jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock – June 13th, 2008 Friday, June 13, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

I’ve mentioned it before, but one of the perks/nuisances of having a decently trafficked blog with a lot of music content is the frequency with which you are pitched bands that nobody cares about. I try to take the time to check them out when I get sent the link because you get the occasional gem with the junk (see our previous post on This Is Ivy League). Thankfully, we’ve once again been sent a real gem.

The Fairline Parkway are a DC band (huzzah local music!) who have a new album that just came out on The Kora Records called The Memory of Open Spaces. You just enjoyed the video for “Westward Bound”. If you are a DC local, you might be inclined to head over to The Rock and Roll Hotel on Sunday night for their record release party. You can stream a couple songs on the above linked MySpace page and they’re all very lovely little indie pop songs.

Anyhoo, I hope you enjoy the tune and take a deeper dig into this fine band.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Friday, June 13, 2008

Good stuff, I’ll have to check out some more. Kind of reminds me of Joseph Arthur.

2. Jerkwheat - Friday, June 13, 2008

One of the songs on the MySpace gave me a bit of a Postal Service vibe.

3. apostles03 - Friday, June 13, 2008

I thought it was a bit Yornish. Good though.

4. Jerkwheat - Friday, June 13, 2008

Yornish, eh? Man, what happened to Pete – I haven’t seen nor heard him since Nightcrawler came out. I think we saw him open for Guster in summer ’06, but nary a peep since. I rather enjoyed the Yorn.


Leave a Reply

