jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – September 16th, 2008 Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Well, we are back to being underwhelmed (if that’s a word/I know it’s not cause I looked it up) by this week of new releases…

HOOTIE Darius Rucker gives us his country side, but what else? Let us jump

Darius Rucker – Learn To Live
How bizarre is it to you that the dude from Hootie has the #3 country song in the land? Now think back to Cracked Rear View. Yeah, it’s not really THAT much of a stretch. I’m actually kinda curious to hear this whole thing. I’ve got a soft spot for the Hooties and, truthfully, his prior solo cd was better than it was given credit for.

Lindsey Buckinham – Gift of Screws
The erstwhile Fleetwood Mac-er delivers a new solo disc. I’ll probably enjoy the songs that I’ll hear on XM Cafe, but I’ll never drop the coin to make it my own. Just being honest here.

Jem – Down To Earth
Jem’s last album, Finally Woken, was pretty solid throughout and was a modest success at both radio and retail. So how come I haven’t heard a damn thing off of this and didn’t even know it was coming out until I did my weekly release chart stalking? BAD PROMOTIONAL MANAGER! BAD!

James – Hey Ma
[scene – an American rock club]
James: We’re going to play you something off of our new album….
American crowd:”PLAY ‘LAID’!!!!”
Your author finds James to be a fine band and wishes more people knew of them outside of “laid” – I have just met very few people who do.

Marc Broussard – Keep Coming Back
About 6 years ago I saw Marc Broussard open for Matt Nathanson at some bar in Chicago. Expecting very little, I was pretty impressed by Broussard’s set. I keep giving him more chances, but he’s yet to produce a studio album that wins me over like he did that night. Here’s hoping his promise is finally fulfilled this time around.

So, whaddaya know, it’s actually a good week after all. They almost always are. Let’s discuss further, shall we?

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

At least Darius’ turn at country sounds a lot better than Jessica Simpson’s

I would this week more of “not a bad week” than “a good week.” I reserve “good week” for next week. Actually, that’s more like “fantastic week.”

2. Matt_T - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Also out today, new Rock Band

3. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Next week?

Jackson Browne, David Gilmour, Bette Midler….

4. DougOLis - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

next week (unless I’m off, then nevermind):
TV on the Radio
Jenny Lewis

5. Matt_T - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Also next week, Kings of Leon

6. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

you kids are no fun with your serious reactions and whatnot

7. Matt_T - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Wait, Bette Midler wasn’t serious?

8. DougOLis - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

my bad

9. Rockabye - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Underwhelming is a word.

10. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

*ahem*

11. Matt_T - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Grizzly Adams DID have a beard.

12. Greek McPapadopoulos - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Cold War Kids are also next week. I liked their debut, even if it was very much like a lost Walkmen record.

13. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

I didn’t see Cold War Kids (admittedly I wasn’t looking to hard just yet) but I also rather enjoyed Robbers & Cowards. I’m curious to hear that as well.

Looks like musical blogegeddeon next week with all these hipster releases.

14. DougOLis - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Speaking of Cold War Kids and TV on the Radio, I’ll be seeing both this weekend at Street Scene. Anyone got any recs of must see bands for me?
http://www.street-scene.com/lineup_schedule.html

15. Matt_T - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

The Whigs on Sat, they’re opening for the Kings of Leon on their upcoming tour.

And The Eagles of Death Metal were a blast when I saw them.

16. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Ghostland Observatory were pretty amusing when I saw them on ACL. Maybe check them out.

17. Candice - Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Ghostland Observatory have a great live show definatey check them out

http://www.ghostlandobservatory.net

18. Rockabye - Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Sweet Jesus, is this an Idol post?

19. Greek McPapadopoulos - Wednesday, September 17, 2008

The Hives always put on a great show.


Leave a Reply

