jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – November 6th, 2007 Tuesday, November 6, 2007

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

It’s not a super eventful week in new releases, so let’s flash back a little bit..

Ah, the early 90s and the original Canadian heyday of BNL. I still love the guys and try to catch them live whenever possible..and what do you know? It’s a new live BNL cd this week! There is at least one marquee release as well coming too…let’s jump shall we?

Jay-Z – American Gangster
It’s not a soundtrack, it’s music  inspired by the movie. It’s also  Jay’s attempt at an acceptable comeback album. Some of the reviews have been positive if not glowing. I like Jay, but, as has been discussed here before, I’m not enough of a rap guy to be able to make a judgement on this one. Your thoughts?

Barenaked Ladies – Talk To The Hand – Live From Michigan
Live is the best way to experience BNL, and it was a trip “up north” (as is said in MI) back in the fall of ’97 with friends that exposed me to Rock Spectacle and made me a fan. Most of the tracks are of recent vintage on here, but there are a few of the old standards. Probably only necessary for the superfans.

Garth Brooks – The Ultimate Hits
Remember when this guy was freaking everywhere? It’s time for me to fess up something. As a kid growing up in Memphis, I went with my family to see Garth Brooks when I was about 13. It was one of my first concerts and it was a pretty good time. Apparently his Greatest Hits cd has been out of print for quite some time, so this 3 disc set will appease the longtime fans I’m sure.

Sigur Ros – Hvarf/Heim
I’m just not cool enough to get this – as evidenced by the last two blurbs above.

David Byrne – Knee Plays
More quirkiness from the former Talking Head.

Angels and Airwaves –  I-Empire
Blink should have never broken up – I liked where they were going on their last album. The breakup only lead to crap like this.

As always, tell me about the other releases I’ve missed and what your thoughts are on the ones we’ve discussed.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, November 6, 2007

I have no problem confessing that I was mostly into country growing up in the early 90s and Garth was naturally my favorite. I think he was the 2nd concert I ever saw (after Reba/Brooks & Dunn show) and one of the best I’ve ever seen. I own all his albums (including the original The Hits), but there’s supposed to be a few new tracks so maybe I’ll pick this up.

Hvarf/Heim is the album I’ve been looking forward to for awhile and a sure purchase. Despite there only being a few new tracks, any Sigur Ros is good news to me. Can’t wait for the Heima DVD to come out.

re Angles and Airwaves: I suppose I should support the hometown boys, but they are a shell of Blink-182. +44 (Barker and Hoppus’ band) is probably better. Does the first 20 seconds of Everything’s Magic remind anyone else of another song? It sounds a lot like some 80s song that I think was featured prominently in a movie, but I can’t put my finger on it. Something about “remember” maybe, I dunno.

2. mingusmonk - Tuesday, November 6, 2007

Walking On Sunshine?


Leave a Reply

