jump to navigation

My Hard Labor-Finally Resolved JD And Kim Friday, November 2, 2007

Posted by Shakarean Hutchinson in Scrubs, Television, TV.
trackback

Coming off a good season premiere, I was expecting Scrubs to come out swinging. They didn’t. While it was good, it wasn’t as good as last week’s despite having a major event like Kim giving birth to her and JD’s baby. On the bright side, we got a resolution to their situation and we saw little JD (Jennifer Dillon). I’m going to get it out of my system now-that baby is adorable.

And I really don’t want to disappoint all of you, but I don’t remember a lot. Maybe that goes to show how the episode went this week.

Big storyline first. JD leaves for work everyday by telling Kim that she’s amazing and telling the baby that he loves him, which JD hopes Kim doesn’t notice. It seems that she is oblivious to his words at first. While JD is playing video games with Turk at their place (which sets up another storyline), Kim goes into labor and JD and Turk rush to the hospital. While waiting to get things started, Kim and JD talk about their feelings. Kim tells him that she loves him, but JD doesn’t return the favor, which is alright with Kim at first. But then she asks him again (remember-she asked JD this during the second to final episode of last season) if there was anyway he could love her. JD tells Kim that one day he hopes to wake up and realize that he’s in love with her. Bad choice of words as Kim gets angry, breaks up with him, and throws him out the room while she’s in the middle of labor. She calls on Elliot to help with the delivery, but after talking to Dr. Cox and seeing what the other parents on Scrubs (or should I say the other parents JD associate himself with) do for their children, JD races back into the room and is with Kim when she gives birth to Sam. At the end she admitted that she was really happy that he was there, even though their relationship is over. Now, I liked how they ended the JD-Kim relationship. Despite still being mad at JD for not really wanting to tell Kim the truth (only having to when there were no conditions for him to lie about it), I’m very glad JD went back into that room and was there when his son was born. I’m also very happy that he was genuinely upset about how things turned out before the baby was born. Maybe, just maybe, we’re seeing JD grow up. Thank God. One pesky little annoyance-Kim called Elliot to help her through the delivery, but when JD rushed in there, where the hell was Elliot? There was only a nurse, the annoying doctor from when Jordan gave birth to Jack (a lot less annoying. Dr. Donna right?) and a “new” nurse JD thought he recognized. But where did Elliot go? Did I miss something?

The other two storylines dealt with JD seeing what parents do for their children. Little JD (that’s what I’m calling her from now until the final episode) needed a shot for her rash (Dermatitis right? I didn’t catch the exact medical term) but Cox didn’t want to be the one to give it to her. Even though the little girl is only a three months old, he doesn’t want her to associate him with pain for her entire life. Cox searches the hospital high and low for somebody to give his daughter a shot-Carla is busy with Turk (we’ll talk about this later), Dr. Kelso is drunk from drinking Scotch at the hospital (he’s living there after being thrown out of his house by Enid), he won’t let the interns give her the shot. While he originally agreed to get JD to give her the shot after talking with him about the whole Kim situation, he walks out the room after his speech. Eventually Keith is the one to give little JD the shot that she needed. Like I said, the entire purpose of this storyline was to set up JD into realizing what parents do for their kids, but (and forgive me) that baby is too cute and John McGinley was cute holding her the entire time. Okay, girl moment finished.

Last storyline featured Turk and Carla. When Turk and JD first start to play the video game, Carla comes home and asks Turk if he had checked on Izzy. He hadn’t, but told Carla that she was sleeping like an angel. Which was wrong because Izzy was out with Carla. Carla gets mad, but Kim’s page to JD interrupts her speech and JD and Turk rush to the hospital. Turk tells Carla that he is at the hospital to support JD, but he’s really just trying to finish up the game. He asks for a partner to play it with and Janitor joins him. After saying a few words for the first character he kills, Janitor gets enthralled with the game. Unfortunately that’s when Carla arrives and is so mad at Turk that she can’t give Little JD the shot she needs. She basically tells Janitor that he sucks at the game and sits down to play herself. We find out that Carla played the game at night while staying up with Izzy when she had Colic. She became addicted to the game and that’s one of the reasons why she doesn’t want the game and system in the apartment with them. They have a really good talk and resolve their own little conflict over the game. Once again, another set up to JD doing the right thing and going back in to see the birth of his child.

As always, there were some other good moments in the show-when Kim gave birth to Colin Hay, as I mentioned before the “new” nurse, Keith’s potshots at Elliot. All in all, a pretty good show this week, but I think a step back from where it was last week. Two good shows down, 16 more to go.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Friday, November 2, 2007

I’m not sure how I feel about the new nurse. I feel like it cheapens the memory and loss of Laverne.

Kelso had some good lines when he was drunk (i.e. scoring a cabby and mowing down street ho’s, the lamp, “all hasselhoffed out”)

I had a problem with the representation of Halo because they were using a 1st person view from some completely different game. I guess that’s how they get around paying royalties.

Colin Hay busting out of Kim was probably my favorite part. Either that or being satisfied with the way Kim/JD ended. What was up with the soft lighting?

2. Shenanigans - Friday, November 2, 2007

I thought the lighting situation was weird. Also, I think the squeaky voiced nurse is not funny at all and they spent way too much time with her. She may have been okay for a bit appearance last episode, but she was just grating, not funny, this time.

3. metschick - Friday, November 2, 2007

I thought it was funny, but maybe that was after seeing a particularly unfunny episode of The Office.

I’m not sure how I feel about the new nurse. I feel like it cheapens the memory and loss of Laverne.

I agree with you, but I think Bill Lawrence promised Aloma Wright a job if the show got another season. And I think that’s a nice thing.

I just wanted to smack Kim the entire episode. Better yet, I wanted JD to tell her “BUT YOU LIED ABOUT MISCARRYING MY CHILD!” But, yeah, that conversation should’ve taken place a while ago.

4. DougOLis - Friday, November 2, 2007

I thought The Office was probably the best one this season. The plot was uneventful, but there were quite a few funny jokes.

5. metschick - Saturday, November 3, 2007

Doug – it could be that I watched the episode at my brother-in-law’s house, with his four kids chattering, but I didn’t really like this episode. There were funny lines, but that’s about it. This is the kind of episode I skip in syndication.

I will give it a re-watch though, because it seems I missed a couple of the funniest bits (Michael asking Jim to host the Dundies if anything happens to him; the cold open – which I missed completely)

6. Ivan - Tuesday, November 6, 2007

I agree with Metschick, i think that Kim doesn’t really have the right to bitch to JD about him not loving her after she pulled the stunt that she did. The fact that he is even with her in any capacity is above and beyond anything he needed to do.

I thought it was a pretty good episode as well, but agree that its not as good as the first one. Kelso’s dealings with his son always make me laugh, as well as the Janitor’s reactions to play the game and when he wanted to eulogize the alien he had killed. I agree that the interns voice is super annoying, but i thought it was funny when she spoke in a less annoying voice and then said that it hurt her throat to speak like that.

7. JB* - Tuesday, November 6, 2007

I agree with metsy – bringing back Aloma Wright was a classy thing for Bill Lawrence. He said in multiple summer interviews that had he known they would be picked up again, he wouldn’t have killed her.

And did anyone else think it almost looked like Kim was added in after the fact – or they had to re-edit scenes with JD – when she was in the hospital bed? The lighting there was all effed up.


Leave a Reply

