jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – May 13th, 2008 Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

It’s one of the better release dates you’ll come across this year…

We’ll get a little bit emo and a little twangy…after the jump!

Old 97s – Blame It On Gravity
Woooooo!!! My love for this band of Texans is well established in these parts and this album, from the early press, has the makings of a great one. It’s likely this would be all I’d listen to for the next several week if it wasn’t for…

Death Cab for Cutie – Narrow Stairs
I admit it. I enjoy the Death Cab. Like many others, somewhere right after the release of Transatlanticism I became a fan. So, this is likely to alternate in and out with the 97s for me for the next several weeks.

Jason Mraz – We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things.
I have very mixed feelings regarding the work of Mr. Mraz. I enjoy songs like “Sleeping to Dream” and “On Love, In Sadness”. But, I also find a lot of his songs to be fairly derivative acoustic pap. So, I’ll likely give this one a couple of listens online, but I doubt I’ll drop my 10 bucks on it.

Filter – Anthems for the Damned
I thought these guys were broken up, no?

Local H – 12 Angry Months
An album of break-up songs for every month in year. Glorious.

Pretty solid week right there gang. Huzzah!

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, May 13, 2008

I should probably be ashamed to admit this, but I learned of Death Cab early in season 1 of The O.C. when they’re driving to Tijuana. That must have been The Photo Album era. Actually, I learned about quite a bit of new music from that show. Sad, but true.

Anywho, I have high hopes for this but I don’t really care for “I Will Possess Your Heart.” Musically it’s a pretty cool track but lyrically it doesn’t do anything for me. [sidenote: when in the fuck is a new Postal Service album coming out]

New Old 97s? Hmmm, interesting

2. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, May 13, 2008

You know, upon further review, I think I have the O.C. to blame for my Death Cabbyness as well. Was that “Photo Album” era? Has it been so long since I was welcomed to the OC, bitch?

I’m about 3 tracks into the DCfC disc right now and I’m finding it enjoyable thus far. No report on the 97s until Newbury delivers my copy in the next day or so…

AOL Music seems to have improved the streaming quality of their new releases listening party, btw.

3. mingusmonk - Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Solid week.

An addition, there’s T Bone Burnett – Tooth of Crime (with Marc Ribot, Jim Keltner at the core).

4. DougOLis - Tuesday, May 13, 2008

The O.C. started in August of 2003 and Transatlanticism came out October 7th, 2003 according to wikipedia. The first song they played was “A Movie Script Ending” off The Photo Album though, so I guess probably listened to that briefly before Transatlanticism exploded. It was all around the same time.


Leave a Reply

