jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – January 29th, 2008 Tuesday, January 29, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Stop me if you’ve heard this before, but it’s a pretty slow week in new releases. One release does have the musical outlets of Blogfrica abuzz though…

And now its official, every music blog that is, shall we say, “rock centric” has hyped Vampire Weekend. Glad to be of assistance Williamsburg.  Surely there are other things coming out, right?

Vampire Weekend – Self-titled

More hyped indie-pop-rock. Sounds familiar eh? It’s not bad, most bloggery thinks it’s great (looking at you Pitchfork…), but I’m kinda indifferent based on what I’ve heard. Which, admittedly, is not much. I’m sure the cool kids have had a torrent of this for weeks already.

The Mars Volta  – The Bedlam In Goliath

I had a chance to see at the drive-in many moons ago when I was a younger, more handsome man. They rocked my motherfucking face off. That said, I’ve never been into either Mars Volta or Sparta. Some of you, undoubtedly, are. So go have a holiday and prog rock your little heads off.

Shelby Lynne – Just A Little Lovin

Shelby made a great, great disc several years ago (I Am Shelby Lynne) and has released a lot of mediocre poo ever since. It’s a shame because she had the potential to be a helluva artist. This album is intended as a tribute to Dusty Springfield and hopefully will find Shelby back in the saddle and showcasing her soulful voice.

Various Artists – 2008 Grammy Nominees

If I could remove “It’s Not Over” and “Hey There Delilah” this would be a pretty acceptable run of music on a Top 40 station.  Corinne Bailey Rae appears twice on this album – why won’t the industry give up on the dream already?

Well, that’s pretty much it. My money is staying in my pocket this week, how about yours?

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, January 29, 2008

I guess I’ll check out Vampire Weekend so I don’t get left behind.

I loved ATDI, Relationship of Command is one of my favorite albums, and I really wish I could have seen them before they broke up. Sparta to me is like a less talented ATDI; which is fine, but it doesn’t give you the same experience. I liked The Mars Volta’s first album quite a bit but then they just started getting really weird. I keep holding out for a reunion. I don’t really see that happening anytime soon.

2. Rockabye - Tuesday, January 29, 2008

The best thing about Vampire Weekend so far for me is the [a href=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_XC2mqcMMGQ] A-Punk video[/a].

If that’s a crappy HTML tag or there’s no HTML in the comments, forgive me.

Also, I’m thinking they’re a low-rent version of Arctic Monkeys, who are atop my favorite bands of this generation. Someone, maybe the band, described them as “SoHo meets Soweto,” and you could do a lot worse than that.

3. Rockabye - Tuesday, January 29, 2008
4. Greek McPapadopoulos - Tuesday, January 29, 2008

I’ll jump on the bandwagon here, and state that Relationship of Command is one of the best albums of the decade, and that De-Loused was a great record. I thought the other two records were solid, but I still am wary about the new one (though I bought it anyway).

I also picked up the Deluxe Edition of Odelay, which came out today. I had to have a copy of “Deadweight” at least.

5. tibi - Thursday, February 7, 2008

dflkwsfg


Leave a Reply

