jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – August 19th, 2008 Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Hey, it’s not such a bad week this go around!


Ok, so that’s not new – but the Dandies have a new one out this week. The usual rundown, after the jump…

Dandy Warhols – Earth To The Dandy Warhols
I’m very hot and cold with the Dandy Warhols. There are moments when I think they could be one of my favorites followed by stretches of songs that I really don’t need to hear again. So, I’m hoping to actually hear something off of this before I take the plunge and pick it up.

Glen Campbell – Meet Glen Campbell
This is one of the more intriguing releases we’ve come across in a while. It’s a good old fashioned, long-forgotten by the mainstream, old guy career artist comeback attempt. Covers of songs from the Foo Fighters, Travis, Tom Petty, Green Day, U2, etc etc could make for a pretty interesting Cash-like return. Glen still has a smooth voice and I’ve liked what I’ve heard thus far.

The Academy Is… – Fast Times At Barrington High
The emos are taking over and there’s plenty of fan-fic out there to prove it…

And new releases from Staind, Schwayze, Taylor Hicks, and countless others that I will try my best to avoid as well…

Comments»

1. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, August 19, 2008

And one update since I wrote this – Bloc Party is releasing their new album for download only on Thursday. The physical release is in late October, but if you go to the Bloc Party web site you can pre-order and receive the digital version on the 21st.

This is good news as Bloc Party makes me a happy boy.

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Veronica Mars?

3. Greek McPapadopoulos - Tuesday, August 19, 2008

You forgot the latest from The Walkmen. That’s ok, a lot of other people probably didn’t know about it either, but I’m sure as hell picking it up.

I’m a big fan of the Dandys, despite a lot of the hate that they get from critics and some fans, but Odditorium left kind of a bitter taste in my mouth. It’s not a terrible record, but I never want to listen to it. Still, I love their live show (they always show great love to the local audience), and I’ll pick it up as well.

And I am excited about the Bloc Party news as well. I may be the only fan of A Weekend In The City (and this is coming from a person who thinks Silent Alarm will be considered an all-time great), so hopefully the new stuff is good. I’ve heard “Mercury” and “Flux”, and those seem to be quite the change in direction.

4. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, August 19, 2008

I have Everyone Who Pretended To Like Me Is Gone buried somewhere on my iPod (probably in the W’s…). I’ll have to check out the new one on the ol’ eMusic.

5. Greek McPapadopoulos - Tuesday, August 19, 2008

I recommend picking up Bows & Arrows to get into the Walkmen. Actually, just listening to “The Rat” should get you excited:

6. DougOLis - Wednesday, August 20, 2008

I’ll probably be picking up You & Me at some point. And yes, Bows & Arrows is fantastic.

I too like A Weekend In The City Greek.


Leave a Reply

