jump to navigation

Confection Corner: TIME’s 10 Songs of Summer Friday, September 19, 2008

Posted by Andy Hutchins in Confection Corner, Rockabye.
trackback

True story: I took my family’s copy of Time on my trip up to school because I felt it was important enough to read right then and not later online.

I, like Maura, was disappointed. Josh Tyrangiel usually isn’t a terrible writer; it’s the magazine’s attempt to put some EW in its approach to pop culture that always strains this exercise in summer soul-searching when late August rolls around.

So, the list:

1. Kid Rock – “All Summer Long”
2. Rihanna – “Disturbia”
3. Usher – “Love in This Club”
4. Estelle – “American Boy”
5. T.I. – “No Matter What”
6. Leona Lewis – “Bleeding Love”
7. Lil Wayne – “A Milli”
8. Pussycat Dolls – “When I Grow Up”
9. Coldplay – “Viva La Vida”
10. Katy Perry – “I Kissed a Girl”

And the qualms.

“All Summer Long,” on top? I’m not sure in the digital era we’re allowed to do that to a song everyone has to pirate to get the real deal, but there’s nothing terrible about the song; it bites from the best and crystallizes summer by, uh, being about summer.

I love “Disturbia,” but it’s fallen a little in my eyes since that awful VMA performance.

“Bleeding Love,” I wrote about in April; it’s too early a riser to still be around on best-of lists for summer. “Love in This Club” came in too early for that high a ranking, too.

“American Boy” and “No Matter What” are great, and they’re in good spots. “Viva la Vida” is underrated here, and, for once, so is “A Milli.”

“When I Grow Up” being on a list like this when we could be destroyed by the Large Hadron Collider is a crime against humanity.

And “I Kissed a Girl” has to be on a list like this. But #10 just seems wrong.

My Top Ten Songs of Summer ’08? You’ll have to wait for The Quarter Pole.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

