jump to navigation

1520 Sedgwick Avenue: March 18th, 2008 Tuesday, March 18, 2008

Posted by Andy Hutchins in 1520 Sedgwick Avenue.
trackback

Today’s my second anniversary with the Rockette. To celebrate, how about hip-hop’s best love song from one of the genre’s best acts?

After the jump, a live version of the above, and hip-hop’s first love musing. I would be among the majority that thinks the live version of this song, which featured Jill Scott rather than Erykah Badu, is the vastly superior version, because there’s a hell of a lot more emotion in Jill’s voice, The Roots kick your favorite band’s ass live, and Tariq Trotter, better known as Black Thought, chops up his flow to great effect, but I figured an eight-minute video was better for the jump.

And some LL for the old-school heads:

Never been a big fan of Cool James as a rapper, but the sentiment’s sweet.

And more on love: I really enjoy writing these posts, but I’m not sure how much anyone enjoys reading them. So I’m going to try to make Sedgwick more for revealing hip-hop to a non-listening audience and discussing it for those who do, scrapping the thematic stuff for whatever I feel on that day, posting a video and some thoughts after a jump.

That’s what I started with, and it worked. And then I tried to get cute, and I screwed up.

But you’re still going to get The Rap-Up on Saturdays starting this Saturday, which will be like New Music Tuesday crossed with quick hitters on the week in hip-hop and maybe a video or two. So.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, March 18, 2008

The first video is disabled from embedding. And I can attest that The Roots are fantastic live. They’re one of the only (the only?) hip-hop bands I’ve seen and the show was fantastic.

That LL Cool J song is pretty cheezy; maybe it’s the beat.

So 2 years long distance? Damn. Did you ever find a way to get her to visit?


Leave a Reply

