jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – April 1st, 2008 Tuesday, April 1, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in albums, jerkwheat, music, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

So, its not quite as good a week of new releases as last week (at least in my opinion) but it’s still a pretty solid slate of new albums hitting the racks today. Starting with these guys..,

Athens’ favorite sons are back with a new album, but what else is available for legal consumption? Jump!

REM – Accelerate
I realize that this may be apocryphal to some of you, but I’ve never been a big fan of Stipe and Co. I’ve got a lot of respect for their influence over the old “college rock” scene and I can appreciate how vital they have been to many of the bands I love – but I’ve never had them in my “must buy every album and listen to every song” list. XM has been playing a few of the new songs, and they sound alright to me – Pitchfork says it’s a six point something so it must have actual hooks and melodies to rate so “meh” with those guys. Maybe I should give it a listen…

Black Keys – Attack and Release
Guitar. Drums. Rock. Repeat.

Van Morrison – Keep It Simple
This is Van’s 35th album. That’s quite a few, no? It’s the first album for which Morrison composed all the songs for a specific album in years (or so says Amazon). Morrison is on Lost Highway now, and that seems like a pretty good fit too.

George Strait – Troubadour
I grew up listening to George and I have a pretty good appreciation for a classic country singer like Mr. Strait. I don’t listen to country radio often, but when I see a new George song on the XM display, I tend to stop on it and give it a listen. The man is nothing if not consistent.

Moby – Last Night
Remember when a new Moby record was a big release? Those days are long gone.

Rolling Stones – Shine A Light Soundtrack
This is a pretty nice compilation of the best of the Stones -worth picking up if you don’t have much of Mick and Keef in your collection.

Sun Kill Moon – April
Mark Kozelek’s first all new album in about five years finds him bringing in a little assistance from Ben Gibbard, Bonnie Prince Billy, and the same group of musicians that played on the last Sun Kill Moon record. Makes me want to go play some Red House Painters…

So, uh, I guess it is a pretty damn good week once again. How bout that?

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, April 1, 2008

They’ve played a few tracks off Accelerate on the radio here (ssshhh, don’t tell) and it’s been pretty solid. I’m not a huge REM fan either but I like them and haven’t been disappointed in the slightest.

George just seems to keep plugging on and on. Incredible that he’s consistently been big in country for over 20 years now.

I feel like I’ve been hearing more about Moby lately than I have in 5 years. Not sure if that’s because the corporate PR machine is in effect or if it’s because he’s relevant again and this album is good.

I’ll definitely be checking out Sun Kill Moon

2. WEB SHERIFF - Wednesday, April 2, 2008

WEB SHERIFF
Protecting Your Rights on the Internet
Tel 44-(0)208-323 8013
Fax 44-(0)208-323 8080
websheriff@websheriff.com
http://www.websheriff.com

Hi DeadOn,

On behalf of Lost Highway Records, many thanks for plugging Van Morrison’s new album and, if you / your readers want good quality, non-pirated, preview tracks, full versions of “That’s Entrainment” and “Behind The Ritual” (along with album track samplers) are available for fans and bloggers to listen to (and link to) on Lost Highway’s web-site at http://www.losthighwayrecords.com .

Up-to-the-minute info on Keep It Simple and Van’s 2008 shows is, of course, also available on http://www.vanmorrison.com and http://www.myspace.com/vanmorrison and, for a limited period, you can still hear Van’s exclusive BBC sessions and interview at http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio2/musicclub/event_vanmorrison.shtml.

Thanks again for your plug.

Regards,

WEB SHERIFF

3. Greek McPapadopoulos - Friday, April 4, 2008

Hey, I feel that’s a pretty inadequate description of the Black Keys, especially for this album (I mean, aren’t you required by law to say “blues” when talking about the Keys?). Danger Mouse provided a strange touch to it, and it’s interesting. I think I’ll see if it works tonight when I see them live.

And, not to sound like a dick, but it’s Sun Kil Moon. I’ll probably check that one out eventually.

4. Matt_T - Saturday, April 5, 2008

No,
Thank you Web Sherriff

5. Jerkwheat - Sunday, April 6, 2008

Oops on the Kill vs. Kil – I know better.

And I’m so happy to finally have WEB SHERIFF following us around as well!


Leave a Reply

