jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – June 24th, 2008 Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

I’m not going to bullshit you. The next several weeks are absolutely godawful in terms of new releases worth giving a flying monkey’s poo about. But, as always, I’ll try to find reason to help you keep on keeping on…

New Alejandro Escovedo this week, so we got that going for us…

Alejandro Escovedo – Real Animal
Alejandro’s gone through a few musical styles in his career, I’ll always associate him as an “alt-country” kinda guy, cause that’s how I got into him. But really, that genre is kinda limiting in name, no?

Motley Crue – Saints of Los Angeles
Fuck it, I’m ignoring your punctuation. Much like how I’ll be ignoring this release.

Sigur Ros – Words That Nobody Can Pronounce
This title is so pretentious that it moved to Portland already and started a band that nobody gets.  Med Sud I Jesus I Can’t Even Finish It. I’m just kidding. I know you cats dig these crazy foreigns. Looking at you, Doug. Lookin’ at you….

Liz Phair – Exile In Guyville Reissue
Flashback to a time when Liz was hip and not just a MILF.

Amos Lee – Last Days At The Lodge
This is what that Sigur Ros album’s band listens to when it just wants to, you know, chill out.

Comments»

1. apostles03 - Tuesday, June 24, 2008

I just saw him on Sunday at the Pittsburgh Arts Festival! Outstanding show! The funnel cakes were good, too.

2. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, June 24, 2008

FYI for my fellow Jenny Lewis fiends – her solo album compatriots, The Watson Twins, have their album out today too

3. DougOLis - Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Yep, so I’m the resident Sigur Rós fanboi around here and am happy to report back that I finally got their download thing working last week. I had high expectations for Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust (translated: “With A Buzz In Our Ears We Play Endlessly” – fantastically pretentious name) coming in based off the lead single Gobbledigook and the change in style it seemed to usher. “Gobbledigook” leads the album in a fantastic way and the 2nd song “Inní mér syngur vitleysingur” follows suit as possibly their most upbeat song and at that point I was expecting new and huge things, but from there things tend to mellow out and become more like typical Sigur Rós as the album progresses. The tracks that follow are beautiful as always (and still slightly more upbeat) but for the most part are largely forgettable. That’s not to say the songs are boring or bad, but as of this writing the 4 songs that stick out to me are the first 2 and the 2 epic tracks “Festival” and “Ára bátur.” “Festival” builds slowly in their typical action until the crescendo hits magnificently; it’s their most similar song to anything off Takk. “Ára bátur” builds even slower over pianos until the last 2 minutes where the boys choir and 90 piece orchestra kick in. The climax is pretty incredible (albeit a bit over the top and short lived) and sounds like it’s been ripped straight from an opera. I’m quite glad that we’re not overburdened with more of those epic songs, but they do a nice job of counterbalancing the shorter upbeat songs.

I’m not sure where this will wind up being in their pantheon for me because my views on all their previous albums have changed over time (I disliked Takk originally), but I’ve listened to it several times over the last few days and enjoyed every minute. While Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust may not have wound up being Sigur Rós doing Animal Collective as “Gobbledigook” implied, it’s still damned good. Odds are that if you never liked Sigur Rós in the first place this album won’t do much for you (other than maybe the first 2 tracks), but I still suggest you check it out anyway.

4. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, June 24, 2008

I tried with Sigur Ros a couple of years ago. A buddy of mine e-mailed me a couple of tracks and I gave them a few listens, but they just never clicked with me. Therefore, I must mock that which I don’t understand.

5. DougOLis - Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Have you heard Gobbledigook?

I should proofread these things before I submit because there some horrible run-on sentences.


Leave a Reply

