jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – March 11th, 2008 Tuesday, March 11, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

I. Am. Exhausted. First days are always long and drawn out as you bounce around meeting every one. I’ll be glad once I’ve settled into my new routine and won’t be quite so sleepy when I get home. Also, I’ll be glad when the double doggie madness slows down around here. But, that won’t be for a long time. Anyhoo, there really isn’t much coming out this week in terms of new music (although it’s a big day for movies *cough*NoCountryForOldMen*cough*). Today is, however, a great excuse to play this finally.

DRINK!!! Randy Jackson’s “duets” album with the above train wreck is out today..but what else? JUMP!

Randy Jackson – Music Club Vol 1.
Yo yo dawg, this is gonna be hawt, dawg. Doggity dig dogdug.

Presidents of the United States of America – These Are The Good Times, People
More sloganeering during an election year – how typical! I bet it’s a fun listen though

Mike Patton – A Perfect Place 
It’s Tuesday so there had to be something new from Mike Patton (or a Mike Patton related project). I hear he’s going to get into a “who is more prolific” battle with Ryan Adams soon.

Various – Now Eleventybajillion
All the songs you’re sick of hearing on the radio, all in one place!

I know I missed some stuff (apologies for doing this while half awake…) so let’s start up the weekly conversation about what else is coming out today in the comments.

Comments»

1. mingusmonk - Tuesday, March 11, 2008

I’m not a huge Shawn Mullins fan, but I figured his new Honeydew was worth a listen. It opened as you would expect. Sincere, heart-felt strumming acoustic stuff (a tune that he wrote as an initial attempt for a Scrubs theme song). It’s easy to forget that he was doing this stuff before it was considered cool. I was pleasantly surprised as I went deeper into the disc. There was a taste of variety that I didn’t expect … which is really what a listener like myself needed in order to latch onto an artist that I thought I had figured out as predictable singer/songwriter.

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, March 11, 2008

Snoop!

Does that video find a new place on Simmons’ Uninentional Comedy Scale? I’m not sure if it’s near the top, but it’s gotta be pretty high.

3. mingusmonk - Tuesday, March 11, 2008

I’m saving my Snoop (and Fat Joe) commentary for 1520 Sedgwick Avenue. Should there be no 1520 Sedgwick Avenue, I will return.

4. JB* - Tuesday, March 11, 2008

Randy Jackson – Music Club Vol 1.
Dog, I thought it started out a little pitchy at the beginning dog, but ya know, it turned all right dog. I liked it, I liked it.

5. DougOLis - Tuesday, March 11, 2008

mingusmonk – I think that Rockabye is on Spring Break so he might not be around this week.

6. mingusmonk - Wednesday, March 12, 2008

You young whipper-snappers with your early spring breaks, hippity hop music, and cellular texting phones! I should have figured. The curbside parking in my neighborhood opened up this week and the Phi Delt house next door has been awfully quiet. Oh them college years.

Alrighty then.

Snoop’s new CD sucks. He brags in the opening track about how he took 2 years to make it. Like it was some kind of rare bourbon or something. But it’s apparent that it took 2 years because he’s got nothing to add to the equation. It’s not even rehash of good Snoop. Quite frankly, it’ll put you to sleep.

7. iDave - Saturday, March 15, 2008

I like how the guitar guys pretend their playing a rawk song.


Leave a Reply

