jump to navigation

Tied to the 90s: (All-American Edition) 50 States, 50 Songs Wednesday, July 4, 2007

Posted by Yostal in 90s rock, DeadOn's Resident Pop Culture Historian, Gen X&Y, Posts that should have more humor, Reasons why I am single, rock & roll, Things too long to read, Tied to the 90s, Yostal.
Tags: ,
trackback

Tied to the 90s

Flag of the United States

Welcome back to “Tied to the 90s“, a not-very complete guide to a decade that was. I’m your host, Yostal, and once more, I’ll be taking you through the pop culture landscape of the 1990s. If you have any suggestions for future columns, please email me at GoinYostal@gmail.com or leave me a comment.

Happy Birthday America. Though John Adams thought that July 2 would be the day long celebrated in American history as that day we declared our independence from the shackles of the British Empire, fate had it as July 4, because well, the public has a right to know. In celebration of this, I’m going to do something I mentioned two weeks ago. In my real life job as a high school teacher, I play a musical review game, not of my own invention called “Shut Up and Answer the Question”. Very simply, it’s a PowerPoint with 35 review questions listed on it, giving students a chance to get a feel for what might be on the test, while I get to expose (or as they say, torture them) the students to 55 second clips on a theme. Inspired by a Rolling Stone photo set from 2001, I decided that one of the theme should be 50 States, 50 Songs. It was not an easy process, though some states provide easy options, other states are an embarrassment of riches really. So, over the last six years, I have refined the list each time out in the hope of making a great set. (Please note, some songs are not the obvious choice for the band/artist because I had already used them earlier in the year and am loathe to reuse tracks.) So, all of that said, here are 50 States, 50 Songs. (Unlike my usual efforts, due to the massive size and scope of this list, there will likely only be quick hit comments and I may not be able to get YouTube video for all of them.) Now go celebrate the independence of your nation by blowing up a small part of it.

1). Alabama–“Lost Highway” by Hank Williams, Sr. from his 1948 album The Best of Hank Williams, Sr.

(A classic piece of old school country.)

2). Alaska–“Have a Little Faith in Me” by Jewel from the 1996 Phenomenon soundtrack

(I apologize for picking a song from Trajan Langdon’s middle school lab partner, but at least I selected a classic song that she’s just covering.)

3). Arizona–“Allison Road” by Gin Blossoms from their 1992 album New Miserable Experience

(Arguably the best and finest of the Gin Blossoms’ tracks.)

4). Arkansas–“Ring of Fire” by Johnny Cash from his 1963 album Ring of Fire: The Best of Johnny Cash

(Walk the Line, Ring of Fire.  [weighs hands motion]…Screw it, it burns burns burns.)

5). California–“Don’t Stop Believin’” by Journey from their 1981 album Escape

(In spite of recent events, I am not moving this to represent New Jersey.)

6). Colorado–“Over My Head (Cable Car)” by The Fray from their 2005 album How to Save a Life

(The kids are much happier that I was able to use this to replace  “Walk this Way” by The String Cheese Incident.)

7). Connecticut–“Natural Blues” by Moby from his 1999 album Play

(I got nothing here.  I just like this track.)

8). Delaware–“Bad To The Bone” by George Thorogood from his 1982 album Bad To The Bone

(The band is the Delaware Destroyers after all…)

9). Florida–“American Girl” by Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers from their 1976 album Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers

(I could have picked Jacksonville’s own Lynyrd Skynyrd and “Sweet Home Alabama” here, but that would have just caused confusion.  Oh and here’s a version of “American Girl” from Live Aid.)

10). Georgia–“Orange Crush” by R.E.M. from their 1988 album Green

(I wanted up-tempo R.E.M., but save “It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)” for the end of the school year.)

11). Hawai’i–“Flake” by Jack Johnson from his 2001 album Brushfire Fairytales

(It’s not the JMFJ Jack Johnson, but it’s a good choice I think.)

12). Idaho–“Carry the Zero” by Built to Spill from their 1999 album Keep It Like a Secret

(We discussed this two weeks ago, what more needs to be said?)

13). Illinois–“I Want You to Want Me (live)” by Cheap Trick from their 1979 album Live at Budokan

(It’s the classic version of a classic song.  What did you think I was going to pick, something by Chicago?)

14). Indiana–“Pink Houses” by John (Cougar) Mellencamp from his 1983 album Uh-Huh

(There was a time where we didn’t hate Mellencamp for his selling out to GM, right?)

15). Iowa–“(I’ve Got a Gal In) Kalamazoo” by Glenn Miller from his 1942 album The Essential Glenn Miller

(Again, this is just a nod to my own home state here.)

16). Kansas–“Carry On Wayward Son” by Kansas from their 1976 album Leftoverture

(OK, Kansas for Kansas, that was a freebie.)

17). Kentucky–“Touch, Peel and Stand” by Days of the New from their 1997 album Days of the New

(One of the single hardest states for my to finish off.  I’d like to thank Wikipedia for the assist on this one.  There will be no My Morning Jacket on my watch)

18). Louisiana–“I Like It, I Love It” by Tim McGraw from his 1995 album All I Want

(I’ll be the first to admit it, I miss Tim McGraw’s Monday Night Football highlights recap set to this.  Really, I do.)

19). Maine–“Collide” by Howie Day from his 2004 album Stop All the World Now

(You’d think more people would come from Maine, but you would be wrong.  Plus, this one scores me points with the teenage girls.  Not that I am looking for that sort of thing.)

20). Maryland–“Cornflake Girl” by Tori Amos from her 1994 album Under the Pink

(I’m a Tori fan.  It’s that simple.)

21). Massachusetts–“More Than a Feeling” by Boston from their 1976 album Boston

(So we had Kansas for Kansas, and now Boston for Massachusetts.  This makes me feel better about not having Chicago in.)

22). Michigan–“Mainstreet” by Bob Seger from his 1976 album Night Moves

(Three things: 1). I already do an all-Motown one.  2). Seger’s from Ann Arbor, that wins the day.  3). It’s a song about Ann Arbor, even better.)

23). Minnesota–“Darlin’ One” by The Replacements from their 1989 album Don’t Tell A Soul

(Sorry Prince, but it’s gotta be the Mats, even if I did pick one of their less conventional tracks for them.)

24). Mississippi–“Cheeseburger in Paradise” by Jimmy Buffett from his 1985 album Songs You Know by Heart

(I know, probably should be associated with Florida, but what are you going to do, he’s from Mississippi.  Plus, you learn who your parrotheads are.)

25). Missouri–“Home” by Sheryl Crow from her 1996 album Sheryl Crow

(I’m not totally sure why I like this track, especially out of all of the Sheryl Crow tracks I could have selected, and yet, here it is.)

26). Montana–“Here I Dreamt I was an Architect” by The Decemberists from their 2003 album Castaways and Cutouts

(I kid you not, until this year, I had Dana Carvey’s “Choppin’ Broccoli” in here holding down the fort for Montana.)

27). Nebraska–“Girlfriend” by Matthew Sweet from his 1991 album Girlfriend

(One of my favorite tracks of all time.  Happily, Nebraska didn’t offer much resistance to its selection.)

28). Nevada–“When You Were Young” by The Killers from their 2006 album Sam’s Town

(I like when I am able to update it.  Maybe the Killers should cover “Viva Las Vegas”?)

29). New Hampshire–“Cry” by Mandy Moore from her 2001 album Mandy Moore

(I’m too embarrassed to even discuss it.  Let’s just move on.)

30). New Jersey–“I’m on Fire” by Bruce Springsteen from his 1984 album Born in the U.S.A.

(As I mentioned before, I love this track by the Boss.)

31). New Mexico–“New Slang” by The Shins from their 2001 album Oh, Inverted World

(Indie street cred for me, from New Mexico? Wow?!)

32). New York–“I Believe in Miracles (live)” by Ramones from their 1992 album Loco Live

(An embarrassment of riches for the State of New York, but I think there is something quintessentially New Yorkish about the Ramones.  Sorry about the fact that I could only find Pearl Jam covering them.)

33). North Carolina–“The Battle of Who Could Care Less” by Ben Folds Five from their 1997 album Whatever and Ever Amen

(I think we’ve also previously discussed this track as well, so…)

34). North Dakota–“Lie to Me” by Jonny Lang from his 1997 album Lie to Me

(I kid you not, until last year, this was Lawrence Welk.  THAT was embarrassing.)

35). Ohio–“Hang on Sloopy” by The McCoys from their 1965 album Hang on Sloopy – The Best of the McCoys

(Now, this is a slight cheat.  The McCoys hail originally from Indiana, but “Hang on Sloopy” is the official rock song of the State of Ohio, and though I have come to loathe it in its most popular use , to deny it as being the right choice for Ohio would be silly and petty.  Besides, it was the Billboard #1 track that immediately preceded “Yesterday”, which is pretty cool to know.)

36). Oklahoma–“Shameless (cover)” by Garth Brooks from his 1991 album Ropin’ the Wind

(Asked and answered in the covers article.)

37). Oregon–“Everything to Everyone” by Everclear from their 1997 album So Much for the Afterglow

(I should really revisit my love for this track in a future column.)

38). Pennsylvania–“I Alone” by Live from their 1994 album Throwing Copper

(Pennsylvania lacks a lot of options.  Or I am lazy.  I can never remember anymore.)

39). Rhode Island–“Once in a Lifetime” by Talking Heads from their 1980 album Remain in Light

(This one was easy.  Seriously.  Meanwhile, as good as the big suit is, THIS is even better.)

40). South Carolina–“Only Wanna Be With You” by Hootie & the Blowfish from their 1994 album crackedrearview

(Again, I’ve already stated that I think we need to have a national conversation about Hootie and the Blowfish.  I don’t need to defend myself to you!)

41). South Dakota–“Sunny Came Home” by Shawn Colvin from her 1996 album A Few Small Repairs

(South Dakota was a much easier choice than North Dakota.  Maybe Donna Moss was on to something…

Man: “Uh, Miss Moss? Are you aware that studies clearly show the word ‘north’ leaves the impression that this state is cold, snowy and flat, significantly depressing tourism and business startup.”
Donna: “With due respect, sir, your average temperature is 7 degrees. Your average snowfall: 42 inches, and a name change isn’t going to take care of that.”
Woman “We enjoy roughly the same climate as South Dakota. We took in $73.7 million in tourism revenue last year. They took in $1.2 billion. They have the word ‘south’.”
Donna: “Also Mount Rushmore.” )

42). Tennessee–“September Gurls” by Big Star from their 1974 album Radio City

(I chose power pop over the King and Issac Hayes.  Yes, I am that committed to the idea.)

43). Texas–“La Grange” by ZZ Top from their 1973 album Tres Hombres

(It’s Texas!)

44). Utah–“The Taste of Ink” by The Used from their 2002 album The Used

(This, until last year, was the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.  Seriously.)

45). Vermont–“Farmhouse” by Phish from their 2000 album Farmhouse

(This was literally the first selection I made.   Vermont=Phish.  Phish=Vermont.)

46). Virginia–“#41” by Dave Matthews Band from their 1996 album Crash

(Discussed in “By the Numbers”.  As you can see, I play favorites.)

47). Washington–“Little Wing” by Jimi Hendrix Experience from their 1967 album Axis: Bold as Love

(Only because it works best as a :55 second clip and I use a lot of Hendrix elsewhere.)

48). West Virginia–“455 Rocket” by Kathy Mattea from her 1997 album Mercury Nashville New Music Sampler 1997

(Sadly, no F-bomb to be found in a discussion of West Virginia.)

49). Wisconsin–“American Music” by Violent Femmes from their 1985 album Why Do Birds Sing?

(I should have probably picked something from Viva Wisconsin!, but you know…)

50). Wyoming–“What’cha Gonna Do With a Cowboy?” by Chris LeDoux/Garth Brooks from his 1992 album Whatcha Gonna Do with a Cowboy

(Honestly, I really like this track. It’s a lot of fun.)

That’s all I have for this week. I genuinely hope you enjoyed our foray across this wonderful nation of ours, and I hope you will please come back next week for another regular edition of “Tied to the 90s”. We’ll be on vacation, but thanks to the magic of future posting, you won’t even notice we’re gone. Until then, this has been Subcommandante Yostal, logging off.

Comments»

1. DougOLis - Wednesday, July 4, 2007

Of all the bands to come out of California you chose Journey? Really? Figure me perplexed.

2. Ivan - Wednesday, July 4, 2007

Journey is awesome, in a cheesy 80 bands way.

3. goathair - Wednesday, July 4, 2007

I’d go with Smashing Pumpkins from Illinois.

4. SA - Wednesday, July 4, 2007

How the hell is the biggest musical name from SC Hootie and the Blowfish? Fuck.

5. MMM - Wednesday, July 4, 2007

I knew SD was going to be “Sunny Came Home” even before I got there, and I don’t like it. I’m not sure what to suggest for a replacement, tho’. I suppose if Lawrence Welk is persona non grata anymore, then Myron Floren (the second most famous Myron to ever work at KSOO radio) is right out. Indigenous, maybe? Or Cheryl Ladd?

And as far as North Dakota goes, “Hey Leonardo (She Likes Me For Me)” has a tenuous connection. Also Lynn Anderson.

6. steve - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Yeah, I completely agree with Doug here. Journey is a turd.

7. lockbull - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Inspired choices for Minn and Tenn. But how could you completely ignore New Orleans’ rich music heritage in picking a song from La.? McGraw shouldn’t be in the top 100! My pick “Jambalaya” by Professor Longhair. (Somebody educate this person)

8. Weed Against Speed - Thursday, July 5, 2007

USA Today’s Pop Candy by Whitney Matheson has a link to this post. Well done.

9. fizzball - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Though it probably grates against Yostal’s pop sensibilities, the ideal Replacements track for this enterprise is “Stuck in the Middle,” off the Stink EP. While the lyrics are slight, it captures the frustration of being caught between generations (later refined on “Bastards of Young”), between the hardcore kids and Westerberg’s more folk/pop leanings, between the ages of drinking and voting, and of course, being stuck in what both coasts call “flyover country.”

10. Tripnfry - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Garth Brooks for Oklahoma? we’re not proud of that by any means. why not The Flaming Lips? who is Garth Brooks anyway? sounds like some no talent hack, must be country or something…..

11. Brandy - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Jimmy Buffett is from Alabama, not Mississippi.

12. spankyjoe - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Lockbull – a bit more mainstream for Louisiana, but how about Dr. John’s “Right Place, Wrong Time?”

The choice of ZZ Top is right on. Anything by Stevie Ray Vaughn would have been equally acceptible.

13. aurora - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Love your list! Utah doesn’t have many choices, but what about songs from Ryan Shupe and the Rubber Band – or a more popular country act SheDaisy.

14. gulfcoastpolo - Thursday, July 5, 2007

how can this be for the 1990’s with all songs are from different years

15. Carol - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Come on couldn’t you have picked a Flaming Lips song for Oklahoma! A much cooler choice than Garth Brooks.

16. Ron - Thursday, July 5, 2007

While Talking Heads met while attending the Rhode Island School of Design, none of the members are from there…I would have gone with Throwing Muses, whose members actually grew up in RI.

17. Encouraging Referee Pitman - Thursday, July 5, 2007

I’m from the same town in Maryland as Tori Amos. When I was about 12 or 13, my mom dragged me to church on Christmas Eve and a pre-famous Tori Amos was singing christmas carols as part of her dad’s service.

While I doubt there’s YouTube of them, I highly recommend the now defunct Rustic Overtones from Maine. As a bonus, none of them have dated Britney Spears.

Also, Choppin’ Broccoli > Decemberists!

18. gypcd - Thursday, July 5, 2007

As much as I love “More Than A Feeling”, I was surprised you didn’t go with The Mighty Mighty Boss-tones for clever use of name, 90’s music, upbeat, etc

19. Baba Oje - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Peace of Mind>More than a Feeling

20. PeteJayhawk - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Cheap Trick! Rockford represent!

21. Ms. L - Thursday, July 5, 2007

@Tripnfry:

AMEN.

@Yostal:

How long have you known me? And you know I’m from Oklahoma? And you don’t put a Flaming Lips song on for Oklahoma? I am personally offended.

22. Katie - Thursday, July 5, 2007

I’m pretty sure the Decemberists are from Oregon, not Montana

23. John McD - Thursday, July 5, 2007

No My Morning Jacket??? They have the most obvious song title for the 4th – One Big Holiday. Their performance of this song from Conan is one of the best debuts on American TV.

24. nathew - Thursday, July 5, 2007

i’m not even going to wait until i get through the entire list before i start offering some much better choices…

colorado: some great bands from denver, including devotchka, dressy bessy, and apples in stereo. you had to go with some shitty easy listening band.

louisiana: oh, come on, ever heard of lucinda williams?

michigan: i can only hope some day you and many other people will know the awesomeness of local grand rapids band the mighty narwhale, but for now i’ll just have to suggest someone like iggy or even the white stripes. maybe insane clown posse as a joke. or what about sufjan stevens? there’s much more to the state than detroit/ann arbor, you know.

mississippi: robert fuckin’ johnson. ’nuff said.

montana: decemberists are most definitely from portland, yo.

nevada: should have figured you’d pick the killers… this state is not known for good music acts, with them and fall out boy being the only ones i can think of.

rhode island: aren’t the talking heads from new york city?

25. steve - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Nathew, Robert Johnson… absolutely
But Bob Seger destroys any local GR band. The man is a legend, and even though he’s taken 10 years off, the man can still bring a house down.

And whoever hates on Garth Brooks… The man may not put out music you like, but he’s about as influential as a musician from Oklahoma as you’ll find.

26. DougOLis - Thursday, July 5, 2007

I agree Steve; Garth is probably the biggest and definitely the most important artist to modern country. It’d be like putting out a list of bands from Liverpool and not including The Beatles.

I think The Beach Boys should be the California band. Incredible music (Pet Sounds, Smile) and stereotypically California (Surfin’ Safari, Summer Days (and Summer Nights!!), etc.).

27. Kris - Thursday, July 5, 2007

I sould see you picking the Fems for Wisconsin but how could you forget “The Joker” Steve Miller Band?

28. Highway61 - Thursday, July 5, 2007

For California, my choice would have been Dave Alvin’s Fourth of July. A great, great song even if it is about a couple that is breaking up. Or perhaps Grateful Dead’s US Blues.

As a native Oklahoman, I would have preferred Woody Guthrie (Do-Re-Mi or Pretty Boy Floyd), Leon Russell (Stranger In A Strange Land) or the Flaming Lips rather than Garth Brooks.

For Mississippi, why not Mississippi John Hurt? Or the North Mississippi All Stars? I think the blues are underrepresented

Kudos on the Montana choice. How did someone like Colin Meloy end up at the University of Montana? He has certainly raised the profile of their English department.

29. heyzeus - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Violent Femmes = Wisconsin and Wisconsin = Violent Femmes. American Music is a great choice. But “Why Do Birds Sing” came out in ’91, not ’85.

Also, yeah, the Decemberists are from Oregon, not Montana.

30. The Bad One - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Decemberists may be a Portland band, but it’s Colin Meloy’s band, and he’s from Helena. It’s a reach, but you kind of have to for Montana.

5.) There are so many possibilities for California. Journey isn’t one I’d even considered; it’s not a band I even associate with California, not like the Beach Boys or Red Hot Chili Peppers. I’d even go to America (“Ventura Highway”) before landing on Journey.

9.) The kids should just be happy you aren’t punishing them with Creed or Limp Bizkit. Florida has a lot to answer for.

14.) When we went to the Michigan-IU football game last year in Bloomington, I’d never heard so much Mellencamp in all my life. Then, last weekend, Lady Andrea and I went down to a South Bend Silver Hawks game. We’d just crossed the border and gotten on I-80 when “Pink Houses” came on. It’s like we tripped the alarm.

18.) I think you know where I stand on Tim McGraw. I’d much rather have anything from Lucinda Williams on there.

24.) As you said, Jimmy Buffet isn’t all that representative for Mississippi. I don’t think you can really get out of here without acknowledging the boy from Tupelo.

This list is a lot easier to put together when you’re dealing with solo artists, I think. How do you deal with a band like Sleater-Kinney, where the three members were from Washington, Oregon, and California, formed in Washington, and ended up in Portland?

31. Randy - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Nebraska—Girlfriend is a great song, but as a lifetime Husker, I was hoping for In the Year 2525 by Zager and Evans—-original 45 was on Lincoln’s own Truth label.

32. from our friends at Dead On… « Geek USA - Thursday, July 5, 2007
33. Yostal - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Gang,

Sorry I haven’t gotten back to all of your comments sooner, I am in Chicago to see the Police with limited internet access. I do promise to look them over very carefully when I return to Michigan tomorrow.

That said, I do want to make two quick notes:
1). Some of these choices are nods to the students who complain that I never include any country music. The Dr. John addition, however, in intriguing and will be considered.
2). I think the great American nature of this list is that everyone seems to be enjoying the debate over my selections. Please keep up the spirited conversation and come back next week when I get back to all 90s music.

34. Yinka Double Dare - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Yeah, not much to choose from in Nebraska besides Matthew Sweet. Only 311 and Bright Eyes and, uh, um, anyone else?

Minnesota in the 80’s had some serious musical influence come out of it — Prince, The Replacements, and Husker Du. Not too shabby.

35. Weatherman - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Great list. Nice to see Big Star on there.

That said, Slaid Cleaves is from Maine. He is also way better than Howie Day.

36. Fred - Thursday, July 5, 2007

You would have represented your indie street cred in a stronger way if you chose REO Speedwagon for Illinois. On second thought….

37. Matt_T - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Nebraska – Omaha Stylee by 311.

grrrrrr

38. Sara - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Loved your Bruce choice… that’s a great song. “Oooooh, I’m on fire!”

Very interesting read. Glad you could replace Dana Carvey.

39. gordonshumway - Thursday, July 5, 2007

Yost, I’m insanely jealous of your Police tickets…

As the representative from West Effin’ Virginia, I would’ve suggested Bill Withers, singer of such gems as “Lean On Me”, “Ain’t No Sunshine”, and my personal favorite “Lovely Day”. He hails from Slab Fork, WV, where he eventually returned to begin a career making chemical toilets for airplanes. I’m not even kidding.

Either Mr. Withers or Brad Paisley. Singing a song about wantin’ to check a girl for ticks purty much sums up the Mountain State experience.

Finally, my vote is for Cowboy Mouth to represent the great state of Louisiana. That is all.

40. kylydia - Thursday, July 5, 2007

How is Kentucky a difficult state to find music from? We invented this one genre…oh, right…BLUEGRASS.

41. walker - Thursday, July 5, 2007

i like my morning jacket

42. Paulbo - Thursday, July 5, 2007

As a native Pennsylvanian, I know there is not a lot of local music choices. And Harrisburg’s Live is probably a better choice than Harrisburg’s Fuel (yeah, I’m repping the ‘Burg,) but you coulda gone old school cheese-rap with Philadelphia’s own Will Smith. I mean “Parents Just Don’t Understand” is a classic. Or some Philly soul classics like The Delfonics, Patti LaBelle (oh snap, Lady Marm!) and the O’Jays, plus some Gamble & Huff songs. Or neo-soul like Jill Scott. Philly is a mini-Motown.

43. Mike White - Friday, July 6, 2007

“I could have picked Jacksonville’s own Lynyrd Skynyrd and “Sweet Home Alabama” here, but that would have just caused confusion.”

Then pick Free Bird…Gimme Three Steps…Saturday Night Special…something! Skynyrd is one of the most influential bands of all time.

As for North Carolina, I would have picked something from the Ramones, John Coltrane, or George Clinton.

44. spankyjoe - Friday, July 6, 2007

@gordonshumway

My taste in country music is decidedly traditional (Cash/Willie/Hank Sr./Bob Wills/Robert Earl Keen, in that order), but my lady friend is a huge Paisley fan. Accordingly, I picked up his latest disc as a gift for her, and I’ll be gosh-darned if I’m not enjoying the hell out of it. I’ll give the man credit – he knows what he’s doing with a Telecaster.

45. michaelhill - Friday, July 6, 2007

I am 49 and most of these bands/tunes are irrelevant to me. I am a musician as well and missed the whole point.
I will attribute all of the above reasons to the fact that I do not own an iPod that feeds bad music to my ears 7/24.

46. CJ - Friday, July 6, 2007

Wow – you sure don’t know a hell of a lot about music….especially from Pennsylvania…The Hooters (“All You Zombies”), Robert Hazard (“Escalator Of Life”), The Dead Milkmen (Their great punk hit “Bitchin’ Camaro”) , Boys II Men (“Motownphilly” that was hard – it’s in the name), Teddy Pendergrass, Phyllis Hyman (“Old Friend”), Hall and Oates (“Rich Girl”), and I definitely would have selected Pink – “U + UR Hand” to represent on your list here.

47. steve - Friday, July 6, 2007

CJ: Pink is terrible (see “Journey = Turd”), Hall and Oates is pure cheeseball. Neither is worth of any sort of consideration.

Spankyjoe: Damn straight… Paisley is awesome.

48. kate - Friday, July 6, 2007

Nebraska music…

For the love of GOD, no Bright Eyes please. However, you could have gone with any artist on the Saddle Creek label. or 311. Or Grasshopper Takeover (one of my favorites)

Or any song that makes specific reference to “Omaha”– I believe there was a Counting Crows (or Black Crows?) song called “Omaha” from the 90’s?

Wiki claims Elliot Smith was born in Omaha.

I also agree that Dressy Bessy would have been an awesome choice for Colorado

49. Yostal - Friday, July 6, 2007

@J-Money: It was a great show, I can fill you in with details if you are so inclined. Just drop me a line. I will take the Bill Withers note under advisement as I am a huge fan of his work.

@CJ: The Pennsylvania thing was a result of laziness. I knew Live was from Pennsylvania and picked from my collection of their work. Good suggestions.

@Steve: I stand by my selection of Journey.

@Mike White: I should have also mentioned the part where I like Tom Petty better.

@Gulfcoastpolo: It’s a special edition list, we’ll be back to all 90s next week.

Again, thank all of you for reading and making your own suggestions, I am taking them down as I go.

50. michaelhill - Friday, July 6, 2007

CJ – I know a lot about music – I will admit to favoritism when it comes to rock versus rap. Modern rap is removed from the Sugarhill Gang and Melle Mel origins and is now a string of obscenities with a bass heavy sample loop in the background. I prefer Texas swing to Nashville yodeling. I am a fan of 30s-40s music, especially the Glenn Miller-Tommy Dorsey blend. I have played variations of all on guitar, bass, keyboard and drums.
I do not favor modern rock as I think the bands are basically one hit wonders that are strung along for a couple of years.
A band I will never understand is White Stripes. I have seen televised shows of them and I am glad I was able to turn it off. I did that crap 35 years ago.
I can run a mixing board in a recording studio and mix down to a cd. I can do it live as well and it is almost as fun as playing if you get a good band, room and venue.

51. Longsnapper Jones - Saturday, July 7, 2007

You could always go back to Pittsburgh’s great contributions to modern popular music like, um…, well…, and then there’s…, sigh. I guess you could only do that in the early-to-mid ’60s: Tommy James and the Shondells, Lou Christie, The Marcels, The Del-Vikings, The Skyliners, etc.

(And yes, I know about the allegedly good Rusted $*#%ing Root)

But I would be remiss if I didn’t suggest that Poison best represents the musical legacy of Central Pennsylvania, and that “Fallen Angel” is one hell of a karaoke song.

52. DougOLis - Monday, July 9, 2007

Well aren’t you special michaelhill, you arrogant son of a bitch. It sounds like you’re one of those people that’s stuck back in the 30s who thinks evolution doesn’t exist and “the blacks” should ride at the back of the bus. Yeah, there’s a lot of crap that is popular on the radio now but you could say that about any era. Hindsight is always 20/20 and we typically only remember the best stuff. If you want good modern rock seek Radiohead, TV on the Radio, Sigur Ros, Arcade Fire, Wilco, Deerhoof and plenty of others.

@Kate: I strongly disagree about Bright Eyes. Aren’t they on Saddle Creek anyway? Maybe I’d take Elliot Smith over them, but I’ve never been a huge fan of Elliot Smith other than times when I’m super depressed. Counting Crows are from Berkeley so they don’t count.

53. Jeff - Tuesday, July 10, 2007

I was disapointed to see the Wyoming track was the predictable choice of Chris LeDoux. While he might be the most well known Wyoming musician, the state produced one of the very best punk bands of the late nineties in the Lillingtons. Nearly anything off their 1999 Lookout release Death By Television deserves the title of Wyoming’s best of the decade.

54. Trivial Links: This is the inaugural edition, so allow us to explain. « In Pursuit of the Trivial - Tuesday, July 10, 2007

[…] Finally, nothing says geography like naming things from all 50 states. Not capitals this time, 90s tunes. […]

55. Meg - Friday, July 13, 2007

ray lamontagne is originally from new hampshire if you still need to find a many moore replacement.

56. michaelhill - Saturday, July 21, 2007

Chill out, DougOnthis.
You take things like this up your ass and break them off, right?
I am far too young to be stuck in the 30s, I live in a black neighborhood, and it depends on what your definition of evolution is.
I know the name of but one of the bands you listed. I can play better than most of the hacks out there today. I have had cd’s online for streaming or downloading and the price was right – free. I do it because I like to and I have some friends that like to record with me.

57. Actors, Movies, and Songs » Tied to the 90s: (All-American Edition) 50 States 50 Songs DeadOn… - Wednesday, February 6, 2008

[…] Get the entire post from here. […]

58. Baby name meanings - Saturday, December 17, 2011

You might have definitely not meant to achieve this, and yet I do believe you possess was able to point out all the frame of mind that much everyone is through. All the sense of looking to support, however it is not finding out how or even the place, might be one thing most people have a tendency by.

59. Cheryl Long - Saturday, October 12, 2013

When I’m looking for the latest country music, I always end up in one spot – 103.1 WIRK. I was even lucky enough to catch up with Keith Van Allen in the streets and got free ‘Rib Round Up’ tickets. Just one of the many events that keep me tuned into http://www.wirk.com


Leave a Reply

