jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – November 20th, 2007 Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

It’s a really slow week for new releases – I honestly don’t think there is one thing I’m planning on picking. I am an unabashed Idol junkie, I’m not about to buy an Idol cd (sorry Jordin Sparks!) so today’s pick is coming out of a reissue coming out this week…

An expanded, deluxe 20th (20??!!!??) anniversary edition of The Joshua Tree hits stores today – and so do a few other things…to the jump!

Jordin Sparks – Self-Titled
Is this getting any radio play at all? I’ve heard Blake Lewis’ single on XM 20, but nary a peep from Ms. Sparks thus far. You gotta lose at Idol to win in sales these days it appears.

Amy Winehouse – Frank
One of many re-issues this week, Frank was Winehouse’s first release and what made her famous on the other side of the pond. I don’t particularly care for her, so I’ve got real opinion on this, but I know a lot of Winehouse fans love this album.

Led Zeppelin – The Song Remains The Same
Another reissue in time for the holiday season, both the movie and the soundtrack are coming out remastered today. On another note, I’m loving the all-Zep station on XM right now. It’s a good way to start the day during my drive to work.

OneRepublic – Dreaming Out Loud
It’s too late to apologize…..It’s too late to apologize….
The state of Colorado gives us another generic pop rock band. Woot.

Keith Urban – Greatest Hits
I’m not a “today’s hit country music” guy, but I do have an occasional weakness for it and Keith Urban is amongst the few artists of the genre I enjoy. The guy is a heckuva guitar player as well.

Gorillaz – D-Sides
The title doesn’t lie – it’s a bunch of outtakes and b-sides from Gorillaz. On the plus side, one of the songs is called “Bill Murray” so it’s got that going for it.

That’s about it. We’re entering the slow stretch of the year as Christmas sales will focus on the big releases that have already come out this year. Have a nice Thanksgiving kids, I’ll see ya on Monday.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Holy hell, 20 years? Damn.

Sigur Ros’ beautiful DVD documentary comes out today. Not exactly a new release but it kind of is and it looks awesome.

A couple weeks ago (after you went to his concert) I was complaining about how I’ve never seen Ryan Adams because he never comes out here or I’m gone when he does. Well, last night I heard on the radio I heard he was coming to San Diego and I was like “Sweet! I finally get to go.” Then the DJ said the date, and it’s when I’m going to be out of town in January. Fuck.

2. Camp Tiger Claw - Tuesday, November 20, 2007
3. Greek McPapadopoulos - Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Nine Inch Nails puts out another remix album, this time for Year Zero. These are usually quite interesting.


Leave a Reply

