jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – May 20th, 2008 Tuesday, May 20, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in the balls.
trackback

Ok, so this week doesn’t quite have the big name appear of a Death Cab or the make me very happy appeal of the Old 97s, but it does have this…

Hey look! It’s an actress trying to be a musician! Fancy that! But what else finds the store shelves this morning?

Foxboro Hot Tubs – Stop Drop and Roll
Yeah, it’s a new Green Day album without the name Green Day behind it. Also without the politics behind it. “Mother Mary” has had some traction on the radio, but it seems like this really doesn’t have much hype behind it, in spite of it essentially being THE NEW GREEN DAY ALBUM.

Flobots – Fight With Tools
This has been out for quite a while, but now that “Handlebars” is a big hit, the label has to reissue it at a lower price point to goose sales and save everyones’ jobs.

3 Doors Down – Self-Titled
Slow building verse. Accelerating Bridge. Big Chorus. Slow verse. Big Chorus. Repeat 12 or 13 times with terrible ballads thrown in for good measure.

Scarlett Johansson – Anywhere I Lay My Head
Why exactly is she releasing an album of Tom Waits covers? I mean, I know it’s because Tom Waits is awesome, but it’s not just because she’s famous and hot and can do whatever she wants, right?

Mates of State – Re-Arrange Us
I’m hoping this is available for a good old fashioned online streaming somewhere – I just started really listening to the Mates a couple of years ago and they haven’t quite earned the buying blindly status for me yet. Not without hearing a song or two first.

Carolina Liar – Coming To Terms
We established a couple of weeks ago that I love “I’m Not Over”, so this will likely be a pickup or a download for me this week. I’m interested to hear the rest of it.

So, that’s this week. Not a bad slate of releases, even if lacking in the big seller department. Your thoughts?

Comments»

1. Camp Tiger Claw - Tuesday, May 20, 2008

What do you think of the Old 97s record btw? Still haven’t picked it up.

2. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, May 20, 2008

Honestly, I haven’t had a lot of opportunity to listen to it yet, because my order with it and DCfC didn’t arrive from Newberry until Friday. (damn my want to have an autographed booklet and that Death Cab pint glass…)

Off of a couple of quick listens in the car…it’s better than Drag It Up, but it’s not a throwback to Too Far Too Care by any means and its not as instantly catchy as, say, Fight Songs or Satellite Rides. I’ll do a little review of it this week when I’ve had a better chance to really pay attention to it.

3. mingusmonk - Tuesday, May 20, 2008

I’m a little on the angry side lately. So no room for DCFC. I’m going with Mudhoney – Lucky Ones.

4. mingusmonk - Tuesday, May 20, 2008

I swear I’m angry. In spite of that spritely little flowering purple avatar that WordPress has decided to randomly assign my posts.

GRRRRR

5. Rockabye - Tuesday, May 20, 2008

MM: WordPress does that for a lot of blank avatars, I think; I know I just saw the same image for the avatar-less CNN Political Ticker, the biggest WordPress blog there is, today.

Zooey Deschanel is not amused by this Scarlett Johansson crap. Hell, Miley Cyrus is not amused by this crap.

Oh, and this New Music List thing seems to be missing a certain Southern rapper’s sequel album that comes out today.

I wonder where you could, maybe, learn something about that…around 1 PM…

6. DougOLis - Tuesday, May 20, 2008

I’ll definitely be checking out Stop Drop and Roll; not saying I’ll necessarily like it, but it warrants a listen. It is weird how little press it’s been getting for being essentially a new Green Day album. I’m hoping to see them next week when they’re here but tickets are probably going to be a bitch to get.

I really don’t know what to think about the new ScarJo album. I like her and I like Tom Waits, but I feel pretty lukewarm about what I’ve heard. It may be something nice to fall asleep to.

Carolina Liar definitely deserves a try too.

3 Doors Down is still around?

re the WordPress avatars: each one is unique to each commenter (like a snow flake) and they carry it across all WordPress blogs

7. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, May 20, 2008

I gave the Carolina Liar album a spin on AOL and, uh, it’s pretty damn catchy all the way around. Which I would expect from something that features production which came from Max Martin and a singer who interned for Diane Warren. It’s the most evil alt-pop album ever and I think I love it.


Leave a Reply

