jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – October 16th, 2007 Tuesday, October 16, 2007

Posted by Jerkwheat in albums, jerkwheat, music, music video, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Looky here! We got ourselves a pretty rockin’ week of new music releases!


Kenna – Say Goobye To Love

Sweet Christ! Kenna IS FINALLY GETTING RELEASED!! But wait! There’s more!

Jimmy Eat World – Chase This Light
I love Jimmy Eat World. LOVE. I first saw them back in early 1999 and if you open up the booklet to Singles (the EP compliation) and look through the crowd pictures you’ll see a young Jerkwheat in his Toledo Mud Hens cap. Good times. Can’t wait to pick this one up, even if the cover art is clearly some kind of vagina.

Kenna – Make Sure They See My Face
I’m pretty sure this album has been delayed at least 4397 times and was originally due to come out at least a year or so ago. Shit, it’s been nearly five months since I last saw Kenna and there was all kinds of advertising for this album out in the hallways at that show. Anyway, at least it’s finally here. This is album purchase #2 for the week.

Dan Wilson – Free Life
Who? Ohhhhh, the guy from Semisonic. That’s who Dan Wilson is. Fresh off of winning a few Grammy’s for his involvement with the Dixie Chicks last record, Dan Wilson finally releases an album of his own. I’m an admitted fan of Semisonic and am among the few really awaiting this release. I just hope that it’s at my local Best Buy. (CURSE YOU TOWER RECORDS FOR CLOSING!!!)

So, those are my big three for the week. Also, look out for a new album from Thrice and greatest hits/live packages from REM, AC/DC, and Hendrix. As always…what’s got your attention this week?

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, October 16, 2007

I thought Kenna’s CD came out awhile ago? I enjoyed New Sacred Cow quite a bit so I’ll give this a shot. Kenna usually has sweet videos but I don’t really dig this one.

Woohooo, JEW is finally out!

Did you ever get In Rainbows to work?

2. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, October 16, 2007

poor Kenna – he might as well be named Axl with all the album delays he’s experienced with both of his releases

No luck on In Rainbows – but only b/c I haven’t tried again yet. If I remember to, I’ll get on the ol’ PC tonight and give it a whirl.

3. mingusmonk - Tuesday, October 16, 2007

So glad about Kenna finally hitting the shelves. Although I agree that the video misses the mark. I’m not sure they should be pushing Say Goodbye To Love as the first single. At first blush, the up-beat tunes that hit me are Sun Red Sky Blue and Baptized In Blacklight.

Additions:
Stanley Clarke finally getting back to intense jazz fusion with The Toys Of Men.

The second concert I’ve been to in my life that has become an official release: Umphrey’s McGee – Live At The Murat (It was actually the Egyptian Room, but hey … whatever). I’m loving the fact that AOL is streaming UM on it’s listening party. Wow.

One for purely selfish reasons, Gov’t Mule – Mighty High. Reggae and dub-style Mule. Guests like Toots and Willie . Not top notch, and it’s more of a novelty item, but I’m a Warren Haynes freak, so I cannot help it.

Re-issues (of sorts):

Collector’s Choice Music is releasing 4 of Bootsy Collins’ solo takes from the late 70’s, early 80’s. Stretchin’ Out In Bootsy’s Rubber Band, This Boot Is Made For Fonk’n, Ultra Wave, The One Give And The Count Taketh Away.

New West has a new batch of Austin City Limits shows hitting the shelves: Merle Haggard – Oct 30, 1985, John Mayall – Sep 13, 1993, Willie Nelson – Sep 6, 1990, Dwight Yoakam – Oct 23, 1988

4. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, October 16, 2007

I’m confused by the “Say Goodbye” push to, as iTunes distributed “Out of Control” as the free single of the week a month or so ago, so I figured that would be the one getting the label push.

Is “Say Goodbye” one of the full on Neptunes produced songs? As opposed to just Chad Hugo? Maybe that has something to do with it.

All I know is that Kenna has got to be a poster child for bad label management.

5. mingusmonk - Wednesday, October 17, 2007

Say Goodbye is credited at “Kenna, Williams”. No Hugo to be found there. Most tracks are “Hugo, Kenna”.


Leave a Reply

