jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock In Review – Ten….Nine…Eight.. Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

With less than two weeks to go in the year, the time has come for YMR to start reminiscing over the year that was 2007. We were here for most of it, having launched in February, so I think we’ve got a decent grasp on this thing. Naturally, you are expected to hate every selection and question every pick I make. I would have it no other way.

Today, we begin the Top Ten….right after the jump….

THE ENVELOPE PLEASE….

COMING IN AT NUMBER TEN…..

Spoon – Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga

I’m quite convinced that 2007 was the year of “the grower” – albums that at first were kinda disappointing, but slowly and surely worked their way into your musical subconscious.  At first listen, my reaction to Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga was pretty much indifference. I had instant love for the previous albums I’d heard from Britt and the gang, but this one just felt a little meh. Then, I found myself singing “Don’t You Evah” at random intervals. “You Get Yr. Cherry Bomb” would demand to be on repeat during my drive to work. Spoon embraced their inner power-pop instincts and put out a record that I eventually fell in love with. It just took some time.

YMR’S NUMBER NINE ALBUM OF THE YEAR IS….

Bloc Party – A Weekend In The City

Another album that took some time to reveal itself, Bloc Party’s sophomore release didn’t have the immediate hooks of Silent Alarm (“Banquet” is a top 10 song from the past five years for me) but it did reveal a band capable of building a career that doesn’t need to worry itself with re-recording past glories. A Weekend In The City is a good bit darker than its predecessor, although “I Still Remember” is a nice pop song, but it’s songs like “The Prayer” and “Uniform” that allow the music to come to the forefront and showed that Bloc Party  has learned something and will hopefully continue to be a band to reckon with in the future.

AND IN AT NUMBER EIGHT…

The National – Boxer

On album number four, The National expanded their musical repertoire and introduced a few new instrumental elements to what had already proven to be a very successful formula.  It’s downbeat, sad, heart broken, and you can’t pull away from it. “Mistaken For Strangers” is a perfect introduction to the band for a newcomer – Matt Berninger’s voice is right there at the fore front, melancholy as always, keeping your attention and making you feel every word he says. A perfect follow-up to the near-perfect Alligator.

Comments»

1. Camp Tiger Claw - Wednesday, December 19, 2007

I liked all 3 of these records. Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga is actually topping my list. Boxer is close behind.

2. chilltown - Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga is excellent. My number one was Modest Mouse’s We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank, but there were a lot of good ones this year.

God Fire It Up is a great song.

3. DougOLis - Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Coming in I thought Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga was a lock to make my top 10; but as I looked at it yesterday, I’m not so sure now. I’ll try and finish it off today.

Holy crap, I almost forgot about A Weekend in the City. I guess that’s what I get for using my iPhone (stupid small flash drive) and not iTunes itself. I’m not sure if it lands in my Top 10 but I listened to that the first few months of 2007 more than anything else.

The National’s Boxer, Animal Collective’s Strawberry Jam, and Panda Bear’s Person Pitch have been showing up on all the top lists and I wish I would have checked them out at the time. Guess I’ll have to do that now.

4. DougOLis - Wednesday, December 19, 2007

ahhh fuck me and not closing my tags

5. Camp Tiger Claw - Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Doug, definitely check out all three of those records. If you end up liking the Animal Collective and Panda Bear records (both two of my favorites) check out the debut by a band called Yeasayer.

6. Jerkwheat - Wednesday, December 19, 2007

I second CTC’s recommendations – although they will not be appearing on the YMRIR countdown

7. chilltown - Wednesday, December 19, 2007

I figured this would be the place to share the song that is now stuck in my head. Its a (fairly) obscure Hot Hot Heat tune: Island of the Honest Man. Sadly no video, but here it is on Youtube http://youtube.com/watch?v=G-mDQTsXQmY

8. Greek McPapadopoulos - Thursday, December 20, 2007

Major kudos for including A Weekend To Remember. I was a huge fan of Silent Alarm when it came out, and even though this is a change of pace for Bloc Party, I still thought it was a success (even if it went away from their strengths of hooky guitar and insane drumming). Too many people didn’t give it a chance, but they missed out on a great record. Tell me you don’t get pumped once you hear “Waiting for the 7.18” or “Uniform” climax. And “Songs For Clay” is one wicked rocker, and you have to love the incessant beat and crazy solo of “The Prayer”.

And I’m with you on Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga as well. It didn’t grab me immediately like Kill the Moonlight or Gimme Fiction, even though I liked it well enough. But the more I listened to it, the more the individual songs got stuck in my head. “Cherry Bomb” and “Don’t Make Me A Target” have been stuck in my head for some time now.

And chilltown–great song, I felt that Elevator was kind of an overlooked record. There are some other standouts on that one, like “Running Out of Time”.


Leave a Reply

