jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – September 25th, 2007 Tuesday, September 25, 2007

Posted by Jerkwheat in jerkwheat, music, music video, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Alright gang, I’m out of here for a week starting tomorrow so this is my last post for a few days. You should have some fine substitute teachers here for class over the next few days, so treat them right and rock out accordingly. As for today…

MOTHERFUCKIN DETHKLOK!!! IN YOUR RECORD BINS!!! MEEEETAAAAAAL!!!!!!

But what else? JUMP!

Foo Fighters – Echoes, Silence, Patience, and Grace
New Foos. Rawk. Solid reviews on this one gang and I already love “The Pretender”. I should be rocking out to this one by the time you read these sentences.

Devendra Banhart – Smokey Rolls Down Thunder Canyon
Uh, I don’t really get this guy. Not my thing, but I’d imagine one of you is waiting for this.

Iron & Wine – The Shepherd’s Dog
Sam Beam has an awesome beard and is an fantastic songwriter. This is on my proverbial radar, but I need to hear some of it first.

Stars – In Our Bedroom After The War
Pretty solid release if you like Stars. This has been on eMusic for what seems like forever, but it gets a physical release starting today.

Jose Gonzalez – In Our Nature
I think Jose is a heckuva singer-songwriter and a great guitar player, but my problem is that his music is so chill that he puts me to sleep sometimes. Something to check out though – he covers Massive Attacks’ “Teardrop” on this album. Innnnnnteresting….

Rascal Flatts – Still Feels Good
They’re gay, right?

Ok, that’s all I’ve got for you today. Talk amongst yourself in the comment and I’ll see you next Wednesday. Have fun kids!

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Tuesday, September 25, 2007

I like Iron & Wine a lot and I like Foo enough; but really, today’s releases are all about Halo 3 and Knocked Up for me.

I mentioned this on Friday but I don’t know if it was seen: Kevin Drew from Broken Social Scene put out a pretty fucking sweet solo album with some support of the band. I’d suggest checking it out if you’re into BSS, Feist, Emily Haines, etc.

2. mingusmonk - Tuesday, September 25, 2007

I figured Iron and Wine’s new one would get plenty of run over here. Pretty good stuff, if you like other I&W, you’ll like this.

I have not listened to FF just yet, but it’s gottent some fairly tepid reviews.

Additions:

Herbie Hancock – River: The Joni Letters
A tribute of sorts to Joni Mitchell. The stellar main band is Lionel Loueke, Wayne Shorter Dave Holland and Vinnie Colaiuta. If that’s not enough to get you there, vocals on Joni-penned tracks are provided by Norah Jones, Corinne Bailey Rae, Tina Turner, and even Joni herself.

Joni Mitchell – Shine
The irony here, is that Joni released her own first studio album in over 5 years this same week. After a couple of listens, I like it, but the some of the lame synth and drum machine work gives it an unfinished feel that doesn’t sit right with me. If you want to go with just one, go with Herbie.

Also, I’ve heard bits and pieces of Pat DiNizio’s newest solo effort. I’d love to hear more, or hear more about it. The Smithereens front man can still bring the power pop, even if the occasional Smithereens seem more interested in novelty work anymore.

3. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, September 25, 2007

Haven’t seen any reviews I’d call “tepid” from the mainstream media – I can see bloggers being “blah” about it b/c we interwebs types hate everything that might be on the radio

4. mingusmonk - Wednesday, September 26, 2007

I’ve read the words Generic and Retread in a few different outlets (All Music, Pitchfork, general newspapers like Kansas City Star, etc) and seen mostly 3/5 stars type reviews.

Although, I’d venture to guess that 3 stars of Foo is better than 4 or 5 from most bands. So I’ll still be giving it a listen.

5. Jerkwheat - Wednesday, September 26, 2007

Pitchfork doesn’t surprise me. I know EW gave it an A and I read a couple of other mainstream rags that had similar sentiments. I haven’t had much time to give it a serious listen yet, but it seemed pretty solid to me and a step up from the clustered mess of In Your Honor.

I agree that a 3 star Foo Fighters album is generally a better listen than what most bands are capable. Grohl has found his formula and usually works it pretty well.

And with that, I have some work to finish up before I take off…

6. DougOLis - Wednesday, September 26, 2007

Metacritic has it at 69 which I guess sounds about right or what I expected.

I was kind of surprised by the glowing review that Iron & Wine got from Pitchfork. They didn’t like the new Oh No! Oh My! album but I suggest you check it out. They’re a pretty sweet band and a good live show.


Leave a Reply

