jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – June 3rd, 2008 Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

So, uh, this happened too…

Rivers and company are the highlight of the week…the best of the rest await you after the jump.

Weezer – The Red Album
In spite of the shitty Pitchfork review, I’m still picking this up on my lunchbreak today. I remain shocked that The Blue Album is now 14 years old and I wonder where the time hath gone. I’m gonna eat my candy with the pork and beans anyway.

Radiohead – The Best Of
Label cash-in. However, it’s worth it as an introduction to the band if you aren’t a big Radiohead fan, and it’s worth it for the 2nd disc of B-sides if you aren’t a Radiohead super-fan.

Jewel – Perfectly Clear
I’m kinda surprised she waited this long to go country, as it seems like a natural fit for her. Country fans (I know there are a few of you) is this getting any radio play?

Yep, it’s not much of a release week. Perhaps the future will hold more…

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, June 3, 2008

That Pitchfork review confused me. The score seemed to be quite a bit lower than what I would have expected from the actual content of the review. Oh well, I don’t care. I’m still going to check it out. You should follow their recommendation of Bonnie “Prince” Billy too. Fantastic album.

Don’t buy Radiohead. Thom would not be happy with you.

2. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Well, noone at Pitchfork seems to actually like Weezer so I’m wondering why they even bother to review them. There’s really nothing indie or whatnot about them, they are an unabashed alt-pop band that gets radio play. Perhaps it’s just cool to bash them since Weezer used to be cool when they were younger or some meta bullshit like that.

And while I admit that “Make Believe” was not a very good record as a whole, they gave it a 0.4? Come now. No matter how grating “Beverly Hills” wound up being, the album was better than a 0.4. It was at least a 2.3, right? So this 4.7 might as well have a “Best New Music” tag on it.

3. mingusmonk - Tuesday, June 3, 2008

2 from last week.

John Hiatt – Same OId Man

Still dishing out the tales of travelled lives and loves. Good stuff. Luther Dickinson lends some heat on guitars and mandolin.

The Smithereens – Live in Concert!

It’s gotten so hard to find Smithereens back catalog anymore. This is a great way to get back into it.

4. Rockabye - Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Who reads/cares about Pitchfork, again? That Radiohead sounds like an almost certain download to me, and I already have The Red Album, snatched last week from somewhere.

I’ve only listened to one song, though.

5. JB* - Tuesday, June 3, 2008

I have not heard Jewel on my radio yet, but I have seen the video on CMT and CMT Pure. I think something off her last album got some play there too.

But then again, my local stations are too enamored of McGraw-Hill-Chesney-Underwood to be a great example.

6. Camp Tiger Claw - Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Dollar for dollar Pitchfork puts on the best festival of the summer. Hands down. So they continue to earn my grudging respect and Chicago gets my tourist dollars every year.

7. DougOLis - Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Pitchfork is good for keeping up on music news and what albums are coming out. Their reviews are a bit elitist and overly indie centric, but they usually provide a decent idea of how albums are.

I tip my hat to Bonnaroo for the best festival this year. Coachella’s normally up there but it was pretty weak this year. Lollapalooza is fantastic this year too. And that new one in SF isn’t too shabby.

8. mingusmonk - Wednesday, June 4, 2008

I’d take Rothbury 1st. Bonanaroo 2nd.

9. Jerkwheat - Wednesday, June 4, 2008

pshaw – Virgin Festival FTW….because it’s close to me and I have tickets. Not for any real merit. Although it does have Chuck Berry…

10. Sandy P - Wednesday, June 4, 2008

I love finding new music… Has anyone else heard of this band from the UK called Kunk?
seems most cool bands are coming from the UK right now. I absolutley love Kunk!!!!!!
what do you think?
check out their myspace!!!

SandyP :)


Leave a Reply

