jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – August 5th, 2008 Tuesday, August 5, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

It’s another slowish week in the world of new releases. The dog days of August indeed…

And it kinda fits in with the theme of the week since I saw Brazilian Girls at V-Fest two summers ago. After the jump, your emo dreamboat and the rest of the releases…

Conor Oberst – Self-Titled
Yeah, I’m probably going to go pick this up. Then I might go cry and do some light cutting. I can admit it. Except for the cutting. STOP MAKING FUN OF ME!!!11!!!1!

Brazilian Girls – New York City
Did you enjoy the above song? Have some fun with that? Are you a multi-cultural world-music embracing hipster? Yes? Then get thee to the record shop!

Lewis Black – Anticipation
I’M GOING TO YELL AT YOU! WHY AM I STILL YELLING? HOW DO I STOP?!?!?

As always, let’s discuss…

Comments»

1. mingusmonk - Tuesday, August 5, 2008

I listened to Conor Oberst a few weeks ago. It’s neither annoying nor pretentious. But it’s not that compelling either. Just a little beach music.

It should be noted that Randy Newman’s Harps and Angels is out this week.

It should also be noted that I took my eldest to Warped Tour last Thursday and I survived.

Highpoint of the event – MC Chris
Lowpoint of the event – Katy Perry

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, August 5, 2008

Carla Bruni (the model turned singer/songwriter turned French First Lady) has a new album out today stateside called Comme Si de Rien N’Etait. The reviews I’ve seen from International papers have been solid but not quite up to her fantastic folksy debut Quelqu’un m’a dit. Still, I’ll probably check it out and I have hopes.

Cassadaga was the first Bright Eyes album I really liked so I’ll be giving Conor’s debut a listen.

3. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, August 5, 2008

I had a Carla Bruni video cued up for this morning, but opted against it for some reason. And then I left her out of the list too somehow.

4. Rockabye - Tuesday, August 5, 2008
5. DougOLis - Tuesday, August 5, 2008

Rockabye -it took all of 1 second to sound exactly like what I expected and 15 seconds for me to close that tab.


Leave a Reply

