jump to navigation

Your Morning Rock/New Music Tuesday – August 28th, 2007 Tuesday, August 28, 2007

Posted by Jerkwheat in albums, jerkwheat, music, music video, New Music Tuesday, Your Morning Rock.
trackback

Good morning boys and girls – I’ll be waiting around at home this morning for the DirecTV man to come bring me a satellite dish and NFL Sunday Ticket. So I’ve got that going for me. But what of Your Morning Rock? What of this week’s new albums?

Holy shit! Was that the corpse of 90’s stalwarts Collective Soul? Looks like it was – and, uh, that may be about as good as it gets this week. Follow the jump to learn the awful truth…

Collective Soul – Afterwords
I have something to admit. These guys are absolutely a guilty pleasure. Big chunky guitars have always been a weakness of mine. Yes my fellow indie kids, I realize they are totally lame and whatnot. I care not. I have no problem plugging into the amp and rocking out a few bars of “Where The River Flows”. So sue me. But, if you want a perfect example of the state of the music industry today – Collective Soul may be a good option. Sure they don’t go gold with their sales anymore – but this album has an exclusive brick and mortar distribution deal with TARGET. It won’t be at your Best Buy, Sam Goody, or wherever the hell people actually purchase music these days. I wouldn’t have even known this album existed if it wasn’t for my checking out the Target ad in my Sunday newspaper. Ok, so it has an iTunes deal as well – but still, it’s a Target exclusive. ( I won’t lie to you, it’s cheap there too – I may pick it up on my next Target trip. Stop laughing. There are worse things to be a fan of and you know it…)

Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals – Lifeline
Back in 1998 ( damn that was nearly 10 years ago!), I saw Ben Harper on the HORDE tour with several other bands that caused Pine Knob to be surrounded in a giant cloud of marijuana smoke. As I stumbled over the jam band loving hippies, I realized that while Harper was a super talented musicians, his music would never really be my thing. Much like Cartman, my desire is to drive heavy machinery through hippie crowds. Nevertheless, Harper has kept on keeping on. It’s his eight album in little more than a decade. There are some Ben Harper songs that I do really like, but I’ve just never been enough of a jam band guy to really give him his proper due. Surely one of you will be picking this up – I’d love to hear what you think about it.

Lyle Lovett – It’s Not Big, It’s Large
That’s what she said.

Well, I’ve really got nowhere else to go with this week’s releases. We’ve had some solid choices the past couple of weeks so we were due another crapfest. Is there something else good and little known that is coming out this week? Make like Stu and Lemme Know…

Comments»

1. Camp Tiger Claw - Tuesday, August 28, 2007

The new Liars record is out today. Haven’t heard it yet but I loved their last one and they are killer live.

New Aesop Rock is also out today. I’m not a huge fan but John Darnielle (Mountain Goats) is supposed to be on one track. Probably not enough for me to buy the record, but I loves me some Mountain Goats.

Also, I’m buying that Lyle Lovett record today, so talk about Collective Soul all you want.

2. DougOLis - Tuesday, August 28, 2007

Threadjack: Wilco was fucking awesome last night. One of the best shows I’ve seen (Flaming Lips on Saturday were pretty sweet too). Say what you will about Sky Blue Sky, but it translates extremely well into a live show. Nels Cline is a guitar god and I want him to have my babies. /threadjack

3. mingusmonk - Tuesday, August 28, 2007

One small addition. The Subdudes – Street Symphony.

Also, thank you for putting up with the dirge of lame new releases so we don’t have to.

That is all.

4. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, August 28, 2007

I, for one, have stayed steadfast in my enjoyment of Sky Blue Sky.

Glad to hear Wilco was killer as usual.

5. Camp Tiger Claw - Tuesday, August 28, 2007

I could write a whole post here, but I’ll spare you guys.

Sky Blue Sky is a very good Wilco record. I feel like people that don’t get the record probably only started listening to the band during YHF. Also, it’s a record that takes some investment, and people don’t do less when they get albums for free and decide after one listen whether or not they like it.

To second Doug, the show I saw from them this summer was probably my favorite Wilco show in about 3 years (5 or 6 shows). Glad to hear Nels has recovered from the pox.

6. Camp Tiger Claw - Tuesday, August 28, 2007

*people do that less.

7. dave's all the rave - Friday, August 31, 2007

I only noticed the new Soul album because I caught the ad, too. “Jesus,” I thought, “can another second-tier ’90s band have sold their souls to Satan’s garbage wench?”

The answer, sadly, is yes.

But I’ll still buy it.

8. theossest - Sunday, November 2, 2008

thx for links;)


Leave a Reply

