jump to navigation

In Rainbows….at last Friday, October 12, 2007

Posted by Jerkwheat in the balls.
trackback

It’s the 800lb gorilla in the room, so let’s talk about it shall we…

I have major beef (as the rap kids say) with In Rainbows.

Namely, the friggin Radiohead store keeps fucking up whenever I try to “Pay Now” and I can’t give them their damn pounds and pence so that I can download the damnable thing. So, right now, I have zero to really contribute to the conversation regarding the actual content of the record. However, I will say that I think this is a great idea and that Radiohead is probably one of the few bands that can pull this off. Honestly, do you thinks fans of The Fray are going to hop online and “pay what they like” for their next album and not have it be a bunch of sorority girls paying 20 cents or less? But, the real question is, how many people who downloaded the album are still going to buy it when the physical cd is released? Knowing Radiohead’s fanbase – probably a majority of them. For one, Radiohead played it safe and distributed it at a relatively low bitrate of 160. This is fine to my non-audiophile ears, but you know it’s not good enough for a segment of Thom Yorke’s uber-obsessive fans.

So, what are your thoughts? Let’s talk about the album and how it’s changing the world!!*

* = required hyberbolic bloggery

Comments»

1. spankyjoe - Friday, October 12, 2007

I didn’t find out about the distribution bitrate of 160 until after I’d already downloaded the songs. (I’d already ordered the disc box because I’m a self-admitted uber-obsessive fanboy.) Not only did they distribute at 160KBs, it’s mastered with zero dynamic range or separation whatsoever. If I hadn’t ordered the disc box already, I’d sure as hell order it now.

As for the actual music, “Nude” and “15 Step” are the initial favorites on disc 1. This will no doubt change in a week.

2. DougOLis - Friday, October 12, 2007

Are you trying to download it in Firefox or IE? I had a problem initially in FF but worked like a charm in IE.

I don’t really have a problem with 160 as a download. As Jonny said in an interview, they were never going to hit CD quality and 160 is better than you’ll get with any other download service. The human ear really can’t tell the difference anyway.

As for the album itself, pure awesomeness. “15 Step” is a killer opener; dancy fun goodness with some Nels Clineish jazz riffs by Jonny. I think my favorite track so far is “Reckoner” but there really aren’t any that I dislike. I’ve liked “Weird Fishes/Arpeggi” since that live performance debuted on YouTube and “Videotape” is a perfect album closer. I’m extremely happy with the album.

3. Jerkwheat - Friday, October 12, 2007

My problems are stemming from Firefox and Safari (which had trouble even loading the page). I’ll use our PC tonight and see if I can get it to work then.

4. DougOLis - Friday, October 12, 2007

“House of Cards” is destined to be used in some TV show in a lonely/solemn occasion when the character is driving down the road.

5. SA - Saturday, October 13, 2007

I honestly don’t care about bitrates and no offense to Radiohead, I probably won’t buy the CD when it comes out. I’m am so much a mp3 person now it’s ridiculous. I much rather just pay for it at the time of download instead of getting another copy.

And thanks for the info Doug re: download using IE. I’ll remember that when I actually get the time to do so.

6. CrashOverride - Wednesday, October 17, 2007

“But, the real question is, how many people who downloaded the album are still going to buy it when the physical cd is released?”

I think thats generally the idea from the band. They’re sticking it to their label for not renewing they’re contract (I’m just guessing, I have no idea how that situation actually went down, and I probably should research it before making this conclusion).
Think about it. Labels rely on major groups to provide the income to carry the rest of the bands. Nowadays with the popularity of downloading, people aren’t too likely to pay for a new band that looks and sounds like everyone else out there when they can just download it for free. Now, most people definitly won’t go and pick up In Rainbows from a record store.
So basically, they’re screwing over their label which I like.

7. theossest - Sunday, November 2, 2008

hello good music blog!!!


Leave a Reply

