jump to navigation

1520 Sedgwick Avenue: February 26th, 2008 Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Posted by Andy Hutchins in 1520 Sedgwick Avenue.
trackback

The triumphant return of the Ave with Terrific Tuesday.

More on everything below.

Common used to be more brilliant (I wish brillianter was a word) when he wasn’t hawking Gap clothing or appearing in “Smokin’ Aces,” and this is his poetic letter to and metaphor for hip-hop, one of the smoothest tracks ever and certainly the kind of classic I’m going to try to bring on Terrific Tuesdays…

…which leads me to the programming. I’ve been trying to put together a schedule of sorts for 1520 for a couple of weeks, and trotted some of it out last week, but now I have the real lineup. Keep in mind that these features will alternate, so you’re going to get/be subjected to these things only every other week, excepting Friday.

Monday: Mixtape Monday, Mainstream Monday

Tuesday: Terrible Tuesday, Terrific Tuesday

Wednesday: Wisdom Wednesday, Witness Wednesday

Thursday: Theme Thursday, Throwback Thursday

Friday: Freestyle Friday.

Also, I’m going to try to throw up a Friday night/Saturday morning post called The Rap-Up, wherein I’ll dish on the news in hip-hop for the week and maybe throw a song or two in there as well.

The reason there was no Avenue yesterday was my 103-degree fever and the nap my aching body told me to take in the afternoon. I’m sorry to have disappointed all two of my readers.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, February 26, 2008

I like to use Fuckin’ Brilliant when referring to something that is especially brilliant. Nothing too original, but it gets the point across in a British sort of way.

I think the first Common album I heard (and probably downloaded off Napster) was Like Water For Chocolate. Maybe it was Electric Circus. Is that the era you were referring to? The only album of his that I own is Be.

2. Rockabye - Tuesday, February 26, 2008

I only own Be myself, and I think this is off Electric Circus…but Wikipedia tells me it was Resurrection. It’s produced by Kanye, JD, and, with the wonderful “Success” and “Fallin'” off of American Gangster, now-Jay-Z stalwart No I.D.

And I try not to throw profanity in my posts/comments for fear the same guy who got Kid Canada has friends who know me.

3. mingusmonk - Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Funny. I just watched Smokin’ Aces this weekend. I’ve had it on the DVR for about 2 months as it was definitely a low priority. What a mess, and I’m not talking about the blood, guts and exploded grey matter. We always enjoyed Common in our house, but he has lost a bit of his luster and creativity.

Now, a question I’ve been wanting to ask for a couple of days ….

Anybody heard Erykah Badu’s new release yet? “New Amerykah, Pt. 1: 4th World War” Interested in the everyday man’s review, not the journalist fluff.

4. Rockabye - Tuesday, February 26, 2008

I have heard good things about this Erykah, though I’m not a fan of the album title. (Can we leave the weird album titles to OutKast? You would think, after southernplayalisticadillacmusik, Aquemini, and Stankonia, everyone else would’ve given up the game, but, no, Three Stacks’ ex just keeps trying.)

I’ll try to find a few tracks and give them a listen or two before tomorrow.

Also, New Music Tuesday is getting postponed until tomorrow for that reason and because I want to get into the Joe Budden and Pete Rock releases. Something called Webbie dropped an album, too, but I don’t think I’ll be spending much time on that.


Leave a Reply

