jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – September 9th, 2008 Tuesday, September 9, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Well, the good news is that after having to travel the past two weeks, I should be back in town for the next couple.  So, there shouldn’t be any missing posts for at least the next two weeks…when I go on vacation at the end of the month. However, that’s all besides the point. What matters is that we return to the land of New Music Tuesday.


MEEEETAAAAAALLLLLLL!!!!!

Ok, it’s just Metallica. But that’s still a pretty big release, no?

Metallica – Death Magnetic
I really have no opinion on this. I’m about the least metal dude you’ll ever meet. Like most dudes in their late 20s/early 30s, I have an appreciation for that streak of mainstream Metallica that started with The Black Album. I’ve seen Metallica live once and it was pretty freaking…uh…loud. Actually, it was pretty awesome and I can admit it. That said, outside of hearing them on the radio occasionally, I can take or leave them most days of the week. However, if someone can sell me on this being awesome and rocking my damn face off…..

Mitch Hedberg – Do You Believe In Gosh?
The late, great Mitch Hedberg provides us with 40 minutes of new material recorded shortly before his death. Now this is something I can get behind.

Jessica Simpson – Do You Know?
This is not a follow up question to the album above.

Okkervil River – The Stand Ins
This is a week that just keeps on giving. The follow-up to last years scrumtrulescent The Stage Names. It’s technically part two to that stunning album. I heart you Will Sheff.

It looks like we’ve got ourselves a pretty solid week there, friends. Especially since, as always, I’m leaving shit off because I feel like it. Let’s discuss in the commentary part of this here web log.

Comments»

1. Camp Tiger Claw - Tuesday, September 9, 2008

Like most dudes in their late 20s/early 30s, I have an appreciation for that streak of mainstream Metallica that started with The Black Album.

You’re wearing that sentence backwards.

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, September 9, 2008

So is Metallica going to be on iTunes?

Hells yes to Okkervil River. Can’t wait to see them in a couple of weeks.

3. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, September 9, 2008

No one comes here expecting me to make sense, CTC.


Leave a Reply

