jump to navigation

New Music Tuesday – October 14th, 2008 Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

It’s an excellent week for the singer/songwriter type…

Yeah, you already are thinking about the new Ray LaMontagne aren’t ya? Those horns almost sounded….happy?!? Say it ain’t so! Let’s hit the jump to talk about this new release and more…

Ray LaMontagne – Gossip In The Grain
Ray’s “Jolene” from his debut album remains one of my all-time favorite sad songs – there aren’t many better opening lines than “cocaine flame in my bloodstream” – but the rumor here is that one of our favorite sad sacks has brightened up a bit for his third release. The only way to find out will be to give it a listen…

Lucinda Williams – Little Honey
Love her. Will buy anything she releases. She may never again reach the heights of Car Wheels On A Gravel Road, but I’m always going to listen to her try. It’s nice that she’s releasing material with a little more frequency these days, even if it doesn’t mean getting perfection every time.

Keane – Perfect Symmetry
For a band that I’ve always found fairly innocuous and bland, this album seems to have some positive buzz. It’s going to take some convincing though before I throw down the hard earned cash. However, as always, your opinions can sway me one way or the other.

Nikka Costa – Pebble To A Pearl
Back in the proverbial day, Everybody Got Their Something was one of the jams of the old record shop (if I can count my years in mall music retail as a record shop—I chose to). I’ll definitely be giving this one a listen in hopes that it gets my big ass shaking like the aforementioned album’s title track did. 

New releases are also coming your way from Carlos Santana, Todd Snider, and country favorite Kenny Chesney. Let’s talk about it in the comments…

Comments»

1. Matt_T - Tuesday, October 14, 2008

One of the songs on Ray’s new album is “Meg White.” And its exactly what you think it would be about.

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Yay Lucinda Williams. I suppose I’ll probably check out Ray LaMontagne’s album too because I as well am quite fond of “Jolene.”

One we missed last week: Department of Eagles. It’s kind of a side project for Daniel from Grizzly Bear. It’s a fantastic folky-pop album that’ll probably wind up somewhere on my best of ’08 list. Complex, beautiful and pretty accessible. If you’re a fan of Grizzly Bear, Fleet Foxes, or Animal Collective I suggest you check it out.

3. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, October 14, 2008

I’ve been intrigued by Department of Eagles – it was recommended for me on eMusic and I just haven’t taken the time to check it out yet. I’ll definitely give the samples a listen and maybe download it later this week.

Also, I read another rave about the Keane album in the Post on my train ride this morning. I may have to see if its on AOL or Spinner and give it a listen.

4. Greek McPapadopoulos - Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Secret Machines new self-titled album came out today as well. I listened to a leak of it some time ago, and was kind of lukewarm to it. I thought Ten Silver Drops wasn’t great, but it had a lot of solid songs, so I was looking forward to this.

5. oliver - Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Grizzly Bear has a new video at My Damn Channel, not bad:

http://www.mydamnchannel.com/PromoSexual/Damn__News/GrizzlyBear_957.aspx


Leave a Reply

