jump to navigation

Your Farewell Rock – June 27th, 2008 Friday, June 27, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

So, this is the obligatory post in the blogworld in which we bid farewell to Will Leitch. Obviously, we at DeadOn have every reason in the world to be thankful to Will. Both DeadOn and Ladies… were both born of Deadspin, and not just Deadspin, but of DU!AN. And on the same night at that. I don’t do long, eloquent anythings well – so I’m not going to try here. All I’m gonna say is this: Thank you, Will. Thank you for providing a web site where we could all gather with other smart asses who don’t really want to perform our jobs from 9-5. Thank you for providing the place where we’ve met great new friends, both online and in the real world. Thank you for all of your work over the past few years. I’ll be sure to set up a “Will Leitch” Google Alert now, because God knows I’m not about to start reading New York Magazine. God speed you, Midwestern Blog Emperor.

Comments»

1. JB* - Friday, June 27, 2008

/pours a forty

2. DougOLis - Friday, June 27, 2008

Oh man, for a second there I thought you were leaving too. Way to scare the shit out of me Jerkwheat.

This one goes out to Will.

3. JB* - Friday, June 27, 2008

I find it interesting that the pop-up screen when you mouse over Doug’s link suggests similar searches for “The Misfits”, “Leitch”, “YouTube”… and “Ron Paul”

4. mingusmonk - Friday, June 27, 2008

Nirvana was too cliché?

5. Jerkwheat - Friday, June 27, 2008

I have a deep-seeded dislike for Nirvana. Plus I’m all about matching sweaters and fancy jorts.

6. mingusmonk - Friday, June 27, 2008

“I have a deep-seeded dislike for Nirvana”

Damn! I am not alone in this world!

Apologies. It’s not often that somebody my age runs into somebody of equal or lesser age that dislikes Nirvana. God bless you, you brave soul.

7. Jerkwheat - Friday, June 27, 2008

Well, I think it’s pretty much established that I’m a very jangly, power-pop driven person in terms of my music tastes. My early 90s adolescence and teenage experience was more defined by (pardon the pun) New Miserable Experience than Nevermind or In Utero.

I appreciate the influence they had and their impact on a lot of people. I’m just never going to wake up in the mood to listen to them.

8. DougOLis - Friday, June 27, 2008

here here. I myself don’t get the Nirvana mania either. They’re pretty good but I just don’t care for them that much; I’ll often switch away from them (or their grunge brothers) when a song comes on the radio (which happens quite a bit for being like 15 years later). I have always wondered how much of their legacy was built and lasts from Kurt’s suicide. Would they be so fondly remembered if they had petered out like so many bands?


Leave a Reply

