jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – April 8th, 2008 Tuesday, April 8, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

You know, I was gonna be all pop friendly this morning and play the lead single off of the biggest release of the week – the one that is Oprah approved, but apparently Leona Lewis and her crack team of marketers don’t allow for embedding of their videos. (Ok, so she has Oprah’s help and had the #1 single a couple of weeks back – she don’t need no damn bloggers…) Instead, I guess we’ll be hanging out with Nick Cave…

Dig!!!Lazarus, Dig!!! has been out for a long time in places that aren’t called America so it’s greatness is well documented on the interwebs…however, not much else is coming out today, as you will witness after the jump!

Leona Lewis – Spirit
She’s already huge in England, where she won “The X-Factor”, and now Oprah has chosen her to be the next Mariah. I’m not ashamed to admit that I think “Bleeding Love” is a fairly catchy pop song, and having a song featuring Akon on your album guarantees a 2nd radio hit at some point. (Isn’t that amazing? The power of Akon?) I imagine that this will be our number one selling next week.

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds- Dig!!!Lazarus, Dig!!!
Like the above song? Then go pick this up, the bloggeratzi and music criticism crowd will disown you if you don’t.

Nine Inch Nails – Ghosts I-IV
Uh, it’s the physical release of Trent’s leftovers from a few weeks back.

The Breeders – Mountain Battles
Do you like the Kim Deal? The Kim Deal likes you! (Maybe not, I don’t know) But, hey, it’s always good to have the 90s back.

Marie Digby – Unfold
She’s big on the MySpace and the YouTube – will is translate to actual sales and interest now that she is on a big label?

Colin Meloy – Colin Meloy Sings Live!
I like the Decemberists and I’m pretty much on the fence about picking this up – hopefully eMusic will have it.

A pretty meh week overall, and sadly, the upcoming weeks aren’t looking too much better. Let’s discuss in the comments.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, April 8, 2008

I love all things Nick Cave (I think I was first turned on to him by his soundtrack for The Proposition), and have already heard much of this album and can verify that it’s fantastic. Check it out.

Leona Lewis is just now releasing her album? I feel like my sister’s been talking about her since December. Bleeding Love is a pretty good song and catchy but not really my thing.

If you saw Modest Mouse on tour last year around this time, then you saw Man Man open up for them and they are putting out a new album this week. I thoroughly enjoyed their performance so I tried out their previous album and it’s good stuff. Basically (take that Flubby!), I’m trying to say that I’m looking forward to seeing what they have on their new album this week. They had a new video/documentary up on the pretty solid new pitchfork.tv yesterday.

2. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, April 8, 2008

I somehow left off Tapes N Tapes – Walk It Off which is likely to get downloaded by me at some point out of curiosity since I liked most of The Loon.


Leave a Reply

