jump to navigation

The Week That Was – January 27th, 2007 Sunday, January 27, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat.
trackback

Ok, so here is something new that I hope to make a regular feature.  Lord knows I watch too damn much television at home and spend way too much time with my iPod in my ears at the offices. However, I don’t have to time to offer you a nice full speed review of everything I’d like to, so how about we try out a weekly recap of what I enjoyed and what I hated in the past week. So…let’s get to the jump and hit up The Week That Was…

  • American Idol – Once we get to Hollywood Week, I’ll be happy to offer up a weekly full recap of the show, but for now, a quick paragraph or two is all I’ve got in me. The auditions have been, quite frankly, a bore and a half so far. Simon is far too kind, the singers have been meh, and I’ve just not found myself paying that much attention. The “I Am Your Brother” guy has been my favorite trainwreck thus far. That and Carly Smithson’s husband and his face tats. Perhaps my fellow former record store employees (circa 1998 to 2003) remember the hype surrounding Carly Smithson when she was a heavily hyped teen pop singer known as Carly Hennessey.
  • Friday Night Lights – This continues to be one of the best shows on tv. Street’s a car salesman, Smash is getting into fights, Missus Coach is coaching volleyball, and Riggins is having the worst year ever. After a rocky start to the second season with the Landry Murder Mystery, it’s recovered to find it’s place as an amazing realistic slice of small town American life. Kyle Chandler and Connie Britton continue to absolutely nail their roles and the supporting cast ain’t too shabby. Not to mention, the show’s music supervisor is amazing and consistently highlights great indie and less than mainstream artists. If you missed Season 1, go pick up the DVDs (less than $20 most places) and catch up on Season 2 online.
  • Moment Of Truth – I look forward to hearing about Ty Keck’s impending divorce and loss of everything that he holds dear in life.
  • Vh1’s Celebreality Shows – These are the highlight of my Sunday morning (were you aware they showed new episodes of some of these shows first on Sunday morning before airing them Sunday night?). From Jeff Conaway’s rehab misadventures to Bret Michaels’ endless search for ugly skanks, (and Scott Baio’s seach for maturity!) I find myself tuning in and leaving my brain at the door for a few hours each week.
  • The Week In Rockin’ Out – The soundtrack of the week, for some reason, has been Jimmy Eat World’s Chase This Light. Several months after it’s release, it’s found it’s way back into the rotation and has dominated my car stereo during the commute. Also dominating the car stereo this week – the return of Mr. Tony to his radio talk show.

So, that’s what the past week was for me. Anything standout for you?

Also, this coming week…..LOST!!!!!!!

Comments»

1. SA - Sunday, January 27, 2008

Are we suppose to like Moment of Truth or not? I mean, what are the producers going for besides utter humiliation of the contestants?

2. nicolle - Sunday, January 27, 2008

you missed the best CelebReality show that’s on right now: Rock of Love 2. there are so many quotable lines from that show that make it obvious that the women on there are all hilariously vapid skanks.

[i say it’s the best CelebReality show “right now”, because Flavor of Love 3 is going to be even funnier–Flavor Flav is more overblown and ridiculous than Bret Michaels will ever be, and the girls are probably going to be even stupider.]

3. apostles03 - Monday, January 28, 2008

The Drive-By Truckers’ “Brighter Than Creation’s Dark” brightened my commute into town this past week. The Cooley songs are especially good this time around….

“3 dimes down and twenty five cents shy of a slice of the Doublemint Twins/come back, baby, rock & roll never forgets!”

4. DougOLis - Monday, January 28, 2008

Didn’t watch too much TV this past week. The Wire, AI (last week was San Diego so I had to watch), FNL (the previous week’s on Hulu), and torrented videos of Oz and James’ Big Wine Adventure.

Mr. William F. Leitch’s book coming out was a big deal.

Played Burnout Paradise quite a bit.

My album of the week was probably MGMT’s Oracular Spectacular.

5. DougOLis - Tuesday, January 29, 2008

Is it just me or does Lyla’s new boyfriend look kind of like Will?


Leave a Reply

