jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – July 22nd, 2008 Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in Bring On The Rapture, jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Well, unless you have a secret thing for Miley Cyrus (the police aren’t coming yet…) it is a pretty meh week for new releases. Oh, wait – you’ve heard me say that before right? The hipsters are happy though, cause Black Kids’ album is finally coming out…

It’s like American Apparel has a house band. And if you aren’t a hipster douchebag…Well, there’s always 90s nostalgia…

It’s a motherflippin’ Candlebox comeback. There’s your rapture.

Miley Cyrus – Breakout
She’s just being Miley. I keep hearing that “7 Things” when I put on the Top 40 station. It’s not terrible. But it’s not good. It’s not gonna insidiously earworm me like the aforementioned previous single.

Candlebox – Into The Sun
The first single “Stand” appears to be getting some radio play. Then again, it also sounds just like “You” from a decade or so ago, so maybe programmers are just getting confused.

Also this week, the physical release of Nine Inch Nail’s The Slip – which most of you probably downloaded for free from nin.com many many weeks ago. There are three U2 re-issues this week as well – October, War, and Boy. All three are 2 disc sets, remastered with a bunch of b-sides and live tracks. I may be tempted to pick them up.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, July 22, 2008

That video is like an ode to hipsters. I vomitted a little in my mouth watching that. Black Keys > Black Kids

2. rumbagod - Tuesday, July 22, 2008

you’re a friggin moron if you think Stand is anything even close to You. did you bother to even listen to the track at all? or are you part of the same jerkoff reviewers that think Candlebox was grunge back in the 90’s? give it another listen and when i say listen, i mean “listen” ya twit.

3. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, July 22, 2008

GET A BRAIN, MORAN

Pardon me for not clarifying this, but the INTRO to “stand” does bear similarity to the INTRO to “you”. Yes, the songs are different.

I have no beef with the Candlebox and our affinity for the 90s is well documented here. And it’s awesome to finally be called a “jerkoff reviewer”. I consider myself more of an asshat.

4. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, July 22, 2008

And Doug – as much as it pains me, I have to give credit to the ‘fork for a well-played Black Kids review.

It’s no monkey pissing in his mouth, though.

5. Camp Tiger Claw - Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Hahaha. Jerkwheat falls prey to the cabal of Candlebox trolls. Go find any page with some Candlebox snark and they come out in the comments in full force. It’s a strange phenomenon.

All that being said, I used to rock the shit out of my s/t tape.

6. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, July 22, 2008

As did I, CTC. I googled quickly after I saw that comment and realized what was going on. Good on Candlebox for still having dedicated fans after all these years, I suppose. Bizarro.

7. Rockabye - Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Go read Sedgwick. Read it and comment, dammit. And yesterday’s, too.

8. Rockabye - Tuesday, July 22, 2008

I want to kill kittens after that song/video. The only way that works is if it’s ironic. And it’s not.

9. DougOLis - Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Pitchfork definitely deserves a big +1 for that Black Kids review. Are they coming back around?


Leave a Reply

