jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – June 17th, 2008 Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Is there a big release today? Seems like I’ve heard about one…

Oh yeah…those guys. But what else? JUMP

Coldplay – Viva La Vida
In which the enlist Brian Eno and attempt to make their very own Joshua Tree. Really there isn’t much left to say about this. You’re either aching for it or you aren’t.

And, uh, that’s about it honestly. No one else dared to go up against the English soft-rockers except bands that weren’t really gonna sell much anymore as it is – hence a new Judas Priest release. Hence a new Chicago record. And the Offspring.

Oh, wait – Wolf Parade. Are they cool? I get my lupine bands confused…

Comments»

1. mingusmonk - Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Not exactly “new” but there is a Legacy re-issue of Dennis Wilson’s Pacific Ocean Blue that really is a must grab. He absolutley surprised everyone that would listen when it came out. And the re-issue has lots of stuff that sat on the shelf after this release that was only available on boots.

2. Rockabye - Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Sleeping on Katy Perry, eh? She’s getting some VH1/MTV love now, but she writes very catchy, very biting pop stuff, and her One of the Boys is out today.

And Rihanna’s reissuing her album, and the two good new songs are worth the 75K she’ll sell.

Estimates have Lil Wayne having sold a millie; what’s your guess on Chris Martin and Co.?

3. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Yeah, I tend to side with Maura and the Idolator crew on the Katy Perry business

http://idolator.com/tag/katy-perry/

4. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, June 17, 2008

I think Coldplay has a chance to crack the million in a week mark if only because of the incessant hype and the fact that they are among the few reliable big selling bands that has a very broad fanbase. It’s getting the $9.99 or less treatment at most big box stores too.

5. Rockabye - Tuesday, June 17, 2008

After reading the Idolator stuff (some of which I agree with), it seems like I’m going to have to start the Defend Katy Perry Internet resistance.

Or at least tackle it…it’s not like I have a scheduled long-form recap of music coming up anytime soon.

6. DougOLis - Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Chris Martin’s voice sounded pretty flat and crappy during that performance.

Katy Perry was on Loveline last night and she seemed nice enough but I didn’t really care for the song I heard. Meh

When are we getting our full Lil Wayne review Rockabye? THP (The Hated Pitchfork) gave it a solid review.

Today, I’m mostly excited about the Street Scene lineup that was just announced in San Diego. It’d been kind of lackluster lately (other than Kanye) and moving it out of downtown sucked, but they moved it back this year and it’s an awesome lineup.

7. Greek McPapadopoulos - Tuesday, June 17, 2008

First off, from last week–My Morning Jacket clearly smoked a toooooon of crack before making “Evil Urges”. That being said, it’s still a pretty darn good album, though if it was anyone else I probably wouldn’t have given that album a second listen. I’m also disappointed because I doubt there will be many new converts after listening to the new stuff.

And I’m totally psyched for Wolf Parade. I’ve been obsessed with “Apologies to the Queen Mary” for the past few months, and the buzz behind “At Mount Zoomer” has been deafening. I can’t wait to listen to that one today.

Oh yeah, and I’ll pick up the new Coldplay too. No hopes for it, but we’ll see.

8. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Also, it would appear that the new Hold Steady is available on iTunes only this week. So, uh, I’ll be downloading that tonight.

9. DougOLis - Tuesday, June 17, 2008

I agree with Greek on MMJ. I’m pretty disappointed by it compared to their stuff from the past. It’s gotten better with successive listens but I hoped for more.

If you pre-ordered the new Sigur Ros album you get to download it this week instead of waiting for the official release next week. I haven’t been able to get their store to work so I might be waiting until it actually comes out.


Leave a Reply

