jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – September 18th, 2007 Tuesday, September 18, 2007

Posted by Jerkwheat in albums, jerkwheat, music, music video, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

STONE THE CROWS! It’s another week of multiple noteworthy new releases!

Huzzah for new Ben Lee! Let’s hit the jump for the weekly rundown…

Ben Lee – Ripe
I love me some Ben Lee. This is high on the list for today for a reason. It’s one of my few guaranteed purchases.

James Blunt – All The Lost Souls
Oprah is buying it. None of our readers likely are. What does this mean? Oprah hates us. Plain and simple.

KT Tunstall – Drastic Fantastic
Grey’s Anatomy watchers anxiously await a new soundtrack to their mundane days and lonely nights. (Actually, Eye To The Telescope wasn’t a bad album, but let’s face it, the shark was jumped a long time ago with this lady)

Reba McEntire – Reba Duets
Reba sings with lots of shitty country artists – and Kelly Clarkson and Justin Timberlake! To the Wal-Marts!

Diana Krall – The Very Best of Diana Krall
Oh Elvis, you lucky, lucky bastard.

Eddie Vedder – Into The Wild (Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Hard to believe it’s taken this long for Eddie to come up with a solo album. As a huge fan of both the book Into The Wild and of Mr. Vedder’s band – I think I’ll actually go pick this one up.

House MD – Official Soundtrack
House is one of my favorite shows (albeit predictable every week…) and this isn’t a bad collection featuring Gomez, Elvis Costello, Josh Ritter, and others.

Pat Monahan – Last of Seven
The Train frontman goes solo. While there are a few really good pop songs, overall it’s as boring as you think it would be, sadly. I’ll have a full review of this one up on Blogcritics.org in the next couple of days. I don’t want to go off on a rant here but…I saw Train open for Ben Folds Five back in late 1998 and they were just a total blast. They were the picture of a band having a good time playing music. Their self-titled debut was a pretty solid piece of mid-tempo rock as well (I love “Free” to this day..) and ever since they’ve just slowly and surely regressed into a mess of cliched lyrics and blahness. Few bands have ever disappointed me as much over the course of their career.

Alrighty, that’s all I got for you this week. Let’s discuss in the comments.

Comments»

1. mingusmonk - Tuesday, September 18, 2007

What are you … racist? No Twista? No Chamillionare? No Gloria Estefan? No Babyface?

OK, even I couldn’t keep a straight face. Nothing says “white-boy” more than Babyface doing acoustic covers of Fire And Rain, Wonderful Tonight, Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door, etc.

On the serious side, this week I would like to mention:

Doyle Bramhall – Is It News

Mark Knopfler – Kill to Get Crimson

Thurston Moore – Trees Outside the Academy

John Scofield – This Meets That

2. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, September 18, 2007

Doyle Bramhall is generally the balls. I’ve heard nothing but horrendous things about the Mark Knopfler album. I’ve never been into Sonic Youth so the Thurston Moore album is above and beyond me. Scofield is also well outside my realm, but I think I have a random John Scofield promo album somewhere in my collection.

And the day I give Twista and Chamillionaire they props is the day I recognize Missourah.

3. DougOLis - Tuesday, September 18, 2007

I don’t think the season finale of House was predictable. I didn’t really expect them to go through with getting rid of the entire cast.

KT Tunstall’s pretty talented and hot. I’m not saying I’ll buy the album but I’ll at least try it out on Rhapsody.

I’ve heard excellent things about the Into the Wild soundtrack. It is of the highest priority to me this week. Into The Wild was an awesome book (love Krakauer) and I’m hoping the movie does it justice.


Leave a Reply

