jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – March 25th, 2008 Tuesday, March 25, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Buckle up boys and girls, there is a lot of music that you might actually be interested in coming out today…

Technically, Gnarls started appearing on shelves towards the end of last week after it was rush released following it’s leaking on teh intrawebs.  The Odd Couple is just one of several new releases that you’ll find at your local record shop…

Gnarls Barkley – The Odd Couple
I never really got into Gnarls, even though I like both Cee-Lo and Danger Mouse. Part of it may be the absolute over-exposure of “Crazy” and part of it may be their totally uninteresting set at Virgin Fest when I saw them in ’06. Anyhoo, this ones been popping up online and on retail shelves since the middle of last week when they pushed up their release date. It’s getting some decent reviews, so enjoy.

The Raconteurs – Consolers of the Lonely
From the studio to the stores in roughly two weeks time, Jack White’s other band wasted no time in getting new music to the masses. Unlike the above Gnarls, I thought the Racs were pretty fantastic at the aforementioned Virgin Fest in ’06. I also think that this is the most I’ve ever talked about that concert since it happened. I loved Broken Boy Soldiers and look forward to getting this one in my mitts today.

Counting Crows – Saturday Nights and Sunday Mornings
Fuck it, I don’t care what the hipsters say, I love me some Crows. I once saw Adam Duritz wandering downtown Memphis with a harem of hot ladies on his arms. God bless your ugly yet famous self, sir. It’s been five years since the Crows last released a studio album, but they did manage to pull off a massive soundtrack hit in the downtime. I’ve enjoyed the first three or four songs I’ve heard and this is yet another certain pick up for my yuppie ass.

Panic at the Disco – Pretty.Odd
Goddamnit – I kinda like “Nine In The Afternoon”. An judging by this post on Idolator, the band has actually managed growth on their second album and has made a surprisingly good piece of music. Thankfully, a check of Amazon shows that they don’t have ridiculously long song titles anymore either. I might consider picking this up even, if not for the fact that I worry that cents of my dollars might end up getting funneled towards Pete Wentz’s eyeliner fund.

The B-52s – Funplex
16 years, 16 years, this band ain’t cut a record in 16 years! I bet its a fun listen and I’m certainly curious to hear some of it.

Not a bad week of releases at all. Certainly one of the best of the year in my book.  Lets talk about it below.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, March 25, 2008

Solid set of choices this week. I’m not sure if I’ll get any of them or not, but there certainly are a few worth considering.

Is that the video that’s supposed to give you seizures or the cleaned up version?

2. Rockabye - Tuesday, March 25, 2008

Really good week, though Gnarls is one of mine, too. Love both of them, Danger Mouse and Cee-Lo.

3. mingusmonk - Tuesday, March 25, 2008

I gave Panic @ The Disco a listen at AOL Music. I figure my 2 oldest will be interested. As I began, there is a blatant ode to Sgt Peppers thing starting off. But as I listened through the entire release, with other random references of different Beatles eras and sounds, it ends up more like an ADHD Beatles rip-off. Then I did a little research and discovered that they recorded this at Abbey Road. I can only imagine that they “studied” The Beatles Wikipedia entry, copped the huge expected budget, and then threw their remaining self-pride under the bus.

Question: What happens when a modern rock band “pens” a song that appears as if they are expirimenting with folk music (“Folkin’ Around” hardy har har), but is actually a near blatant copy of The Beatles expirimenting with country-folk (I’ve Just Seen A Face). It’s sooo meta!!! (aarg!)

4. Matt_T - Tuesday, March 25, 2008

The new Raconteurs is fantastic. I listened to it on the way home. On first impression, I already like it better than Broken Boy Soldiers.


Leave a Reply

