 2008

For those that like their rock with a little bit of irony, the new Eagles of Death Metal “Heart On” comes out today as well.

I’ll be picking that and the Ryan Adams up.

2. dylancaseyjohnson - Tuesday, October 28, 2008

I was hoping you were going to feature Ryan Adams today, I’ve had my XM running constantly the past week or so, hoping to catch as many tracks as I could before the disc was released.

http://www.reuters.com/article/entertainmentNews/idUSTRE49O05H20081025

If we can trust what Adams himself said in the above article (there’s no telling with that guy, he’s nuts) things will be getting decidedly more creative soon.

Ryan Adams was on this show called “Music in High Places” performing in the streets of Jamaica. I’ve searched for a place to attain copies of this series forever as I enjoyed a couple other installments. Any ideas?

3. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, October 28, 2008
4. dylancaseyjohnson - Tuesday, October 28, 2008

following the 1, the end of that url is 025. My html is, how you say, no so good?

5. DougOLis - Tuesday, October 28, 2008

eyyy, sweetness. I’m kind of undecided on Cardinology at the moment. I need to give it a few more listens and time to figure out how I feel because right now I’m kind of “meh” but I do see a lot of potential. Speaking of Mr. Adams, will we be getting a certain video of his on Friday? (Yes, I know it’s been used before here but whatever)

Matt: Eagles of Death Metal definitely brought the rock when I saw them last month at Street Scene.

I haven’t heard a lot on Bloc Party’s new album. Is it supposed to be good? I fully intend on picking this one up at some point.

“Chasing Cars” was a guilty pleasure that got way overplayed on the radio so my stock in Snow Patrol dropped a little bit (not their fault though) but I’ll probably check this out.

Apparently MTV has now released every music video they have and you can embed them too. Enjoy.
http://gizmodo.com/5069754/goodbye-productivity-mtv-music-site-posts-every-music-video-ever

6. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Doug – I am absolutely considering playing that on Friday now. Brilliant!

The Bloc Party album has had a pretty low-key release and I think I’ve only seen a couple of middling reviews. Of course, it took me a few listens to really dig Weekend In The City too. I’ll try to give the new one a spin tonight and will let you know how it is.

I’m about two songs into the new Snow Patrol, and I liked them both. It’ll be my in car listening as I drive to my next appointment this afternoon.

And God bless MTV for finally doing this – I’ll just have to figure out how to get the embed to work with WordPress.


Leave a Reply

