jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – January 22nd, 2008 Tuesday, January 22, 2008

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Welcome back boys and girls – hope you had a nice long weekend (if you had a long weekend) and are ready for a decent week in new music. But, first, you’re all heading to your local bookstore, correct?

Matt Costa is one of a few new albums that you just might enjoy…but what else? Let’s get to the jump…

Drive-By Truckers – Brighter Than Creation’s Dark
It’s DBT. It’s going to be awesome, even with another change in the band’s line-up. Also, the Truckers have the new full-time addition of John Neff. I find this hilarious as one of my best friends is also named John Neff. Different people with the same name are always amusing. I plan on this being the soundtrack to my commute for the next few weeks.

Matt Costa – Unfamiliar Faces
He’s a singer/songwriter and is on Jack Johnson’s label. I think you know what to expect here. It should be a pleasant soundtrack to a Saturday afternoon. Critics will likely hate it. Teenage girls will think it’s the greatest thing ever. The truth will be somewhere in the middle.

Cat Power – Jukebox
Hey! It’s a new covers album from Chan, albeit with an original or two (at least that’s my understanding). I’ve never been a big follower of Cat Power, so my opinion here is moot. I do know a few people who are excited about it, so I imagine one of you are as well.

Natasha Bedingfield – Love Like This
A transcendent meditation of the state of American society in war-times, Love Like This is at times avant-guarde in it’s composition and cosmopolitan in it’s delivery. People love to buy shit. This will be number one next week.

Comments»

1. mingusmonk - Tuesday, January 22, 2008

DBT sounds like a quality release. I will always kind of itch to hear them get a little dirtier, angrier and uglier. But I really can’t complain about Brighter Than Creation’s Dark so far.

Spot on review of Matt Costa. My 15 year-old daughter will love it (as she does Jack J). And that’s OK. Better that, than repeated listenings of Fall Out Boy.

I have one addition and that’s North Mississippi All Stars – Hernando. Speaking of dirtier and uglier. I never miss these guys live and it’s nice to hear Jim Dickinson’s boys bring a solid CD to kick off thier newly formed label. With Luther joining The Black Crowes, it should be a busy and rocking new year .

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, January 22, 2008

Damn, several solid releases. That hasn’t happened in awhile.

I’ll probably be picking up DBT; I’m not always in the mood for them but they can be a fun, angst listen.

Cat Power is my favorite artist of the group, but cover albums sometimes don’t work out too well. “Stuck Inside of Mobile” was one of the best songs (for me at least) on the I’m Not There soundtrack, so I have decent hopes for the full album. I might check this one out on Rhapsody before deciding to buy or not.

I like Matt Costa. He’s not one of my favorites but I won’t run away when his songs come on the radio. This sounds like a Rhapsody release for me.

3. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, January 22, 2008

I picked up the last Matt Costa album on whim during Tower Record’s demise for maybe $2 (when things were 80% off or more) and it’s not bad. I’ve never understood the total disdain some folks have for the Jack Johnson set. Sure, it’s not groundbreaking or exceptionally deep – but it’s pleasant music that serves as a nice backdrop. And much like your 15 yr old daughter Mingus, I’d rather my 14 yr old niece be listening to that than more horrible mall emo.

4. DougOLis - Tuesday, January 22, 2008

The Coachella lineup was announced this morning for those of you interested. The headliners are pretty dissapointing. It’d be cool to see Roger Waters do Dark Side of the Moon but it won’t be the same without the whole band. There are quite a few mid and lower tier bands I’d like to see but probably not at $80/day or whatever it is.


Leave a Reply

