jump to navigation

1520 Sedgwick Avenue: August 7th, 2008 Thursday, August 7, 2008

Posted by Andy Hutchins in 1520 Sedgwick Avenue, Rockabye.
trackback

The Rockette’s birthday was yesterday. I got a present this morning.

It’s a Kanye beat, almost certainly from The Blueprint 3. And it’s hot.

Props to illRoots for YouTubing it. Quick hits after the jump.

Maura from Idolator stopped by yesterday to take issue to a comment I made. I said it there, but I’ll say it here: I read what she wrote wrong, and misremembered it. Mea culpa. And “Paper Planes,” which I didn’t hear in 2007 and would end up on a list of the 100 best songs of the decade if I was writing it today, is great, something we both agree on.

The song above is less about lyrics (though they seem to be inspired by Jay’s own inspired Glastonbury performance) and more about feel; it reminds me of “Dirt Off Your Shoulder,” the “Wake Up” freestyle Jay did, and the forgettable “Show Me What You Got,” sort of a sneering condemnation and laughing boast in one, backed up by a thumping beat that sounds like a hit.

As I wrote at Idolator: “So, yeah, I’m officially excited for this album. Jay winking at “Wonderwall,” still pissed, and restoring order to the world as the best pop-rapper possible over weird little tremolo flutes and stomping drums? Do want.”

And if you want the lyrics, here:

That bloke from Oasis said I couldn’t play at the top
Somebody shoulda told him I’m a fucking rock star
Today, is gonna be the day that I’m gonna throw it back to you
I’m living life like a rocker, I’m like Pimp C, partner
Comin’ down in Mercedes, peelin’ off on the coppers
Worldwide Shawn comin’ down in the chopper
Hundred eighty thousand screaming Hov with the rock up
Ask Jeezy: I got girls on shoulders, showin’ me they chi-chis
Girls in the front row twirlin’ they hair
They wanna sample Hov like a girl Premier
I’m like, life ain’t fair
Chill, baby girl, my girl is here
Got ladies in the mosh pit
Dancing off-beat but they know the words to my shit

Saw Pineapple Express last night, and you may get my first movie review for DeadOn in some form on Friday or Monday; it’s also very possible that it’ll appear on the same day as a review of Untitled.

Is there anything you’d like me to listen to, write about, or review? Hit me at ahutchins@ufl.edu.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Friday, August 8, 2008

I got a present this morning.

Ahh, yeah, sounds like Business Time

2. Rockabye - Friday, August 8, 2008

Actually, no, not that; I meant the song.

And, true story: Business Time was the last song cut from the birthday mix I made her. (She’s not an FotC fan.)


Leave a Reply

