jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – April 22nd, 2008 Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Hey, it’s Tuesday and I’m not going to leave you hanging again. This week brings us a few tasty morsels – including this long awaited gem….

The Conchords album is finally here! Hurrah! But, what else? TO THE JUMP!!

Flight of the Conchords – Self-Titled
Bret and Jemaine reach out record stores at long last! (If you ignore that little EP from a few months back) If the Borders next door to my office doesn’t have this in stock this morning…well, I prefer not to think about it just yet. Did any of you manage tickets to the tour? I got caught in the meeting and missed the on-sale and both shows in DC were sold out by the time I got back to my desk. Such is life.

Elbow – The Seldom Seen Kid
This is one of those bands that I’ve always felt I should have paid more attention to. I’ve generally always liked what I’ve heard, but have just never been motivated enough to dig deep into their catalog. Surely one of you are more familiar with Elbow than I…thoughts on this one?

Atmosphere – When Life Give You Lemons, You Paint That Shit Gold
An early front-runner for my favorite title of the year. Again, this is another case where I’ve never really got that into the music but I know plenty of you will be all over this one.

Whitesnake – Good To Be Bad
Seriously. It’s fucking Whitesnake with a new album. David Coverdale included. Tawny Kitaen, not so much. I can only hope they aren’t trying to be all “modern” or “relevant” and just make some good old fashioned butt rock.

Ashlee Simpson – Fuck You If You Are Actually Buying This And Aren’t A 14 Year Old Girl

Let’s talk in the comments.

Comments»

1. Rockabye - Tuesday, April 22, 2008

I think the Ashlee Simpson is actually called I’m Pregnant, And My Daddy Is The Daddy.

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Woohoo, Flight of the Conchords! Is anything new off the album or is it all stuff we’ve heard via previous album, the show, or youtube?

I suppose I may be the resident Elbow fan and I’ve been looking forward to this one since I heard it was coming out around the time it came out in the UK. I absolutely loved Cast of Thousands and like Leaders of the Free World quite a lot, so I definitely have hopes for this one. The songs I have heard have been fantastic, and I’ll report back later on what I think.

I thought when life gives you lemons you’re supposed to say, “Fuck the lemons,” and bail.

3. The Bad One - Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Woo, Conchords!

When life gives you lemons, you clone those lemons and make super lemons.

4. DougOLis - Tuesday, April 22, 2008

re Flight of the Conchords tickets: They aren’t coming here so I tried to get tickets to the LA show, but they went on sale at the exact same time as Radiohead. I chose Radiohead first and FotC was sold out by the time I went back around. Now tickets are selling for a ridiculous price through the usual avenues.

5. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Just picked up the Conchords one my lunch break and it is making my day infinitely better. It would appear to all be songs you’ve heard either from the show or the comedy special – but it’s so worth having studio versions.

Also – Friday Night Lights Season Two DVD came out today – PICK IT UP


Leave a Reply

