jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – September 23rd, 2008 Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Well, the bad news is that I’m going to be super busy from like 5am to 7pm today keeping an event on track. The good news is that there is a lot worthy of your hard earned dough coming out today.

Wait…I’ve had that dream before. Weird. So, the official crush of the music blogosphere gives us a new album to obsess over and so much more awaits you after the jump aJenny Lewis – Acid Tongue
No words. Should have sent a poet.

Seriously though, Jenny is turning into the musical equivilent of Erin Andrews. She could be the best at what she does and all we’d talk about it how hot she is. Thankfully, Jenny IS both super talented and really, really ridiculously good looking. Rabbit Fur Coat was one of my favorites of ’06 and I can’t wait to get my grubby mitts on this one.

TV on the Radio – Weird Dear Science,
Again, another critical favorite of 2006 returns with a brand new set. I dug Return to Cookie Mountain enough based on title along. And I fully admit that it took “Wolf Like Me” to turn me on to these guys. I look forward to giving this one a solid listen as I spend eight hours getting out of town on vacation on Thursday morn. 

(Oh yeah, I’m finally taking a vacation. Hooray me.)

Kings of Leon – Only By The Night
FYI – I’ll be spending a lot of today working with a dude named Leon. Coincidence? I think so. Anyhoo, The brothers Followill have produced their fair share of songs that I’ve enjoyed over the past several years, but I’ve never followed through by picking up one of their albums. Tell me kids, should I make this one the one?

Cold War Kids – Loyalty to Loyalty
Swear to Gord, it is 2006 Bloggerpalooza up in this release week. I loved Robbers & Cowards and see no reason, based on the one song that I’ve heard, that I wil not love this one as well. My God, we’ve needed a week like this badly.

So, we got all of that going for us this week. And that’s really just the tip of the old iceberg. Let’s talk in the comments, eh comrade?

Comments»

1. Matt_T - Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Dear Best Buy,
Plz have these in stock.
Thanks.

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, September 23, 2008

oh happy day, oh happy day!

can’t talk. too much music to listen to. will be back later.

3. DougOLis - Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Does that video imply we should be expecting a Jenny Gibbard super baby soon?

4. Matt_T - Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Well 3/4 were at Best Buy, “we were supposed to get the Jenny Lewis but it wasn’t in our shipment”

BAH

5. DougOLis - Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Apparently Mogwai has a new album out too. Good lord. Why the fuck do all albums have to come out on one day?


Leave a Reply

