jump to navigation

Urban HIMYMs: “The Chain of Screaming” — My throat hurts Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Posted by Yostal in Gen X&Y, How I Met Your Mother, Television, The Bad One, Things too long to read, TV, TV shows, Urban HIMYMs, Yostal.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Urban HIMYMs logo

Ladies and gentlemen, welcome back to my season’s worth of recaps for How I Met Your Mother. Welcome, once more, to Urban HIMYMs.

So here’s the deal:

1). I’m not feeling well.  My throat is killing me over here.
2). I went to the Tigers game last night, cutting into my recap time
3). I have excellent commenters who will provide fodder for me and back me up.
4). I’m gonna admit, this episode was not among my favorites.

So, with all of that in mind, I am going to just do the ten things I learned from this episode, sort of a great chain of being, or screaming, or something

And away we go…

1). Marshall, like most first year associates at a huge firm, hates his job.  He handles it a little more like a Millenial than the Gen Xer he is though.
2). Horny Lily is funny Lily.  Lily in a business suit makes her look like Gogo Yubari.
3). Despite her Canadian upbringing, Robin remains the gang’s biggest proponent of the Second Amendment.
4). The more insight we get into Barney’s job, the funnier the little clues are.  “Our friends, the North Koreans, were VERY ANGRY with us.”
5). I couldn’t watch the scene in the car in Act III largely because I was, like Ted, deathly worried about his interior.  Because well, that’s who I am.
6). Robin still needs more to do.
7). Marshall’s heart versus wallet fight should have been more interesting, but it just seemed like we were rehashing so much old territory.  There’s a wonderful notion of recurrents, but at some point, you need to move forward, not replay your greatest hits.
8). Marshall’s litany of screaming at Barney was very funny, in part because we hit every one of Barney’s self-delusions.  And yet, it doesn’t seem to phase him.  It’s as if Barney is comfortable with his own self delusion.
9). Ted’s poorly designed extemporaneous speech about human dignity and the like was so very Ted.  Conceptually brilliant but completely biffed in execution.
10). Ted’s dating Stella.  So that’s something.

So gang, please, take it away in the comments, forgive my short form version this week, and remember, it’s hard to bring the funny when that which you were hoping would be the funny isn’t working.

Once again, I’d like to thank my pal Geoff (aka The Bad One) for his witty and insightful comments as I worked on this. And Jennifer (aka The Yostess) for putting up with me doing this.

So, that’s all I have for this week’s edition of Urban HIMYMs. With that, this is Yostal reminding you to just chill, ‘til the next episode.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Wednesday, April 16, 2008

I too was quite worried and frustrated while they were sitting in Ted’s car. I actually yelled at the TV, “bitch, get the fuck out of the car.” I felt ashamed but I’m glad you’re the same way.

Robin asking, “is boy the right word?” after Marshall saying he cried was pretty spot on and hilarious.

I was kind of creeped out by Lily’s, “you hittin’ that,” to Ted after he gets off the phone with Marshall. Not because it was Marshall, but more of the way she said it.

What’s a Millenial vs. a Gen Xer?

If you’re wanting more Robin, just wait for the new Robin Sparkles episode.

2. JB* - Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Did I just see what I wanted to, and think there was something awkward between Robin/Barney in the bar (during the Chain/Circle of Screaming rant), or was there actually something?

It had a “we slept together, but we’re not acknowledging it in front of these people” thing…

3. Yostal - Wednesday, April 16, 2008

There’s no set definitions, and I find them to be very fluid, but post 1963 is the end of the Baby Boom, and the start of Generation X. That runs to about 1980, but I’ve seen 1975-1983 in that range before “Generation Y” or “The Millenials start to show up. Falling right in between, I consider myself Gen X&Y, which I guess Marshall would as well, as he’s also a 1978 birth.

The key is that GenXers purportedly retain more of the classic American spirit of independence in the work place without the constant need for reassurance and validation that seems to plague Millenials, a result, some feel of helicopter parenting. Marshall’s reaction, in my mind, was not suck it up and take it, it’s part and parcel, but more like “You don’t get to yell at me, I’m a unique snowflake, darn it!”

JB, I shall go to the “videotape”.

4. JB* - Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Yost –

That is a very apt description. I have had some handouts/discussions/teaching as part of recruiting I do on college campuses for the Company.

We have been instructed to stress the “soft” upsides of the Company – the counseling, tutoring, mentoring programs – to Gen Y for those very reasons. They are purportedly the start of a generation of not keeping score in YMCA leagues, of everyone getting a trophy and making the team, of everyone being included.

5. DougOLis - Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Ahh, ok, I had only heard it called Gen Y and never Millenial before; that threw me off a bit.

Marshall’s reaction, in my mind, was not suck it up and take it, it’s part and parcel, but more like “You don’t get to yell at me, I’m a unique snowflake, darn it!”

– isn’t that more Gen X than Gen Y? Aren’t Gen Xers more independent?

6. Yostal - Thursday, April 17, 2008

DougOLis,

Not disagreeing, but the general consensus is that GenX independence was won from parents who knew when to cut the cord and let the kids come back to them in a blend of independence and the importance of family.

The consensus seems to be that GenYs tend to be in constant contact with their parents (I know college kids who call their parents a minimum of once a day, not counting IMs or text messages.) In some extreme cases, this manifests as parents who decide that their child is never to be hurt on their watch.

Basically, it’s a values shift, and there’s no “right” way to handle it. It just seemed strange to see Marshall lean more GenY than GenX.


Leave a Reply

